Environmental Science: Environmental Chemistry and Toxicology

Environmental Chemistry and Toxicology

NO2 map

Databases

ACToR
ACToR (Aggregated Computational Toxicology Resource) is a collection of databases from the EPA. More than 200 sources of publicly available data on environmental chemicals have been brought together and made searchable by chemical name and other identifiers, and by chemical structure. Data includes chemical structure, physico-chemical values, in vitro assay data and in vivo toxicology data.

Chemical Safety
A resource from from NIOSH (National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health) that offers a wide variety of links to NIOSH databases and other governmental and non-governmental chemical information sites.

PubChem
Free database of biologically active chemical compounds from NCBI. Searching help is available here.

Toxnet
Toxicology data network from the National Library of Medicine. Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases. The most complete toxicology information is often found in the entries from the Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB).

Reference Works

Dictionary of Environmentally Important Chemicals
Ref TD196.C45 A97 1999
Brief entries on chemicals of environmental significance, including common uses and toxicological data.

Hazardous Materials Management Desk Reference
Ref T55.3.H3 H3998 2000
Topically arranged handbook with a focus on safety and regulation.

Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials
Ref T55.3.H3 L494 2004
Three volume handbook of toxicological data of common chemicals.

Wiley Encyclopedia of Environmental Pollution and Cleanup
Ref TD173 .E53 1999
Two volume encyclopedia of pollution and pollutants.  Many articles are quite extensive and include references.

Contact Us

Picture: Fyiane Nsilo-Swai
Natural Sciences Librarian
(607) 274-3889

Call Number Locations

       ITHACA COLLEGE LIBRARY
         CALL NUMBER LOCATION

           A-HN     4TH FLOOR
           HB-Z      5TH FLOOR