Criminology & Criminal Justice
- Criminal Justice Collection
A subcollection of approximately 150 journals in Academic OneFile that focuses on Criminal Justice issues. - Academic Search Premier
Multi-disciplinary database which includes a large collection of peer-reviewed journals in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Coverage varies, but begins in the 1990s for most journals. - LexisNexis Academic
Full-text access to continuously updated news, law, and business information. Highlights: News: newswires, transcripts, regional, national/international news, & Gallup Polls; Legal: law review articles, federal case law, and federal/state codes; Business: company profiles, country profiles, and SEC filings; People: directories from the entertainment industry, elected officials, executives, politicians, and obituaries. Also has a section that includes full-text of several health newsletters and abstracts of articles in major medical journals. - SocINDEX with Full Text
Comprehensive coverage of sociology and related areas of study: criminology & criminal justice, demography,ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions and violence. Sociology research. Keyword search: prison* - Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
Indexes & abstracts research papers in the social sciences (legal, economics, management, marketing, political, etc.). Contains working / forthcoming papers (not yet available in print). Some are fulltext. - Alternative Press Index
Index to articles in alternative news sources. Use to research topics that may not be well covered in the mainstream press; 1991 to current. Keyword search: prison* - ERIC (Ebsco interface)
Bibliographic citations, abstracts, and some full-text for journal articles, research and technical reports, conference papers and proceedings, program descriptions, teaching guides, and lesson plans covering all areas and levels of education. Education research. Keyword search: prison* - ProQuest Social Science Journals
ProQuest Social Science Journals include full-text periodicals covering the social sciences, including addiction studies, urban studies, family studies, international relations and much more. - Ethnic Newswatch
Ethnic Newswatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Contents include African American, Arab and Middle Eastern, Asian American, European, Jewish, and Native American publications, including the Spanish-language press.
- "criminology" Dictionary of the Social Sciences. Craig Calhoun, ed. Oxford University Press 2002. Oxford Reference Online. Oxford University Press.
- "Criminology." West's Encyclopedia of American Law. Ed. Shirelle Phelps and Jeffrey Lehman. 2nd ed. Vol. 3. Detroit: Gale, 2005. 291-294. Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- "Restorative Justice." West's Encyclopedia of American Law. Ed. Shirelle Phelps and Jeffrey Lehman. 2nd ed. Vol. 8. Detroit: Gale, 2005. 338-339. Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- "Sentencing." West's Encyclopedia of American Law. Ed. Shirelle Phelps and Jeffrey Lehman. 2nd ed. Vol. 9. Detroit: Gale, 2005. 103-109. Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- "Criminal Law." West's Encyclopedia of American Law. Ed. Shirelle Phelps and Jeffrey Lehman. 2nd ed. Vol. 3. Detroit: Gale, 2005. 273-281. Gale Virtual Reference Library
- "Incarceration." West's Encyclopedia of American Law. Ed. Shirelle Phelps and Jeffrey Lehman. 2nd ed. Vol. 5. Detroit: Gale, 2005. 355-360. Gale Virtual Reference Library
- "Juvenile Law." West's Encyclopedia of American Law. Ed. Shirelle Phelps and Jeffrey Lehman. 2nd ed. Vol. 6. Detroit: Gale, 2005. 95-102. Gale Virtual Reference Library
- "Victims' Rights." West's Encyclopedia of American Law. Ed. Shirelle Phelps and Jeffrey Lehman. 2nd ed. Vol. 10. Detroit: Gale, 2005. 223-224. Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Check the link to verify the location; some titles are in Reference (2nd floor) and some are in the General Stacks.
- Crime Time Online
CrimeTime is free sentencing software that helps in calculating permissible sentences for New York crimes. It was created by Mr. George M. Dentes. Users must enter their email and agree to terms prior to accessing the software. - Encyclopedia of crime & justice
REF HV6017 .E52 2002
Macmillan Reference USA, c2002. - Hilton, N. Z. (2010). Risk Assessment for Domestically Violent Men: Tools for Criminal Justice, Offender Intervention, and Victim Services (1st ed.). Washington, DC: American Psychological Association.
- Jailhouse Lawyer's Manual
9th, ed. Columbia Human Rights Law Review. Guide on legal research for those in prison. - Mosher, C. J. (2011). The Mismeasure of Crime (2nd ed.). Thousand Oaks, Calif: SAGE Publications.
- The Handbook of Crime & Punishment. (1998). New York: Oxford University Press.
- The Oxford Handbook of Criminology. (2002). (3rd ed.). Oxford, [England]: Oxford University Press.
- Umbreit, M. S. (2010). Restorative Justice Dialogue: An Essential Guide for Research and Practice. New York: Springer Pub.
- Understanding Crime Statistics: Revisiting the Divergence of the NCVS and UCR. (2007). Cambridge studies in criminology. New York: Cambridge University Press.
- Walker, J. T. (2011). Legal Guide for Police: Constitutional Issues (9th ed.). Burlington, MA: Anderson Pub/Elsevier.
Click on the Subject Heading to find books held by Ithaca College Library.
- Corrections--United States.
- Crime--United States
- Crime--Government policy--United States.
- Crime and race--United States
- Criminal justice, Administration of--United States.
- Criminal investigation--United States.
- Criminal statistics
- Criminology
- Criminology--Methodology.
- Criminology--United States
- Juvenile Justice
- Police--United States
- Prisons--United States.
- Punishment--United States.
- Restorative justice.
- Victims of crimes.
- Browse a list of journals the library can access fulltext: Criminology, Penology & Juvenile Delinquency
- TIME magazine covers: Prisons
Loading ...
Loading ...
Even for the broadest concepts of Criminal Justice, there are several different Library of Congress Subject Headings to consider.
- Under Criminal justice, Administration of are works on the criminal justice system.
- For works on the causes, detection and prevention of crime, and the treatment or punishment of criminals, use Criminology.
- Works on the crimes themselves and persons who commit them can be found under Crime and Criminals.
- Crimes against is a subdivision that is used with Subject headings for classes of persons and ethnic groups. For example Women--Crimes against and Asian Americans--Crimes against
- There are dozens of headings beginning with the word Criminal, including but not restricted to Criminal Anthropology, Criminal Behavior, Criminal Investigations, Criminal Law, and Criminal Psychology. Most all of these terms have subdivisions of their own, including geographical ones.
- There are also many narrower terms from Juvenile Delinquency to Rape.
- Crime and Punishment (Guide by Humanities Librarian, Brian Saunders)
- Juvenile Corrections Outreach: Grant Writing (Guide by Humanities Librarian, Brian Saunders)
- Law
- Sociology
Great reports for background:
- On the topic of Sentencing and Corrections.
- On the topic of Juvenile Justice.
Click here to see a list of library videos on crime issues.
State and Local
- Governor Andrew Cuomo: State of the State 2011
- New York State: Office of Probation and Correctional Alternatives
- New York State: Division of Criminal Justice Services
- New York State: Office of Children & Family Services
- National Conference of State Legislatures: Civil and Criminal Justice: Juvenile Justice
- Correctional Association of New York
- Tompkins County Probation Department
- City of Ithaca: Police Department: Activity Logs
- Ithaca College: Daily Crime Log
- United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC)
UNODC is a global leader in the fight against illicit drugs and international crime including: prison reform, money-laundering, organized crime, terrorism prevention, etc. Resources include data and analysis. - Law Library of Congress: Global Legal Monitor: Criminal Law and procedure
- Center for Community Alternatives Organization that examines alternatives to incarceration.
- Fortune Society
Organization that supports re-entry into society from prison and promotes alternatives to incarceration. - Human Rights Watch (HRW) video: "When I die they'll send me home" Youth Behind Bars
- Institute for Higher Education Policy, report, "Unlocking Potential: Results of a National Survey of Postsecondary Education in State Prisons"
- MacArthur Foundation: National Juvenile Defender Center Advancing replicable models of effective, air, and developmentally sound juvenile justice policies and practices
- NAACP report: "Misplaced Priorities: Over incarcerate, Under Educate" (2011)
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS): Abstracts Database
- Urban Institute: Crime and Justice
- Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences Professional and scholarly association that provides research and policy analysis.
- crimspace: the criminology and criminal justice network
- IC Human Rights Club (Facebook)
- Prof. Jonathan Laskowitz, Ithaca College, Sociology Department (criminology)
- Prof. Tom Kerr, Ithaca College, Writing Department (prison writing programs)
- Prof. Cyndy Scheibe & Project Look Sharp, Ithaca College, Psychology Department (Media literacy and prison justice)
- Prof. Dani Novak, Ithaca College, Mathematics Department (prisoner education)
- Bureau of Justice Statistics
Data on capital punishment, correctional populations, criminal victimization, domestic violence, drug use, and workplace crime. They publish the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS). - National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS): Abstracts Database
US Dept of Justice, Office of Justice Programs site that is a portal to justice and substance abuse information useful for research and policy development. Topics include: corrections, courts, crime, crime prevention, drugs, the justice system, juvenile justice, law enforcement and victims. The collection of several thousand full-text publications, primarily government documents, can be searched. There is a page for Juvenile Justice. - Uniform Crime Reports (FBI)
Annual statistical publications, including the comprehensive Crime in the United States, produced from data provided by nearly 17,000 law enforcement agencies across the United States. Also data from annual publications, such as Hate Crime Statistics and Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted. - National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD)
Facilitates criminal justice research by making available data, reports, and publications. Includes data on capital punishment, violence against women, terrorism, and crime. Users can create an account. Some data is restricted to ICPSR members. - Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault Data Resource Center
- Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics, from the Hindelang Criminal Justice Research Center, University at Albany
- United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC)
UNODC is a global leader in the fight against illicit drugs and international crime including: prison reform, money-laundering, organized crime, terrorism prevention, etc. Resources include data and analysis. - INTERPOL: Connecting police for a safer world
Worldwide police organization consisting of 190 member countries.
"A Community Resources Free and Open to All" The Durland Alternatives Library collects materials that are not usually found in the mainstream media. It is located in Room 127 of Anabel Taylor Hall, Cornell University campus. Amongst other publicaitons, DAL subscribes to Prison Legal News (here is the publication website). DAL also sponsors Prisoner Express.
Loading ...