Film

Film Guide


All Items by Source


Journals/Magazines

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Multi-disciplinary database which includes a large collection of peer-reviewed journals in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.  Coverage varies, but begins in the 1990s for most journals.
Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC) Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Communication and media indexes, abstracts and full-text.
JURN Directory
Similar to Google Scholar with a focus on arts & humanities. Try a string of keywords such as 'Motion Picture Audiences' or 'Peter Jackson Lord Rings' for results.
MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource openURL
MLA is an extremely useful database for the topic of film. Try subject terms such as: Cinematography, Film, Film editing, Film education, Film exhibition, Film industry, Film Noir, Film preservation, Film theory and criticism, Filmmakers, in the subject field Or search by a director's name, etc. in the author field (last name, first): July, Miranda
Art Full Text Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains audio Some full text available
Indexes and offers full text for journals in the fields of art history, architecture, craft, design, landscape architecture, museology, photography and video. Covers both western and non-western art. Three hundred seventy-seven publications are indexed back to 1984, with full text provided to one hundred eleven journals back to 1997. Its companion database, Art Index Retrospective, indexes back to 1929.
Communication Studies: a SAGE Full-Text Collection Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Communications journals from Sage Publishing covering Journalism, Public Opinion, Political Communication, Mass Communication, Interpersonal Communication, Cultural Studies / Intercultural Communication, Television / Film Studies, Media Studies, Business Communication, Organizational / Management Communication, Written Communication, Rhetoric, and Literacy Studies.
Historical abstracts Restricted Resource openURL
An excellent resource for finding material about the social aspects of motion pictures. Hint: Use subject terms like 'MOTION PICTURES' or 'HISTORICAL FILMS' in one row. If these are too broad, you can combine it with additional terms in the following rows. Here are a few popular topics:
  • AFRICAN AMERICANS
  • AUDIENCES
  • GENDER
  • HISTORIOGRAPHY
  • INDIANS
  • INDUSTRY
  • MOVEMENTS
  • NATIONALISM
  • PROPAGANDA
  • POLITICS
  • SOCIAL ASPECTS

Project Muse Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Type a few words like FILM or MOTION PICTURES, and browse their autofill list. Or type in a director's name (ie. Lars von Trier). Or use their subject browse link for the "Film, Theater and Performing Arts" section (on the left). Hint: If you want to limit to full text only, select the ACCESS box for "Only content I have full access to" on the left hand side.
ProQuest Research Library Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library™ provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,060 titles—over 3,600 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
note: Also includes ProQuest Education, Health Management, Psychology, and Social Science journals, as well as ebrary ebooks.
Film Literature Index (Archive) Online (1976-2001)
Index to backfiles of citations of film literature including international film, television and video. Citations from 1976 to 2001. There are no plans to update this online resource.
note: Current citations (2002+) available in print version only: PN 1993 .A1 F4
Film Literature Index (Print)(1973-2004)
Print Location: REF PN1993.A1 F4
International coverage of film, television and video journals from 1973-2004
International Index to Film Periodicals (1972-2006)
Print Location: http://phoebe.ithaca.edu/cgi-bin/Pwebrecon.cgi?BBID=75580
Indexes over 85 film related magazines and journals, including biographies and interviews with people in the industry.
Jump Cut: A Review of Contemporary Media Some full text available
Begun in 1974 as a film publication in print, JUMP CUT is now an online publication with material on film, television, video and related media and cultural analysis.
Alternative Press Index Restricted Resource openURL
Useful for independent film, and for film theory as it relates to culture or politics.
Business Source Premier (Original Interface) Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Try headings such as: Box office revenue Independent films Motion Picture Industry --Finance Motion picture producers & directors
note: Also available via Special Business Interface
JSTOR Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available
Complete backfiles of core scholarly journals, searchable by journal or discipline. Files do not include the latest 3-5 years. The content is delivered as page images.

Ethnic Newswatch Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Useful for researching minority filmmakers, and for finding how a film was received/critiqued by a particular demographic.
ERIC (Ebsco interface) Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Bibliographic citations, abstracts, and some full-text for journal articles, research and technical reports, conference papers and proceedings, program descriptions, teaching guides, and lesson plans covering  all areas and levels of education.
General OneFile Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Current journal and news information in humanities, education, business, science, art, politics, economics, social sciences, law, health care, computers, technology and environmental issues.

Newspapers

Los Angeles Times Some full text available
Current edition. See also the Proquest Historical Newspapers database and Lexis-Nexis database to search historical and recent issues of this newspaper.

Web Sites

Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) Some full text available
Preeminent motion picture association that is well known for the Oscars. The record of past Academy Award winners and nominees are included in the Academy Awards Database.

Boxoffice.com
Includes box office data and statistics for the past 85 years.

Focus on Fim
Examine historical film footage and dramatic recreations of events from institutes such as the British Film Institute and War Museum.  Use the archive of films, letters and documents to analyze how films are constructed.  Registered users have access to editing tools to construct films of their own. 

National Association of Theatre Owners
Includes data and statistics regarding motion picture theaters in the United States. 

Akira Kurosawa Digital Archives
Please note: The Akira Kurosawa Digital Archives is in Japanese, so the entry point to the archive is a guide to the archives in English.  The archive includes: "Some 20,000 articles relating to the late Japanese film director Akira Kurosawa, including photographs and memos, have been unveiled online in a joint project by Kurosawa Production Co. and Kyoto's Ryukoku University. Most of the items in the digital archives, which can be accessed free of charge, are being unveiled to the public for the first time. They start from photographs of Kurosawa in his youth to the original manuscript for "Ame Agaru" (After the Rain), which was made into a film after Kurosawa's death."  Text in Japanese.  No digitized film clips available as of August 2009.

American Memory: Motion Pictures from 1894-1915
150 digitized films from the Library of Congress. Includes agricultural, industrial and recreational activities of Americans from 1894-1915.
FLICKR (Library of Congress Project)
About 3,000 photographs (in color and black and white) and posters from governmental sources such as the Library of Congress, the FBI, National Archives and Department of Defense. Includes portraits of politicians, celebrities, protests, demonstrations, and news shots from around the world. No known copyright exists for the photos included within the collection
FOOTAGE.net
Stock footage from 1994-present
IMDB Internet Movie Database
Provides background information on motion pictures, television shows, and series.
CCMixter Resource contains audio
ccMixter is a community music site featuring remixes licensed under Creative Commons where you can listen to, sample, mash-up, or interact with music in whatever way you want.  Supports MP3, AAC, OGG, FLAC and WAV.  Celebrities such as David Byrne and the Beastie Boys have posted legally available samples for you to remix. Post and tag your samples as well. Sound clips are available to stream or download.
Center for the Study of the Public Domain
Duke Law site devoted to promoting global understanding of public domain issues. Includes the graphic novel Bound by Law that explores a filmmaker's exploration of copyright for a documentary film.
Cineuropa
This European cinema portal contains news, trailers, interviews, and reports about the European film industry.
FirstShowing.net Some full text available
A movie blog that provides up to date information from the back lots, movie sets, and Hollywood bigwig offices, in addition to new teasers, trailers, and production stills.
Literature & Culture of Francophone Africa & the Diaspora
A guide to Francophone resources on cinema, dance, literature, theatre, sociocultural issues, and visual art, developed by the Brown University Library.
Movieretriever.com
"Featuring over 28,000 movie reviews, on films ranging from the popular to the downright obscure, VGMR offers an informed, irreverent take on the movie industry and stands as THE definitive guide for both hardcore film freaks and those who consider themselves merely film-curious."
Museum of the Moving Image
Museum of the Moving Image advances the public understanding and appreciation of the art, history, technique, and technology of film, television, and digital media. It does so by collecting, preserving, and providing access to moving-image related artifacts; screening significant films and other moving-image works; presenting exhibitions of artifacts, artworks, and interactive experiences; and offering educational and interpretive programs to students, teachers, and the general public.The site includes a Research Guide.

Prelinger Archives Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Over 48,000 films, over 90 old time radio audio clips, 2,000 game videos, 250 independent news clips and much more (including educational films, advertisements and industry films)

Almanacs & Yearbooks

International Motion Picture Almanac
Print Location: http://phoebe.ithaca.edu/vwebv/holdingsInfo?bibId=157662
Yearly review of motion picture industry. Includes box office statistics for the U.S., and lists of award winning works.

Audio Files

CCMixter Resource contains audio
ccMixter is a community music site featuring remixes licensed under Creative Commons where you can listen to, sample, mash-up, or interact with music in whatever way you want.  Supports MP3, AAC, OGG, FLAC and WAV.  Celebrities such as David Byrne and the Beastie Boys have posted legally available samples for you to remix. Post and tag your samples as well. Sound clips are available to stream or download.
Free Sound Effects
Aimed at the Indie filmmaker, this page provides links to website containing sound clips, audio clips, and royalty-free music.
Sound Effects (index to finding sound on the web) Resource contains audio
This page provides a links to websites that provide sound effects.
Findsounds.com Resource contains audio
Search the web for free sound clips. Includes natural sounds, spoken word, musical instruments, industrial sounds. etc.
fxhome.com Resource contains audio
Sound effect selections include saber, gun, and kung fu sounds, science fiction-themes, nature sounds, and orchestral phrases. All materials are covered by the Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License.
Squidoo Freesounds Resource contains audio
An index to websites with audio clips which are free or have flexible license agreements
Wikimedia Commons Resource contains images Resource contains audio
"a database of 2,413,359 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute. ... Everyone is allowed to copy, use and modify any files here freely as long as the source and the authors are credited and as long as users release their copies/improvements under the same freedom to others. " -- Wikimedia Commons (Contains audio, sound effects, video, photographs and images).


Bibliographies

Native Americans in the Movies
A bibiography of materials - created by the UC Berkeley Library.

New Film Index 1930-1970
Print Location: http://phoebe.ithaca.edu/vwebv/holdingsInfo?bibId=175438
Provides contemporaneous criticism, interviews and biographies of directors, performers, and producers between 1930 and 1970.

Biographical Information

Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television
Print Location: REF PN2012 .W52
A who's who and who was who of individuals in all areas of theatre, film, and television, updated annually.

Blogs

art 21: Blog
Companion blog to the PBS series.  Art21 was founded in 1997 with the mission to increase knowledge of contemporary art, ignite discussion, and inspire creative thinking by using diverse media to present contemporary artists at work and in their own words.
Eyebeam Art and Technology Blog
Find current articles on both technology and art and the intersections between them.
Gallery Hopper
Reports on galleries of fine art photography from around the world (focusing on New York City)

Dictionaries

Critical dictionary of film and television theory
Print Location: REF PN 1993.45 .C75 2001
Definitions related to film and television theory
International dictionary of films and filmmakers
Print Location: REF PN1997.8 .I58 1990 v.1-3
Includes essays about individual films, directors, cinematographers and actors.
Filmmaker's dictionary
Print Location: REF PN 1993.45 .S56 2000
Basic definitions of terms related to film industry

Directories

Hollywood Creative Directory
Print Location: REF PN1998 .A1 H58
A directory of the motion picture industry including producers and directors. Current year only.

E-books

ebrary Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 109,000 full-text ebooks on business & economics, education, technology, humanities, life & physical sciences, law & politics, medicine, social & behavioral sciences, language & literature, and career guidance. Approximately 300 ebooks are single-user access titles; all other ebooks support multiple-user simultaneous use.

Encyclopedias

Film encyclopedia
Print Location: REF PN 1993.45 K34 1994
Includes biographies and essays on the film industry
Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides a comprehensive introduction to film and film studies, covering topics such as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory, and film history. Approximately 200 entries cover specific topics, including acting, censorship, editing, lighting, career profiles, etc. 

Handbooks & Guides

Asia Pacific Films Some full text available
Online video clips, critical analysis, and stills of selected films. Historical and statistical information on the film industry in Asia. (Formerly known as Asian Film Connections)

Earlycinema.com Some full text available
Site focuses on the first decade of motion pictures. Provides a timeline of key events and profiles of influential motion picture pioneers.
Filmmaking.com Some full text available
A portal to information on independent and Hollywood filmmaking. Provides information on how to write a screenplay and a list of companies that finance film projects.
European Films Some full text available
News and reviews of recent and upcoming European films. Searchable by title or country.
Reel Classics Some full text available
Information and reviews for classic movies. Includes pages for films, stars, producers, directors, designers, and musicians.

Images

Art Museum Image Gallery Restricted Resource Resource contains images

Art Museum Image Gallery draws on the collections of museums around the world. The images cover a broad range of time and place, with entries from 3000 B.C. to the present day, and art from the cultures of Africa, Asia, Europe, and the Americas, including Native American and Meso-American peoples.


Cinefiles Resource contains images
Scanned images of reviews, press kits, festival and showcase program notes, newspaper articles, and other documents from the Pacific Film Archives Library's extensive collection covering world cinema, past and present.
FLICKR (Library of Congress Project)
About 3,000 photographs (in color and black and white) and posters from governmental sources such as the Library of Congress, the FBI, National Archives and Department of Defense. Includes portraits of politicians, celebrities, protests, demonstrations, and news shots from around the world. No known copyright exists for the photos included within the collection
Richard Balzer Collection
Contains online versions of early opitcal illusions such as zoetropes, dissolve slides, and thaumatropes.

Creative Commons
Artistic creators can assign works a CC license that explicitly grants degrees of permission for usage of personal works. The site includes images, audio, video, text and even lesson plans.
Early Visual Media Resource contains images
by Thomas Weynants, independent scholar. A Pictorial Media Archeology covering pre-cinema, photography, early film, and television.
Moving Image Archive Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Library of free movies, films, and videos. The digital movies range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to videos of every genre uploaded by Archive users. Most of these movies are available for download.
Reanimation Library Image Collection
Images (photos, drawings, illustrations, etc.) collected from outdated instructional books and manuals. Useful for historic look at graphics, or pop culture kitsch.
Silent Film Still Archive Resource contains images
Links to original photos, advertising, and other memorabilia from silent films.
Smithsonian Photography Initiative
This searchable database permits flexible, noncommercial use of their photos. For details, please read the restrictions at: http://www.si.edu/copyright/ The database has "13 million images in some seven hundred collections throughout our museums and research centers. The collections are organized by museum and discipline. "
Wellcome Collection Resource contains images
Over 40,000 high quality images in both color & black and white covering "2000 years of human culture". Images on this site are freely available for download for personal, academic teaching or study use, under one of two Creative Commons licences.
Wikimedia Commons Resource contains images Resource contains audio
"a database of 2,413,359 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute. ... Everyone is allowed to copy, use and modify any files here freely as long as the source and the authors are credited and as long as users release their copies/improvements under the same freedom to others. " -- Wikimedia Commons (Contains audio, sound effects, video, photographs and images).


Organizations

British Film Institute
The BFI Film & TV database provides information on over 800,000 British and international film and television titles as well as people, music groups, organizations and events dating back to the beginning of film production. Some films and interviews available to download.
Center for the Study of the Public Domain
Duke Law site devoted to promoting global understanding of public domain issues. Includes the graphic novel Bound by Law that explores a filmmaker's exploration of copyright for a documentary film.
International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (IADAS)
Founded in 1998 to drive creativity on the Internet. The organization is diverse including industry leaders in online advertising, film, television, games, and mobile. The Webby Awards honor top websites in numerous industry and media categories every year.
University Film and Video Association
This association is concerned with the appreciation, study and production of film, through an academic perspective. It includes job listings, film contests, and a film and video resource directory.

Primary Sources

American Film Scripts Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Film scripts with detailed, fielded information on related scenes, characters and people. From Alexander Street Press.
Movie Page Some full text available
Links to first draft and shooting scripts for several movies.
Movie Scripts and Screenplays Some full text available
Links to movie scripts and screenplays. Some scripts may require Adobe Acrobat Reader to read.
Simply Scripts Some full text available
Links to free, downloadable scripts for current, classic, and soon-to-be-released movies.  Also includes scripts for television, radio, plays, and musicals.

Reviews

MRQE: Movie Review Query Engine
Search for reviews by well-known and lesser-known film critics, bloggers, and fans.  Best for current films - includes reviews for older films as well.   

Readers' Guide Retrospective Restricted Resource openURL
Database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. The complete database covers the years 1890 through 1982. Use to research contemporary writings on general news areas as current events, business, fashion, politics, crafts, education, history, sports, food, science, theater reviews, and film reviews.

Statistics/Data

Numbers, The
This website allows users to access statistics by a number of variables: genre, market share, distributors, MPAA rating, current release ticket sales, home marekt sales for dvds, etc.
World Box Office
Contains box office data from 1900 to the present

Video

Blinkx Some full text available
Video search engine.
Europa Film Treasures
A film initiative from the Treasures of European Archives project that provides free streaming films. The films date from 1895 to the present and are representative of film efforts in Europe and the Americas.
FedFlix
Over 3,000 public domain U.S. government films in their entirety.  Includes nuclear test footage, NASA films, public service announcements for health and hygiene, cold war films, etc.
Films may downloaded free of charge.

Filmarchives online
This website is currently a work in progress, but content is growing.  Contains online footage from 18 European film archives, primarily documentary and educational films.  Some travel documentaries, sports clips and even early animated shorts are included.

Focus on Fim
Examine historical film footage and dramatic recreations of events from institutes such as the British Film Institute and War Museum.  Use the archive of films, letters and documents to analyze how films are constructed.  Registered users have access to editing tools to construct films of their own. 

Internet Archive Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
A digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form - includes links to video, images, animation, live music, audio, text, and software.  Use the TV News Search and Borrow to find clips from news shows from 21 networks back to 2009.  There is a fee to borrow the entire program.  The Prelinger Archives includes over 5,000 videos, over 90 old time radio audio clips, 2,000 game videos, 250 independent news clips and much more (including educational films, advertisements and industry films)
iota Center
A public benefit arts organization devoted to Abstract Cinema and Visual Music. Preserves classic abstract films, releases DVDs, and produces screenings of contemporary and historical work.
Folkstreams.net Some full text available
A national preserve of hard-to-find documentary films about American folk or roots cultures are streamed on the website.  The site includes transcriptions, study and teaching guides, suggested readings, and links to related websites. These background materials highlight the history and aesthetic importance of the traditions and the films.
Burnstudio Audio Tool Resource contains audio
This site includes audio software for filmmakers.  It is what remains of the German film website, Hobnox, which was removed in 2010 due to financial reasons.

RIP: A Remix Manifesto
RiP: A remix manifesto is a documentary film about copyright and remix culture. You can contribute to the film, and follow the conversation on the social networks such as Facebook and Twitter

SearchVideo
Searches for video in YouTube, Yahoo!, Google,and MSN Videos, Veoh, Grouper, ifilm, Metacafe, movie clips, and tv news clips.  Also allows ranking by criteria such as most recent or relevant.

Sulphur Springs Collection of Pre-Nickelodeon Films

Nine pre-nickelodeon era films created between 1898 and 1906 are available. Require the Quicktime 7+ plugin (http://www.apple.com/quicktime/)Usage: The files in this collection are protected by copyright law. No commercial reproduction or distribution of these files is permitted without the written permission of Southern Methodist University, Central University Libraries. These files may be freely used for educational purposes, provided they are not altered in any way, and Southern Methodist University is cited.


Tubesurf Video Search Engine
Searches for video on Youtube, Google, Yahoo, Live and MySpace all at once

Ubu Web
Contains avant garde films, sound recordings, and papers of modern cinema, music, dance, theater and poetry.
Wikimedia Commons Resource contains images Resource contains audio
"a database of 2,413,359 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute. ... Everyone is allowed to copy, use and modify any files here freely as long as the source and the authors are credited and as long as users release their copies/improvements under the same freedom to others. " -- Wikimedia Commons (Contains audio, sound effects, video, photographs and images).


Contact Us

Picture: Jennifer Strickland
Fine Arts Librarian
(607) 274-1199

Finding Books by Subject

Subject headings are extremely helpful in finding books about movies. But how do you know what to look for?  A few frequently requested subject areas are listed below:

If you're interested in how certain topics are portrayed in movies, try using an advanced search in the online catalog, and type "in motion pictures" as a phrase and limit the field to Subject Headings.  Here are a few examples of books you might find:
For dvds, try the following:

Race and Ethnicity in film



Industry News

ABI Inform RSS Feed: See the latest motion picture industry news

Finger Lakes Environmental Film Festival

Here is a list covering films shown at the Finger Lakes Environmental Film Festival from 2006-2013

Browse Journals

Recent Acquisitions

Here are a few cinema-related book and dvd titles that the library has ordered recently: