Earth Day
Here's a short list of books to peruse on Earth Day.
E-Books
E-Books
- Sustainable economy: corporate, social and environmental responsibility / edited by Raymond W.Y. Kao. World Scientific, 2010.
- Teaching sustainability, teaching sustainably / edited by Kirsten Allen Bartels and Kelly A. Parker. Stylus, 2012
- The environmental endgame: mainstream economics, ecological disaster, and human survival / Robert L. Nadeau. Rutgers University Press, 2006.
- Beyond Earth Day: fulfilling the promise / Gaylord Nelson with Susan Campbell and Paul Wozniak; with a foreword by Robert Kennedy, Jr. University of Wisconsin Press, 2002.
- Moral ground: ethical action for a planet in peril / edited by Kathleen Dean Moore and Michael P. Nelson. Trinity University Press, 2010.
- Globalisation and the quest for social and environmental justice / edited by Shawkat Alam, Natalie Klein, and Juliette Overland. Routledge, 2011.
- Egan, Michael, and Jeff Crane. Natural protest : essays on the history of American environmentalism. Routledge, 2009. GE197 .N38 2009
- Leopold, Aldo, 1886-1948. A Sand County almanac, with other essays on conservation. 1966. 2001. Companion, 1987.
- These works by David W. Orr:
Down to the wire : confronting climate collapse. Oxford University Press, 2009. QC981.8.C5 O77 2009
Earth in mind : on education, environment, and the human prospect. Island Press, 2004. GE70 .O77 2004
Ecological literacy : education and the transition to a postmodern world / State University of New York Press, c1992. LB41 .O745 1992 - Brooks, Karl Boyd. Before Earth Day : the origins of American environmental law, 1945-1970. University Press of Kansas, 2009. KF3775 .B727 2009
For more information or inspiration about the earth, the environment, and principles of sustainabilty, try finding information in these periodical databases.
GreenFILE
An index drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. GreenFILE provides a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Nearly 300,000 records (full text for selected titles) from scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports.
ScienceDirect
Full-text scientific, technological, medical journals; subjects covered include biology, biochemistry, business management and accounting, chemistry, computer science, economics, finance, environmental science, mathematics, medicine, neuroscience, nursing, physics, psychology, education, and communication. Includes access to selected full-text reference books. Indexing/Abstracts to additional titles.
Alternative Press Index
Index to articles in alternative news sources. Use to research topics that may not be well covered in the mainstream press; 1991 to current.
Academic Search Premier
Multi-disciplinary database which includes a large collection of peer-reviewed journals in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Coverage varies, but begins in the 1990s for most journals.
Biological Abstracts, 1969 to Present
Provides abstracts and bibliographic references to journal items focusing on vital biological and medical research findings, pharmacological studies, and discoveries of new organisms. Includes some linked full text.
GreenFILE
An index drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. GreenFILE provides a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Nearly 300,000 records (full text for selected titles) from scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports.
ScienceDirect
Full-text scientific, technological, medical journals; subjects covered include biology, biochemistry, business management and accounting, chemistry, computer science, economics, finance, environmental science, mathematics, medicine, neuroscience, nursing, physics, psychology, education, and communication. Includes access to selected full-text reference books. Indexing/Abstracts to additional titles.
Alternative Press Index
Index to articles in alternative news sources. Use to research topics that may not be well covered in the mainstream press; 1991 to current.
Academic Search Premier
Multi-disciplinary database which includes a large collection of peer-reviewed journals in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Coverage varies, but begins in the 1990s for most journals.
Biological Abstracts, 1969 to Present
Provides abstracts and bibliographic references to journal items focusing on vital biological and medical research findings, pharmacological studies, and discoveries of new organisms. Includes some linked full text.
Some films to watch for Earth Day:
- Green fire : Aldo Leopold and a land ethic for our time. 2011. DVD 7911.
- Earth days. 2011. DVD 7143.
- Earth and the American dream. 2006. DVD 9094
- Wild by law. 1991. DVD 5307.
- The wilderness idea. 1989. DVD 5829.
- The forest for the trees. 2005. DVD 2647.
- Strange days on planet Earth. 2005. DVD 2662.
Earth Day oriented groups on the Ithaca College Campus:
Celebrating Earth Day
- Gaylord Nelson and Earth Day: Learn about the founder and early history of Earth Day
- Earth Day Network wants you to "Mobilize the Earth."
- Environmental Protection Agency's Earth Day is chock full of ideas to "Learn, Teach, Share"
- NASA has some amazing pictures of Earth for Earth Day.
- EnviroLink Network's Earth Day Online provides history, an organizers guide, and an events calendar.
- American Chemical Society's Chemists Celebrate Earth Day: The ACA asks you to Be an Earth Advocate
- Earth Day Canada (also April 22) lists of programs & events, plus resources online.
This year Ithaca College celebrates 12 Days of Earth Week:
Apr 11, THU: Fresh Market Day
-Stop by at Towers Dining Hall during lunch for a special highlight on local ingredients in the dining hall hosted by the sustainability interns
Apr 12, FRI: BYOM- Bring your own mug
-Reduce your impact with a reusable mug/water bottle, and also get “spotted” with it on campus and receive a free goodie
- .99cent discounted water bottles available in the IC Bookstore
Apr 13, SAT: Do it in the Dark Day
- turn off your lights to save energy and enjoy the extended Spring sunlight!
Apr 14, SUN: Buy NOTHING day
- Buying nothing can have a greater impact on the environment than you may have thought!
Apr 15, Mon: Meatless Monday
- 12-1pm Find out about meatless options in the dining hall Sustainability Interns will be tabling in the Terrace Dining Hall
-4pm Sustainability Cafe- CNS 112 Shane Hardy: "From Philosophy to Farming: Dirty Hands Make the Heart Sing (And Keep You Grounded!)"
Apr 16, Tue: Locavore day
- 7-9pm CNS 115 Celebrate the Amazon: A cultural experience! Come join us for Ecuadorian food, demonstrations, and an Awakening the Dreamer symposium.
- In the Pub- sustainability interns will be tabling and highlighting upon local food options in the food court
Apr 17, Wed: No Shower Day
- 11am-3pm IC fems Natural Beauty Campaign- Cayuga Lake Room
- iCommit campaign in Towers dining hall hosted by the sustainability interns
- 7pm – Klingenstein Lounge - Global Health Distinguished Scholar Series - Citizens for Health - Getting Involved: Taking Action for a Healthier World, *“Malaria: Global Risk Requires Global Solutions”, Dr. Laura Harrington, Professor, Cornell University
Apr 18, Thu: Sustainable Business Day
- 12pm - 1pm Business Sustainability Forum Roy H. Park 111- Student presentations on sustainability research projects
- Noon-1pm Rally hosted by ELAN at the Free Speech Rock (outside of campus center)
- 7pm – Emerson Suites - Joy Bauer, Nutrition Expert for Today! Show- Bauer will serve as this year's Jessica Savitch Distinguished Journalism Lecturer. As the nutrition and health expert for The TODAY Show, Joy shares reliable, practical, and straightforward advice that helps millions of Americans eat better and lead healthier, more fulfilling lives. She also hosts the program’s popular “Joy Fit Club” series. This event is the kickoff for the “Media for Social Responsibility” mini-course
Apr 19, Fri: Take a Ride Day
- 10am-2pm Bike Clinic with Bomber Bike Initiative at Free Speech Rock (outside of campus center by Grand Central Cafe)
-2pm Tour of the Tompkins County Recycling Center hosted by the Eco-Reps- meet at the Textor Flag Pole at 2pm to carpool
- 3-4:30pm A Conversation with Mark Hertsgaard author of “Hot: Living on Earth for the Next Fifty Years” in Emerson Suites
- 4:30pm Group Bike Ride with Bomber Bike Initiative, meet at the Textor Flag Pole
- 5pm - “Media for Social Responsibility” mini-course continues
Apr 20, Sat. Earth Action Day
- 9am – 9pm – Youth Power Summit / New Economy Summit at Ithaca College in the Park Center for Business and Sustainable Enterprise, Friends Hall Cultivating a Just and Sustainable Community- this April 20th-21st we will be coming together to take action in creating a more just, sustainable community for our future.
- 9am - 5pm - “Media for Social Responsibility” mini-course
- OSEMA’s Service Saturday Program- opportunity to volunteer in the local Ithaca community, for more information on how to sign up, email Don Austin - austin@ithaca.edu
Apr 21, Sun. Sleep Outside Day
- 9am – 5pm - Youth Power Summit/Convergence continues in the Park Center for Business
- 1pm-4pm Earth Day at the Farmers Market- Interactive activities at the Farmers Market at Steamboat Landing
*Also Check out OREC in the bottom floor of the Fitness Center to rent sleeping bags, tents, stoves, and other outdoor gear to help you spend a night under the stars!
Apr 22!! Monday, April 22nd: EARTH DAY
- 10am- 3pm EARTH FEST (hosted by ICES and featuring 10 other Ithaca College clubs) in the Academic Quad- clothing swap, games, food, and fun!
- 2:30-4 Earth Week celebration at the Food Lab- cooking demo highlighting local, sustainable ingredients featuring executive chef Jeremiah Molina, nutrition specialist Julia Lapp, and sustainability coordinator Stephanie Piech. Free Samples will be provided.
- 4pm- Sustainability Cafe- CNS 112 Alan and Keeley McGarr O’Brian: "Keeley’s Cheese Co.: From New York to Ireland and Back Again for Value-added Dairy Production"
Apr 11, THU: Fresh Market Day
-Stop by at Towers Dining Hall during lunch for a special highlight on local ingredients in the dining hall hosted by the sustainability interns
Apr 12, FRI: BYOM- Bring your own mug
-Reduce your impact with a reusable mug/water bottle, and also get “spotted” with it on campus and receive a free goodie
- .99cent discounted water bottles available in the IC Bookstore
Apr 13, SAT: Do it in the Dark Day
- turn off your lights to save energy and enjoy the extended Spring sunlight!
Apr 14, SUN: Buy NOTHING day
- Buying nothing can have a greater impact on the environment than you may have thought!
Apr 15, Mon: Meatless Monday
- 12-1pm Find out about meatless options in the dining hall Sustainability Interns will be tabling in the Terrace Dining Hall
-4pm Sustainability Cafe- CNS 112 Shane Hardy: "From Philosophy to Farming: Dirty Hands Make the Heart Sing (And Keep You Grounded!)"
Apr 16, Tue: Locavore day
- 7-9pm CNS 115 Celebrate the Amazon: A cultural experience! Come join us for Ecuadorian food, demonstrations, and an Awakening the Dreamer symposium.
- In the Pub- sustainability interns will be tabling and highlighting upon local food options in the food court
Apr 17, Wed: No Shower Day
- 11am-3pm IC fems Natural Beauty Campaign- Cayuga Lake Room
- iCommit campaign in Towers dining hall hosted by the sustainability interns
- 7pm – Klingenstein Lounge - Global Health Distinguished Scholar Series - Citizens for Health - Getting Involved: Taking Action for a Healthier World, *“Malaria: Global Risk Requires Global Solutions”, Dr. Laura Harrington, Professor, Cornell University
Apr 18, Thu: Sustainable Business Day
- 12pm - 1pm Business Sustainability Forum Roy H. Park 111- Student presentations on sustainability research projects
- Noon-1pm Rally hosted by ELAN at the Free Speech Rock (outside of campus center)
- 7pm – Emerson Suites - Joy Bauer, Nutrition Expert for Today! Show- Bauer will serve as this year's Jessica Savitch Distinguished Journalism Lecturer. As the nutrition and health expert for The TODAY Show, Joy shares reliable, practical, and straightforward advice that helps millions of Americans eat better and lead healthier, more fulfilling lives. She also hosts the program’s popular “Joy Fit Club” series. This event is the kickoff for the “Media for Social Responsibility” mini-course
Apr 19, Fri: Take a Ride Day
- 10am-2pm Bike Clinic with Bomber Bike Initiative at Free Speech Rock (outside of campus center by Grand Central Cafe)
-2pm Tour of the Tompkins County Recycling Center hosted by the Eco-Reps- meet at the Textor Flag Pole at 2pm to carpool
- 3-4:30pm A Conversation with Mark Hertsgaard author of “Hot: Living on Earth for the Next Fifty Years” in Emerson Suites
- 4:30pm Group Bike Ride with Bomber Bike Initiative, meet at the Textor Flag Pole
- 5pm - “Media for Social Responsibility” mini-course continues
Apr 20, Sat. Earth Action Day
- 9am – 9pm – Youth Power Summit / New Economy Summit at Ithaca College in the Park Center for Business and Sustainable Enterprise, Friends Hall Cultivating a Just and Sustainable Community- this April 20th-21st we will be coming together to take action in creating a more just, sustainable community for our future.
- 9am - 5pm - “Media for Social Responsibility” mini-course
- OSEMA’s Service Saturday Program- opportunity to volunteer in the local Ithaca community, for more information on how to sign up, email Don Austin - austin@ithaca.edu
Apr 21, Sun. Sleep Outside Day
- 9am – 5pm - Youth Power Summit/Convergence continues in the Park Center for Business
- 1pm-4pm Earth Day at the Farmers Market- Interactive activities at the Farmers Market at Steamboat Landing
*Also Check out OREC in the bottom floor of the Fitness Center to rent sleeping bags, tents, stoves, and other outdoor gear to help you spend a night under the stars!
Apr 22!! Monday, April 22nd: EARTH DAY
- 10am- 3pm EARTH FEST (hosted by ICES and featuring 10 other Ithaca College clubs) in the Academic Quad- clothing swap, games, food, and fun!
- 2:30-4 Earth Week celebration at the Food Lab- cooking demo highlighting local, sustainable ingredients featuring executive chef Jeremiah Molina, nutrition specialist Julia Lapp, and sustainability coordinator Stephanie Piech. Free Samples will be provided.
- 4pm- Sustainability Cafe- CNS 112 Alan and Keeley McGarr O’Brian: "Keeley’s Cheese Co.: From New York to Ireland and Back Again for Value-added Dairy Production"