STCM 30000: Crisis Communication
Use this Research Guide to find resources for studying crisis management and communications.
Use the catalog for books we own; use Worldcat for books we don't own.
Related subjects
- Handbook: The Handbook of Crisis Communication. (2010). Chichester, U.K: Wiley-Blackwell.
- Search the Library Catalog: advanced search
- Books we don't own we can borrow. Try searching Worldcat and then click on the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request link. WorldCat (via FirstSearch)
- Click on subject headings to find books and ebooks in the IC Library
Related subjects
- Blogs
- Business communication
- Communication in organizations
- Communication in politics
- Corporate culture
- Corporate image
- Corporations Public relations United States
- Corporations--Corrupt practices
- Emergency communication systems
- Emergency management
- Industrial publicity
- Mass media and business
- Public relations firms
- Public relations Management
- Public relations Moral and ethical aspects
- Public relations Evaluation
- Public relations Social aspects
- Social media
Top library databases
Search the descriptor : CRISIS Communication
Search the descriptor: CRISIS management AND PUBLIC relations
Search the keyword phrase: "Crisis communication plan"
Search the author: Coombs, Timothy
Additional general databases:
- Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC) Top database for communications research.
- ScienceDirect A journal collection that contains Public Relations Review
- Communication Studies: a SAGE Full-Text Collection A journal collection that contains Management Communication Quarterly
- ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry Business journals and trade pubs.
- Business Insights: Essentials Company and Industry information.
- Business Source Premier (Original Interface) Business journals and trade pubs.
- LexisNexis Academic News & Company information.
Search the descriptor : CRISIS Communication
Search the descriptor: CRISIS management AND PUBLIC relations
Search the keyword phrase: "Crisis communication plan"
Search the author: Coombs, Timothy
Additional general databases:
- Ithaca College: Emergency Response Plan
- TompkinsREADY: Emergency preparation in Tompkins County, NY
- NY-ALERT New York state emergency alert page (you can sign up)
- FEMA news. Here is the National Emergency Training Center page. There is also a Learning Resource Center on their site as well as a Independent Study Program.
- CDC has a Emergency Preparedness and Response page that includes Crisis & Emergency Risk Communication (CERC) materials.
- Homeland Security has National and Statewide Emergency Communications plans. Here is their report, "Understanding Risk Communication Theory: A Guide for Emergency Managers and Communicators," May 2012 (pdf).
- FCC has a page of for the Emergency Alert System (EAS), 911, and television / radio alerts.
- NOAA refers to the FCC and participates in the EAS with NOAA Weather Radio (NWR). There is also a StormReady page.
- USGS has an Eathquake Preparedness site as well as an Eathquake Advisory site that lists the latest earthquake.
Look to your member organization for guidance:
- Public Relations Society of America (PRSA)
- International Association of Business Communicators (IABC)
- Institute for Public Relations (IPR)
Non-for-profit organization founded in 1956 that provides educational resources and research to educators, practitioners, and the public.
Blinkx
Video search engine.
For recent cases try searching:
Carnival and fire
Tiger Woods and apology
Tony Hayward and apology
Akio Toyoda and apology
C-SPAN: Crisis Communications, Aug. 12, 2010.
Summary from C-SPAN, "Heather Blanchard talked about her organization, CrisisCommons, and social media crisis communications. Topics included the creation of a common jargon for crisis responders. Her presentation included videos and PowerPoint slides. Following Ms. Blanchard, Gail McGovern made closing remarks. This program was part of an American Red Cross day-long conference on the use of the Internet and social media in emergency communications"
Video search engine.
For recent cases try searching:
Carnival and fire
Tiger Woods and apology
Tony Hayward and apology
Akio Toyoda and apology
C-SPAN: Crisis Communications, Aug. 12, 2010.
Summary from C-SPAN, "Heather Blanchard talked about her organization, CrisisCommons, and social media crisis communications. Topics included the creation of a common jargon for crisis responders. Her presentation included videos and PowerPoint slides. Following Ms. Blanchard, Gail McGovern made closing remarks. This program was part of an American Red Cross day-long conference on the use of the Internet and social media in emergency communications"
- Associated Press (AP) stylebook and briefing on media law
REF DESK PN4783 .A83 2011 - Ithaca College Library: Writing & Citing Page
- Truss, L. (2004). Eats, Shoots & Leaves: The Zero Tolerance Approach to Punctuation. New York: Gotham Books.
- IC Writing Center
What is Zotero?
Zotero is an extension to the popular web browser Firefox that allows you to easily collect, manage, and save bibliographic information about the items you find on the Web. Before you download Zotero, it is a good idea to make sure you have the latest version of Firefox. You can download this from the Mozilla website. Once you have the latest Firefox installed, you can download Zotero from the Zotero website. Ron Gilmour, our Science Librarian, created, "A Brief Guide to Using Zotero".
Zotero is an extension to the popular web browser Firefox that allows you to easily collect, manage, and save bibliographic information about the items you find on the Web. Before you download Zotero, it is a good idea to make sure you have the latest version of Firefox. You can download this from the Mozilla website. Once you have the latest Firefox installed, you can download Zotero from the Zotero website. Ron Gilmour, our Science Librarian, created, "A Brief Guide to Using Zotero".
Cision Media Directories (a.k.a. "Bacon's")
NOTE: these are located on the 1st floor of the library (the 2nd floor of the Gannett Center). They may not be the latest edition:
NOTE: these are located on the 1st floor of the library (the 2nd floor of the Gannett Center). They may not be the latest edition:
- Bacon's TV/Cable Directory
REF HE8700.8 .B33 - Bacon's Internet Media Directory
REF P91.28 .B33 - Bacon's Magazine Directory
REF Z286.P4 B33 - Bacon's Newspaper Directory
REF Z286.N48 B33 - Bacon's Radio Directory
REF HE8664 .B33
- SRDS Media Solutions Need to place a print, television, or interactive ad? Use this database.
- O'Dwyer's had a good website but our print guide (IC Reference section, floor 2) has more complete information, use:
- O'Dwyer's directory of public relations firms
REF HM263 .O37
Selected Academic/Scholarly sources
- Management Communication Quarterly
- Public Relations Review
- Public Relations Quarterly
- Journal of Marketing Communications
- Journal of Public Relations Research
- Adweek
- PR Newswire also see the PR Newswire website
- O'Dwyer's PR services report (available in LexisNexis)
- PR Week
- Ragan Report
Alltop provides feeds from top PR blogs: Brian Solis, PR News Online, PR Week, Bad Pitch Blog, O'Dwyer's Blog, PRNewser, PR Junkie, etc.
Loading ...