Demographics

All Items by Source


Journals/Magazines

ABI/INFORM Complete Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Search all three ABI/Inform databases together here or search one at a time below. ABI/INFORM Complete provides current and historic abstracts and many full-text articles from over 2,800 business and management journals, including hundreds of titles from outside the U.S. The database covers finance, management, marketing, operations, accounting, business conditions, sports and business, entertainment, and case studies.
General OneFile Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Current journal and news information in humanities, education, business, science, art, politics, economics, social sciences, law, health care, computers, technology and environmental issues.
ABI/INFORM Dateline Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
ABI/INFORM Dateline delivers over 280 journals, with more than 230 available in full text. It includes hard-to-find local and regional business publications with news about local companies, analysis, information on local markets, and more. The database allows users to research employment opportunities, compile data on benefits and compensation, learn about corporate strategies, and other topics from a local and regional perspective. ABI/INFORM Dateline includes major business tabloids, magazines, daily newspapers, wire services, and area business publications.
Popline
Citations and abstracts database - covers population, family planning & related health issues.  

Regional Business News Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Web Sites

State and Local Government on the Net
The State and Local Government Internet directory provides convenient one-stop access to the websites of thousands of state agencies and city and county governments.
Easy Demographics (EASI)
Uses Census data that is further enhanced to rank different demographic levels including cities, towns and villages.
City Government in New York State
This page presents links to the official government websites for counties, cities, towns, villages in New York State

Almanacs & Yearbooks

New York State Statistical Yearbook
Print Location: REF DESK HA544 .A2
Annual publication from The Nelson A. Rockefeller Institute of Government that covers demographic and population information such as: births, deaths and household characteristics by county and selected cities, economic information, elections, government finances, employment, health, human services, housing, education, criminal justice, agriculture and the environment among others.

Atlases

National Atlas of the United States Some full text available
Site features dynamic maps, printable maps, and mapmaker feature.  Useful for identifying Congressional districts.

Worldmapper Resource contains images
"A collection of world maps, where territories are re-sized on each map according to the subject of interest. The maps presented on this website are equal area cartograms, which re-size each territory according to the variable being mapped."
World Map Links from About.com
Selection of links to various world maps and atlases.

Bibliographies

Population Index on the Web
Citations and abstracts from the demographic and population literature including monographs, approximately 400 journals, and doctoral dissertations from 1986 to 2000.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of the Jewish Diaspora Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers the time from the beginning of the Diaspora, around 135 C.E., to the present. "Themes and Phenomena of the Jewish Experience," includes scholarly articles such as "Jews and Judaism in Ancient World Literature" and "The Lost Tribes of Israel."  Also provides articles on countries, regions, and communities, with statistics and historical and contemporary overviews.

Government Information

Background Notes -U.S. Department of State
These publications include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty. The Background Notes are updated/revised by the Office of Electronic Information and Publications of the Bureau of Public Affairs as they are received from the Department's regional bureaus.

Finding Census Data for Business Research Tutorial
This is a tutorial from the Library of Congress, Business Reference Section. It is about 10 minutes in length and is an interactive instructional module on using Census data.

Minority Links from the U.S. Census Bureau
Current and historical data on select racial and ethnic groups

State Data Centers Some full text available
Partnership with the U.S. Census. The SDCs are official sources of demographic, economic, and social statistics.
U.S. Census Bureau Some full text available
Social, demographic and economic information. Includes the American FactFinder resource. USA Counties is a subdvision that contains over 6,500 data items.
Government Resources on the Web (University of Michigan Documents Center) Some full text available
Directory of federal, state, local, foreign, and international documents. Includes topic guides such as statistics and documents in the news.
International Data Base (IDB). U.S. Census Bureau
The International Data Base (IDB) is a computerized data bank containing statistical tables of demographic, and socio-economic data for 227 countries and areas of the world.
New York State Data Center
Economic, demographic and statistical information from various state agencies.

Statistics/Data

American FactFinder Some full text available
Current population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the US Census Bureau.  Includes the Annual Survey of Manufactures, Economic Census, Current Population Estimates, Business Patterns, and American Community Surveys.  The Guided Search walks you through each step in picking the data and/or geographies
you want to download.
Consumer Expenditure Survey Some full text available
A quarterly Interview Survey and a Diary Survey provide information on the buying habits of American consumers - including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics - provided by the U.S. Census Bureau's Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Genderstats Some full text available
A compilation of data on key gender topics from national statistics agencies, United Nations databases, and World Bank-conducted or funded surveys.

GeoHive
A site with all kinds of statistics. The main component is population statistics: historical, projections, cities, agglomerations, etc. But also geopolitical data like the administrative divisions of countries (provinces, counties and such) of all nations of this world. In addition, some economical statistics and an up-to-date list of all known national statistical agencies.


Historical Census Browser Resource contains images Some full text available
Access to summary level demographic, economic, and social data collected by the U.S. Census from 1790 to 1960. Database generates longitudinal tables and maps. Topics covered: population, education, ethnicity, economy, slave population, and place of birth.

IPUMS (Integrated Public Use Microdata Series) Some full text available
A project of the Minnesota Population Center (MPC), the IPUMS is divided into three series - IPUMS-USA, IPUMS-International, and IPUMS-CPS. Each data series is accessible through a web interface.  Search for variables and  create and download customized datasets (download requires free registration). The IPUMS-USA contains harmonized data on people from the decennial census and American Community Survey from 1850 to present. IPUMS-International contains harmonized data from 1960 to present on over 279 million people in 130 censuses from around the world. The IPUMS-CPS contains harmonized data from the Current Population Survey March File from 1962 to the present.

Kaiser State Health Facts Some full text available
A project of the Henry J Kaiser Family Foundation that provides current health information, including comparative data and state profiles. Also includes data more than 500 health topics, including, heath care economics, demographics, insurance, minority health, and women's health.
Measure of America: American Human Development Project
American Human Development Index, an alternative to GDP and other money metrics that tells the story of how ordinary Americans are faring and empowers communities with a tool to track progress over time. The Index is comprised of health, education, and income indicators and allows for well-being rankings of the 50 states, 435 congressional districts, county groups within states, women and men, and racial and ethnic groups.

OECD Factbook Some full text available
OECD Factbook 2010 is a comprehensive and dynamic statistical annual from the OECD. More than 100 indicators cover a wide range of areas: population, economic production, foreign trade and investment, energy, labour force, information and communications, public finances, innovation, the environment, foreign aid, agriculture, taxation, education, health and quality of life.  Data are provided for all OECD member countries with area totals, and in some cases, for selected non-member economies.

Pew Hispanic Center Some full text available
Reports, fact sheets, press releases, surveys, and datasets from studies and polls commissioned by the Center.

Social Explorer (Public Edition) Some full text available
Website provides access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present, data can be presented in map or report format.

State Data Centers Some full text available
Partnership with the U.S. Census. The SDCs are official sources of demographic, economic, and social statistics.
FedStats Some full text available
Gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. federal agencies that provide data and trend information on topics such as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more.



American Time Use Survey Some full text available
The American Time Use Survey (ATUS) collects information on how people living in the United States spend their time in various activities, including eating and drinking, personal care, shopping, family care and child care, religious practice and organizational work, leisure and sports, mail, email, and telephone communication.

NationMaster
A central data source and handy way to graphically compare nations. NationMaster is a compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD.  Use the search form to generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics.
Claritas,com Some full text available
"My Best Segments" site provides market segmentation data such as lifestyle preferences and demographics at the zip-code level.

General Social Survey Some full text available
The survey "contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Many of the core questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies as well as replication of earlier findings. It has tracked the opinions of Americans over the last four decades."
Historical Statistics of the United States Restricted Resource Some full text available
Historical statistics of the United States, colonial times to 1970, Expanded and rev. ed. Quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations.
Statistical Abstract of the United States Some full text available
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. The final edition from the US Census is the 2012 edition.  The 2013 edition forward are available at the IC reference desk in print.
U.S. Census Bureau Some full text available
Social, demographic and economic information. Includes the American FactFinder resource. USA Counties is a subdvision that contains over 6,500 data items.
Population Reference Bureau DataFinder Some full text available
Data on population, health, and environment variables for more than 220 countries, 28 world regions and sub-regions, and the world as a whole.
ePodunk Some full text available
Community profiles of most communities in the United States, which include census and demographic information, including the ethnic ancestry of each community.  

Community Information by Zip Code from Cal State University at Northridge
Find all sorts of data by putting in a zip code into the various links listed on the site. Areas such as population, housing, businesses, health, education and politics are covered.
County and City Extra: Annual Metro, City and County Data Book
Print Location: REF HA 202 .A362
Provides up to date statistical information for every state, county and metropolitan area, congressional district and for all cities in the U.S. with a population of 25,000 or more. For cities of 25,000 or less see Places, Towns and Townships.
Bureau of Labor Statistics. U.S. Department of Labor
Detailed releases of a wide variety of economic statistics including: Consumer Price Index (CPI), productivity, consumer spending, wages and earnings, employment/unemployement, inflation among others.
CityTownInfo.com
Contains demographic information, climate data, housing stats, political contribution stats, summary information on local colleges, extensive career/employment information (for metro areas), and a variety of other useful profile information on over 20,000 places in the U.S.
State and Local Government on the Net
The State and Local Government Internet directory provides convenient one-stop access to the websites of thousands of state agencies and city and county governments.
Aging Anywhere (AARP) Some full text available

A resource developed by AARP International. Features quick facts and research, and regional rnand country specific research, reports, and resources. An interactive world map serves as a "one-stop" international clearing house of information on aging populations.


ChildStats Some full text available
Statistics and reports on children and families, including: population and family characteristics, economic security, health, behavior and social environment, and education.
ChildTrends Databank Some full text available
Information for the latest national trends and research on over 100 key indicators of child rnand youth well-being, including health, social & emotional development, education, and family.
Arab American Statistics Some full text available
Arab American demographic data compiled by the Arab American Institute.

UNdata Some full text available
UNdata pools major UN databases and those of several international organizations - browse, search and download data from a large number of statistical databases. Data categories include: agriculture, education, employment, energy, environment, health, human development, industry, information and communication technology, national accounts, population, refugees, trade, and tourism.