Documentary Studies & Production

About this guide

Use this guide as a path to resources on:
  • Articles and books useful for researching for documentary films
  • Resources about documentary films and the doc fim industry

Books and Videos

Find books by searching:
Try an Advanced Search in the library catlog on specific topics you are researching. 
         
Example: 
Prison?
detention conviction crim?      any of these    in      Keyword Anywhere
AND youth adolescent juvenile            any of these    in     Keyword Anywhere
Note:  ? truncates so  prison?  will retrieve prisoner or prisons  ;
"any of these" is ORing the terms together  (find the keyword youth OR adolescent OR juvenile)


Find videos by searching:
Go to the Film tab on the library's homepage.  You can search the director's name, the film's title, or a keyword.  The search default limits to videos. Jot down the DVD number and bring it to the Multimedia Service desk in the library; they'll check it out to you.  Return the video to the Multimedia Service desk.

Find books about doc films as well as doc films to watch by subject: Ebooks

Search for news and articles

Library databases:

General:
  • CQ Researcher
    Comprehensive reporting and analysis on current issues in the news. Each report includes an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Multi-disciplinary database which includes a large collection of peer-reviewed journals in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.  Coverage varies, but begins in the 1990s for most journals.
  • Academic OneFile
    Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources. Coverage includes the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Also includes transcripts and audio from all National Public Radio programs. Available in both PDF and HTML full-text; updated daily. Coverage is from 1980-present.
  • General OneFile
    Current journal and news information in humanities, education, business, science, art, politics, economics, social sciences, law, health care, computers, technology and environmental issues.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Full-text access to continuously updated news, law, and business information. Highlights: News: newswires, transcripts, regional, national/international news, & Gallup Polls; Legal: law review articles, federal case law, and federal/state codes; Business: company profiles, country profiles, and SEC filings; People: directories from the entertainment industry, elected officials, executives, politicians, and obituaries.  Also has a section that includes full-text of several health newsletters and abstracts of articles in major medical journals.
  • ProQuest Research Library
    From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library™ provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,060 titles—over 3,600 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
Subject oriented (see our Research Guides to discover additional subject databases):
Publications of interest to doc filmmakers

Copyright Resources for Filmmakers

See also: U. S. Copyright Office
According to the U. S. Constitution, the Copyright Office was established, “To promote the progress of science and useful arts, by securing for limited times to authors and inventors the exclusive right to their respective writings and discoveries."

Organizations & Distributors

Organizations:
 Select Distributors:
Commercial Vendors of popular television and film for home entertainment:

IndiWire

Loading ...

Contact Us

Picture: Cathy Michael
Communications Librarian
(607) 274-1293
Picture: Jennifer Strickland
Fine Arts Librarian
(607) 274-1199

SnagFilms

IC Doc Studies &production

Documentary Studies and Production department at Ithaca College.

Citation and Credits

NoodleBib  guides you through the required data entry for citation in the MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian styles. It takes care of punctuation, alphabetization and formatting, producing a polished source list for import into Word.

Use the Screen Credits Manual (pdf) from the Writer's Guild of America for guidance.  Also refer to theThe pocket lawyer for filmmakers [electronic resource] : a legal toolkit for independent producers / Thomas A. Crowell (2011, available online through ebrary).

Reference Books: Film and TV

IC library: select docs

Loading ...