Education

Additional Periodical Databases

Different aspects of Education

Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 600 full text journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles.

Teacher Reference Center
Indexing and abstracting database of 270+ popular teacher and administrator journals. Topics include assessment, best practices, continuing education, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, elementary education, higher education, instructional media, language arts, literacy standards, school administration, science & mathematics, and teacher education.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text
For access to the full text articles in physical education, health education, coaching, and related fields.

Information Science and Library Issues Collection
Access to articles related to Information professionals and other knowledge workers – from the research specialist to the information architect – will find appropriate and useful information in their areas of expertise, including such topics as information infrastructure, data processing techniques, metadata architectures, and more.

Social aspects

Ethnic Newswatch
Ethnic Newswatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Contents include African American, Arab and Middle Eastern, Asian American, European, Jewish, and Native American publications, including the Spanish-language press.
Diversity Studies Collection 
Covers a diversity of diversity topics related to social science, history and liberal arts. This collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Comprehensive coverage of sociology and related areas of study: criminology & criminal justice, demography,ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions and violence.
PsycINFO
Bibliographic citations and some full-text for journal articles, books, and book chapters. Subjects include psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. 1872-present.

General periodical databases

Academic Search Premier
Multi-disciplinary database which includes a large collection of peer-reviewed journals in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.  Coverage varies, but begins in the 1990s for most journals.

Google Scholar 
Different from regular Google, GoogleScholar can be used to search for peer-reviewed articles and papers from broad areas of research. Supports cited reference searching. Includes recent or unpublished work that hasn't yet been indexed in other databases. Citations will link to the full-text resource provided by the IC Library, when available.  
 

Databases Geared for Younger Audiences

Grolier Online
Includes access to several resources geared for elementary, middle, and high school students: Amazing Animals of the World, America the Beautiful, Encyclopedia Americana, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, Lands and Peoples, The New Book of Knowledge, The New Book of Popular Science, and La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre, as well as Roget's II Thesaurus and the American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language.  
Kids Infobits
Contains over 100 age-appropriate magazines for grades K-5. Also includes Merriam-Webster's Elementary Dictionary, maps, flags, seals, charts and graphs.
Kids Search
Kids Search is EBSCO's interface for students in kindergarten through 8th grade. Through this interface they can search Newspaper Source. The Teacher Resources search screen allows educators to search Academic Search Premier, ERIC, Professional Development Collection, and Teacher Reference Center. 
eLibrary Elementary
Contains over 140 magazines and books for elementary students. Also includes a dictionary, pictures, maps, and audio/visual materials.
Searchasaurus
Full-text searching at the elementary school level. Reading levels are indicated. The Teacher Resources module offers educators and education students a combined search of three databases: Academic Search Premier, ERIC, and Professional Development Collection.

MAS Ultra: School Edition
A general database created for a high school audience. It provides the full text of over 500 popular magazines as well as biographies and primary source documents. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). It also includes thousands of images, maps, and flags as well as reference books, including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book, and World Almanac & Book of Facts.
 

New York State Standards and Regulations

See the Ithaca College Library Guide Common Core Learning Standards -- New York State

See also
P-12: Pre-kindergarten through Grade 12 Education 
From NYSED.gov, resources, documents, news, grant information related to the public schools of New York State.
New York State Department of Education 
News, publications, and other resources from the New York State Department of Education.

Special Web sites

 WISE: Working to Improve Schools and Education 
An ongoing project of IC education professor, Jeff Claus, and his students to provide access to information and resources about sociocultural and other important issues in education and teaching.
Project Look Sharp 
Project Look Sharp provides materials, training and support to help teachers prepare students for life in today's media saturated world. Project Look Sharp promotes the effective integration of media literacy and critical thinking into classroom curricula at all educational levels and instructional areas. Project Look Sharp also evaluates the effectiveness of school-based media literacy education.
ICYouSee, a guide to critical thinking about what you see on the Web. 
From Ithaca College Library, a guide to evaluating Web sites and other resources used for research
National Teaching & Learning Forum 
Includes research on teaching and learning, resources and practical information on teaching in higher education, citations, familiar essays and more.
 
Edutopia 
Website of the George Lucas Educational Foundation which features articles that relate to the successful integration of technology with teaching and learning. Topics ocvered: integrated studies, project learning, teacher development, social and emotional learning, and assessment.
Education Commission of the States. 
ECS produces compilations, summaries and/or comparisons of state policies on education topics. 
Learning Page, Especially for Teachers (Library of Congress) 
Access point for teachers to the Library of Congress' American Memory Collections. Provides activities, lesson plans, and suggestions for using the Library of Congress collections as part of the classroom curriculum.

Statistics

 Data.gov Education 
A website developed by  US Department of Education to share data about its grant programs by publishing data sets about its grant programs and performance and other data that it collects on an ongoing basis.Included are tools to work with the data sets.
 
Statistical Literacy (statlit.org) 
This site provides an overview on statistical literacy, with full text articles, discussions, book recommendations, and activities.
 
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) 
Source for data, including surveys and topical reports, on education in the United States and other nations. Includes the Digest of Education Statistics.
ChildTrends Databank 
Information for the latest national trends and research on over 100 key indicators of child rnand youth well-being, including health, social & emotional development, education, and family.

Contact Us

Picture: John Henderson
Social Sciences Librarian
(607) 274-1961

Browse Journals

Peer-Reviewed Journals

A sample of peer-reviewed titles in elmentary education:
  • Childhood Education
  • Early Childhood Research Quarterly
  • Elementary School Journal
  • Exceptional Children
  • Gifted Child Quarterly
  • Journal of Learning Disabilities
  • Journal of Special Education
  • Language Arts
  • Reading Research Quarterly
  • Science Scope
  • Teaching Children Mathematics

Practitioner Journals

Practitioner journals are journals that are aimed at the classroom teacher. They place more emphasis on practical implications and less on research methodology​.  A sample of such journals:

Video tutorials

Websites

Public Agenda
Public Agenda, a nonpartisan, non profit research organization devoted to public opinion, policy analysis, and citizen education, provides issue guides that cover topics such as crime, education, environment, immigration, social security, and welfare. Each guide contains an overview of the issue, a news digest of recent stories, background data, various perspectives on the issue, resources for more information, and analyses of related public opinion drawn from major public opinion polls.
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
Features historic maps as well as maps that are of current interest (for example, sites of natural disasters, political turmoil, etc.).  Historic maps include digitized maps of U.S. cities, national parks, and monuments.