STCM 21100: Corporate Communication: Strategy and Design
Use this Research Guide to find resources on corporate communications including: internal and external communications, branding, crisis communications, public relations, and tools for analysis.
Use the catalog for books we own; use Worldcat for books we don't own.
I've listed a selection of books by subject. If you click on one, you'll access all the books and videos in IC Library with that subject heading.
- Library Catalog
- WorldCat (via FirstSearch) There is a link to ILL in the record view you can use. It includes our local holdings and will highlight what IC Library owns.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL) it is found under the 'Services' tab of the library's homepage.
- Encyclopedia of communication theory
REF P87.5 .E496 2009
I've listed a selection of books by subject. If you click on one, you'll access all the books and videos in IC Library with that subject heading.
- Blogs
- Boards of directors.
- Branding (Marketing)
- Business communication
- Communication in organizations
- Communication in management
- Communication in personnel management
- Corporate culture
- Corporate governance.
- Corporate image
- Corporations Public relations United States
- Corporations--Corrupt practices
- Crisis management
- Emergency communication systems
- Emergency management
- Executive succession
- Graphic design (Typography)
- Industrial publicity
- Leadership
- Mass media and business
- Organizational behavior
- Organizational change.
- Organizational effectiveness
- Personnel management
- Public relations firms
- Public relations Management
- Public relations Moral and ethical aspects
- Public relations Evaluation
- Public relations Social aspects
- Social responsibility of business.
- Social media
- Special events--Planning.
- Auditing organizational communication : a handbook of research, theory and practice
HD30.3 .H3537 2009 - Evaluating public relations : a best practice guide to public relations and evaluation
HD59 .W325 2007
Kogan Page Limited, c2005. - Gower handbook of internal communication
Ashgate Pub. Company, 2009. This is an ebook. - Handbook of crisis communication
HD49 .H34 2010
Edited by Coombs and Holladay. Wiley-Blackwell, 2010. - Handbook of strategic public relations & integrated communications
HM263 .H317 2012
2nd ed. Covers different industries that use PR and integrated marketing communications. - IABC handbook of organizational communication : a guide to internal communication, public relations, marketing, and leadership
HD49 .H35 2010
Jossey-Bass, 2011. - Making the connections : using internal communication to turn strategy into action Author: Bill Quirke. This is an ebook.
- Henderson, D. “A simple way to create a measurement plan without pulling out your hair.” Ragan.com. 11 Nov. 2011. Web. 11 Nov. 2011. http://www.ragan.com/Main/Articles/43913.aspx I picked a few resources that can be used by the measurement plan proposed by Henderson. Some measurements (media calls, sales, membership, internal company buzz) are internally collected. Four basic criteria (in bold) are what can be measured and then are listed online tools for measurement.
Website Ranking. Alexa: the web information company ; compete ; Google Analytics ; Woopra
Social Media. IceRocket: top blog posts ; Klout ; Technorati ; What the Trend
Media coverage Google News Alerts
Stock value: LexisNexis Academic Company dossier ; Yahoo! Finance
Top library databases
BUSINESS communication
COMMUNICATION in organizations
COMMUNICATION in personnel management
CORPORATE communications
CORPORATE image
CORPORATIONS -- Investor relations
CRISIS management
PERFORMANCE evaluation
PUBLIC relations
SOCIAL responsibility of business
STRATEGIC Communication
STRATEGIC planning -- Employee participation
Additional general databases:
- Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC)
Top database for communications research. - ScienceDirect
A journal collection that contains Public Relations Review - Communication Studies: a SAGE Full-Text Collection
A journal collection that contains Management Communication Quarterly - ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
Business journals and trade pubs. - Business Insights: Essentials
Company and Industry information. - Business Source Premier (Original Interface)
Business journals and trade pubs. - LexisNexis Academic
News & Company information.
BUSINESS communication
COMMUNICATION in organizations
COMMUNICATION in personnel management
CORPORATE communications
CORPORATE image
CORPORATIONS -- Investor relations
CRISIS management
PERFORMANCE evaluation
PUBLIC relations
SOCIAL responsibility of business
STRATEGIC Communication
STRATEGIC planning -- Employee participation
Additional general databases:
Video search engine:
Blinkx
Video search engine.
For recent cases try searching:
Joe Paterno and fired
Cain and harassment
Carnival and fire
Tiger Woods and apology
Tony Hayward and apology
Akio Toyoda and apology
Videos: Conferences, Podcast, and Business Presentations
Blinkx
Video search engine.
For recent cases try searching:
Joe Paterno and fired
Cain and harassment
Carnival and fire
Tiger Woods and apology
Tony Hayward and apology
Akio Toyoda and apology
Videos: Conferences, Podcast, and Business Presentations
- Ragan Communications: Internal Communications videos
- Ragan Communications: Public Relations videos
- FORA.tv
Streaming video of lectures in politics, business, technology, the world, and culture, from academics, think tanks, authors, politicians, etc. Some videos are free and some are pay-per-view. - Pop!Tech Pop!Casts
Pop!Tech is a conference of big thinkers on science, technology & the future of ideas. Subscribe to Pop!Cast videos or audio Pop!Casts via iTunes. - TED : Ideas worth spreading
Nonprofit that sponsors a conference that explores Technololgy, Entertainment, and Design. The annual TED prize offers "One Wish to Change the World" in addition to a monetary award. The organization also sponsors TED Talks (disemminating "Ideas worth spreading" online). - Prendismo Video Clip Collection
The Prendismo Collection has 15,000 video clips from 750 experts on 200 business topics. These 2-minute video clips cover topics such as ethics, finance, innovation, sales, strategy, and leadership. The content can be used for instruction in classrooms or organizations. This resource is provided by the Ithaca College School of Business. There is no off-campus access. There is a fee to download a clip.
Many professional organizations and industry associations develop ethics standards and guidelines or offer tips; here is a selection:
Online e-book (authenticate with Netpass)
Roy L Moore, Advertising and public relations law (2nd ed. 2011). Contents: Chapter 1 The First Amendment; Chapter 2 The Development of the Commercial Speech Doctrine; Chapter 3 Public Interest Information as Commercial Speech; Chapter 4 Defamation, Product Disparagement and Related Torts; Chapter 5 Invasion of Privacy: False Light, Private Facts, Intrusion and Other Related Torts; Chapter 6 Invasion of Privacy: Misappropriation and Right of Publicity; Chapter 7 Copyright; Chapter 8 Patents and Trademarks; Chapter 9 Other Ways to Protect "Ideas"
- Academy of Management: Code of Ethics
- AECT A Code of Professional Ethics (for purchase)
- AIGA Design Business and Ethics & Standards for Professional Practice
- IABC Code of Ethics
- IPR: Research Topics: Ethics and PR
- ICA & the Center for Social Media: Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for Use in Scholarly Communication
- ISES (special events society) Principles of Professional Conduct and Ethics
- NCA: Communication Ethics Division
- PRSA: Ethical Guidance for Public Relations
Online e-book (authenticate with Netpass)
Roy L Moore, Advertising and public relations law (2nd ed. 2011). Contents: Chapter 1 The First Amendment; Chapter 2 The Development of the Commercial Speech Doctrine; Chapter 3 Public Interest Information as Commercial Speech; Chapter 4 Defamation, Product Disparagement and Related Torts; Chapter 5 Invasion of Privacy: False Light, Private Facts, Intrusion and Other Related Torts; Chapter 6 Invasion of Privacy: Misappropriation and Right of Publicity; Chapter 7 Copyright; Chapter 8 Patents and Trademarks; Chapter 9 Other Ways to Protect "Ideas"
- I need to find and research nonprofit organizations.
- I need to find the age breakdown and definitions of various age groups such as Baby Boomers, Millennials, Generation Y, etc.
- Where can I find an association related to the topic of my paper or presentation?
- Where can I find business case studies?
- Where can I find population and demographic breakdown for US cities, counties, states and the United States?
- Where can I find various Corporate Social Responsibility or Sustainability Reports or links?
Cision Media Directories (a.k.a. "Bacon's")
NOTE: these are located on the 1st floor of the library (the 2nd floor of the Gannett Center). They may not be the latest edition:
NOTE: these are located on the 1st floor of the library (the 2nd floor of the Gannett Center). They may not be the latest edition:
- Bacon's TV/Cable Directory
REF HE8700.8 .B33 - Bacon's Internet Media Directory
REF P91.28 .B33 - Bacon's Magazine Directory
REF Z286.P4 B33 - Bacon's Newspaper Directory
REF Z286.N48 B33 - Bacon's Radio Directory
REF HE8664 .B33
- SRDS Media Solutions Need to place a print, television, or interactive ad? Use this database.
- O'Dwyer's had a good website but our print guide (IC Reference section, floor 2) has more complete information, use:
- O'Dwyer's directory of public relations firms
REF HM263 .O37
Directory of public relations firms and their clients. One can also determine the public relations firm(s) for various companies. - Standard directory of advertising agencies
REF HF5805 .S72
Directory of advertising agencies and their clients. Commonly known as "The Red Book". - Standard directory of advertisers
REF HF5805 .S7
Useful in determining what agency or agencies represent a particular company or product(s). Searchable by S.I.C. code, etc.
- Data.gov
The purpose of Data.gov is "to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government." The site includes searchable data catalogs providing access to data in three ways: through the "raw" data catalog, the tool catalog, and the geodata catalog. - Research Guide: Integrated Marketing Communication / Statistics & Data
- U.S. Census Bureau
- UNdata
- Associated Press (AP) stylebook and briefing on media law
REF DESK PN4783 .A83 2011 - Ithaca College Library: Writing & Citing Page
- Truss, L. (2004). Eats, Shoots & Leaves: The Zero Tolerance Approach to Punctuation. New York: Gotham Books.
- IC Writing Center
What is Zotero?
Zotero is an extension to the popular web browser Firefox that allows you to easily collect, manage, and save bibliographic information about the items you find on the Web. Before you download Zotero, it is a good idea to make sure you have the latest version of Firefox. You can download this from the Mozilla website. Once you have the latest Firefox installed, you can download Zotero from the Zotero website. Ron Gilmour, our Science Librarian, created, "A Brief Guide to Using Zotero".
Zotero is an extension to the popular web browser Firefox that allows you to easily collect, manage, and save bibliographic information about the items you find on the Web. Before you download Zotero, it is a good idea to make sure you have the latest version of Firefox. You can download this from the Mozilla website. Once you have the latest Firefox installed, you can download Zotero from the Zotero website. Ron Gilmour, our Science Librarian, created, "A Brief Guide to Using Zotero".
Selected Academic/Scholarly sources
- Business Communication Quarterly
- Corporate Reputation Review
- Corporate Communications: An International Journal
- Harvard Business Review
- Human Resource Management Review
- International Journal of Human Resource Management
- Management Communication Quarterly
- Public Relations Review
- Public Relations Quarterly
- Public Relations Tactics
- Journal of Applied Communication Research
- Journal of Marketing Communications
- Journal of Public Relations Research
- Organization Studies
- Strategic Communication Management
- Strategic HR Review
- Strategic Management Journal
- Adweek
- Communication World
- PR Newswire also see the PR Newswire website
- O'Dwyer's PR services report (available in LexisNexis)
- PR Week
- Ragan Report
Loading ...
From Ragan Communications, "Melissa Black on the Role of the Communicator"