Computer Science

Computer Science

motherboard

Best Bets: Databases

ProQuest Research Library
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library™ provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,060 titles—over 3,600 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

ScienceDirect
Full-text scientific, technological, medical journals; subjects covered include biology, biochemistry, business management and accounting, chemistry, computer science, economics, finance, environmental science, mathematics, medicine, neuroscience, nursing, physics, psychology, education, and communication. Includes access to selected full-text reference books. Indexing/Abstracts to additional titles.

Article Databases


Academic Search Premier
Multi-disciplinary database which includes a large collection of peer-reviewed journals in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.  Coverage varies, but begins in the 1990s for most journals.

ACM Digital Library
Database with citations for computer science journals, reports,and conference proceedings. Full text available to subscribers only.

CiteSeer
Contains citations to journal articles, conference papers, and technical reports in computer and allied sciences. Many of the citations are linked to the full text. Allows cited reference searching.

Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies
Free searchable database of over 3 million articles, covering all aspects of computer science.  The bibliographies may also be browsed by subject area.

Computing Research Repository (CoRR)
Access to electronic manuscripts that have not yet been published.  This database is the computer science subset of arXiv.

Encyclopedia of Computer Science
Provides an historical timeline highlighting the key breakthroughs in computer science and technology, as well as explanations of the latest technology and its practical applications. Covers historical information, current knowledge and predicted future trends.

Google Scholar
A search engine that searches the Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. Supports cited reference searching. Includes recent or unpublished work that hasn't yet been indexed in other databases. Each Google search citation will include a link to the full-text resource provided by the IC Library, when available.

MathSciNet
Access to Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications from 1940 - present.

ProQuest Research Library
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library™ provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,060 titles—over 3,600 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.   Indexes the IEEE publications.



Other related databases
ArXiv
This is an open acess database with 55,526 e prints in Physics, Mathematics , Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantative Finanace and Statistics .  It is owned , operated and funded by Cornell University and partially funded by the National Science Foundation.

IEEE Computing Society
Search for publications of this organization  by using the search box in the top right corner of the web page.  
NOTE: THe Ithaca College Library does not have access to the online artilces.  However, you may use the Ithaca College  Interlibrary Loan service.
 

Associations, Organzaniation & Government Age

ACM: Association for Computing Machinery
ACM is an educational and sceintific computing society that delivers resources to advance computing as a science and a profession. ACM provides the premier Digital Library and serves its memebrs and the computing profession with leading- edge publications, conferences , and career resources.

Assoication for Information Science and Technology ( ASIS&T)
Formerly American Society for Information Science and Technology
Assocaition for Information Professionals leading the search for new and better throies, techniques , and technologies to improve access to infomration.

Web Resources

Computing Now
Free articles from IEEE Computer Society publications

CNET

This site is about consumer technology, including product reviews, a software download library videos, a how-to instructional section. The download section is a convenient place to find new software along with security patches and drivers. All the software is free, but some files are trial versions that require payment for full access

Computer Science: A Guide to Web Resources
One of the best guides on computers from the University of Albany Library 

Webopedia
Online dictionary for computers and internet terms.


Computing Now 
Book Reviews 

Free Online Dictionary of Computing

Information Week
 Information Week is a weekly magazine that combines the goals of  business with technology. Information Weeks stated mission is " the business value of technology" . Website features news, an array of proprietary Information  Week research, analysis on IT trneds, a white paper library and editorial content.

World Wide Web Consortium
World Wide Web Consortium in an industry consortium for the purpose of developing common protocols and standards for the World Wide Web.

COURSE, TUTORIALS, LECTURES

Code Academy

Codeacademy is an interactive, online learning environment to learn coding.  Its current offering include JavaScript, Python, Web fundamentals, JQuery, Web technologies (code year), and other "non-track" courses.
‚Äč

Contact Us

Picture: Fyiane Nsilo-Swai
Natural Sciences Librarian
(607) 274-3889

Call Number Locations

       ITHACA COLLEGE LIBRARY
         CALL NUMBER LOCATION

           A-HB     4TH FLOOR
           HC-Z      5TH FLOOR

Free Collection of Computer Science And mathe