Evidence-Based Practice in Health Sciences

     
 

Evidence-Based Practice

Evidence based practice relies on the premise that to make well informed decisions about practice, researchers need to access the best evidence about interventions. Evidence-based practice can be said to be an integration of the best research evidence from the literature, your own expertise and experience, and your clients' values and situation. (Sackett, 1996)

Best Bets

UNFILTERED RESOURCES

MEDLINE (EBSCO)
The National Library of Medicine's (NLM) database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Evidence-Based Practice Tip: Type your subject in the first box, enter Meta-Analysis or Randomized Controlled Trial and select PT: Publication Type from the drop-down menu. Another option is to select EBM Reviews or try using the Clinical Queries filters on the Limits page.

CINAHL
Indexes the literature in nursing and 17 allied health disciplines,  including selected titles in biomedicine, alternative/complementary therapies, and consumer health, from 1981 to the present.  Full text is available for selected nursing standards, practice acts, pamphlets, state nursing journals, research instruments, and critical paths. Evidence-Based Practice Tip: Type your subject in the first box, enter Research in the next box and select PT: Publication Type from the drop-down menu. Another option is to select Evidence Based Practice or try using the Clinical Queries filters on the Limits page.

PsycINFO
Bibliographic citations and some full-text for journal articles, books, and book chapters. Subjects include psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. 1872-present. Evidence-Based Practice Tip: Type your subject in the first box. Enter Meta Analysis and Clinical Trial in the boxes on the second line, then select Methodology, ME= in the drop-down menu box on the right.

ERIC (Ebsco interface)
Bibliographic citations, abstracts, and some full-text for journal articles, research and technical reports, conference papers and proceedings, program descriptions, teaching guides, and lesson plans covering  all areas and levels of education. Evidence-Based Practice Tip: Type your subject and Limit Your Results by Publication Type to Reports - Research

ProQuest Health Management

ProQuest Health Management™ is designed to meet the needs of researchers studying the field of health administration. This database provides information on a wide range of topics, including hospitals, insurance, law, statistics, business management, personnel management, ethics, health economics, and public health administration.



FILTERED RESOURCES

Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making. The collection includes the following databases: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (Other Reviews), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (Clinical Trials), Cochrane Methodology Register (Methods Studies), Health Technology Assessment Database (Technology Assessments), NHS Economic Evaluation Database (Economic Evaluations), and About The Cochrane Collaboration (Cochrane Groups)

TRIP Database
A meta-search engine for health professionals to identify quality material on the web that supports evidence-based practice.  Offers simultaneous searching of many websites that offer evidence-based practice resources,  including Bandolier, POEMS, the National Guidelines Clearinghouse, and journals such as JAMA, BMJ, and the New England Journal of Medicine.

National Guideline Clearinghouse
A comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and other related documents, created by the Agency for Healtcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).

PubMed Clinical Queries
Special filters help you to find clinically based articles focused on therapy, diagnosis, etiology, prognosis, clinical prediction guidelines, systematic reviews, meta-analyses, or medical genetics.  May provide access to unfiltered literature.

PubMed Health Services Research Queries
Provides specialized PubMed search interface that focuses on healthcare quality and costs. May provide access to unfiltered literature

NHS Clinical Knowledge Summaries
A reliable source of evidence-based information and practical 'know how' about the common conditions managed in primary care. (Registration required)

PEDro - Physiotherapy Evidence Database
Contains abstracts of randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physical therapy. Most trials have been rated for quality.

OT Seeker
Abstracts of systematic reviews and randomized controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy.

BestBETs.org
An evidence based medicine database. Includes answers to clinical questions on the basis of best evidence from searched literature. Each BET features clinical scenario, structured answerable question, search strategy, found studies and conclusions derived from the found evidence.

Bandolier
An online journal with information about evidence of effectiveness. The information comes from systematic reviews, meta-analyses, randomized trials, and from high quality observational studies.

OT Search
Indexing and abstracts for journal articles and monographs.   Covers occupational therapy, rehabilitation, health care delivery, and health care administration.  Evidence-Based Practice Tip: Click the OT Search button and then click on Power Search.  Enter your topic in the Subject textbox and type evidence based or method in the Words or Phrase textbox.

 

Contact Us

Picture: Laura Kuo
Health Sciences Librarian
(607) 274-1197

Online Tutorials

Introduction to Evidence-Based Medicine - Duke University's and UNC-Chapel Hill's interactive tutorial

Evidence Based Practice Tutorial
- University of Minnesota's interactive tutorial

Evidence Based Medicine
- Duke University's guide to understanding the practice of EBM.

PubMed Tutorial - Guide to New PubMed Search Interface

Literature Reviews

Literature Reviews: How to Research and Write
Several of the library's databases provide access to Literature Reviews.  See this online guide on researching and developing a current Literature Review on your topic.

Statistics/Data

Basic Statistics for Clinicians (CMAJ 1995)
A series of articles on basic statistics for clinicians: Hypothesis testing, Interpreting study results: confidence intervals, Assessing the effects of treatment: measures of association, Correlation and regression.

National Quality Measures Clearinghouse
A public repository for evidence-based quality measures and measure sets.

Organizations

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
The mission of AHRQ is to improve the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care for all Americans. The AHRQ Web site provides information on a variety of health topics focusing on specific populations and types of health care services.  Surveys included: The Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP), The Medical Expenditure Panel Survey(MEPS), and the National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Reports.

Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine
Website includes teaching materials and analytical tools (pre-test probability, likelihood ratios, levels of evidence)for appraising evidence related to clinical care decisions.

Centre for Health Evidence
Provides a series of EBM calculator tools.

Websites

Evidence-Based Guidelines for Public Health
Links to evidence-based guidelines based on a systematic review of the research literature. The guidelines provide summaries of evidence and recommendations for practice from government agencies, professional organizations, and convening expert panels.
Evidence Based Public Health
Partners in Information Access for the public health work force provides excellent content on issues relating to evidence based public health.
Clinical Trials (NIH)
Provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical research in human volunteers.