French Literature and Language

All Items by Source


Journals/Magazines

ERIC (Ebsco interface) Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Bibliographic citations, abstracts, and some full-text for journal articles, research and technical reports, conference papers and proceedings, program descriptions, teaching guides, and lesson plans covering  all areas and levels of education.
Pamphlets and Periodicals of the French Revolution of 1848 Some full text available
Digitized copies of pamphlets and periodicals from the French Revolution.  In French.

Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC) Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Communication and media indexes, abstracts and full-text.
ProQuest Research Library Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library™ provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,060 titles—over 3,600 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
note: Also includes ProQuest Education, Health Management, Psychology, and Social Science journals, as well as ebrary ebooks.
Project Muse Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Full-text scholarly journals in the Humanities, Arts, Social Sciences and Mathematics; Coverage varies by journal but generally only 2-3 current years.
JSTOR Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available
Complete backfiles of core scholarly journals, searchable by journal or discipline. Files do not include the latest 3-5 years. The content is delivered as page images.

General OneFile Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Current journal and news information in humanities, education, business, science, art, politics, economics, social sciences, law, health care, computers, technology and environmental issues.
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Multi-disciplinary database which includes a large collection of peer-reviewed journals in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.  Coverage varies, but begins in the 1990s for most journals.

Web Sites

BBC French Interactive Website
Learn French online using audio and video from the BBC

European Library
From the website: "Designed to meet the needs of the research community worldwide, our online portal offers quick and easy access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries.
Users can cross-search and reuse over 9,550,610 digital items and 103,420,869 bibliographic records. To facilitate further research, links are also provided to other websites in the Europeana group."
To select a language, use this link: http://www.theeuropeanlibrary.org/tel4/discover/languages

French Culture: The Official Website of the Cultural Services of the French Embassy in the U.S.
Under the direction of the French Ambassador to the United States, our mandate is to prompt and sustain a high-spirited cultural exchange between the most promising French and American artists, writers, thinkers, students, and educators, and to continually enhance the number and caliber of opportunities available to them.
The Cultural Services regularly conceive, organize, and support large-scale initiatives to draw attention to exciting developments in French culture.

Voice of the Shuttle: Literatures other than English
Gateway to Web sites & text collections -- African languages through the Welsh language
Literature & Culture of Francophone Africa & the Diaspora
A guide to Francophone resources on cinema, dance, literature, theatre, sociocultural issues, and visual art, developed by the Brown University Library.

Almanacs & Yearbooks

Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature
Print Location: REF PN669 .E53 2000
Concise entries for medieval authors, works, genres, and national literatures.

Atlases

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
A resource for theory and research in international affairs and global studies. Not simply a periodical database, CIAO includes working papers, policy briefs, conference proceedings, books, and case studies. It even has videos.

Bibliographies

WorldCat (via FirstSearch) Restricted Resource
WorldCat (via FirstSearch) provides bibliographic information for over 41 million books and multimedia owned by libraries worldwide.

Dictionaries

ARTFL Project Some full text available
Website for French language texts, most available for free & other resources. ARTFL databases, subscription-only, not available to IC
LanguageGuide.org
 This interactive website includes images, text and sound. It includes a number of languages.
Ultimate Business Dictionary Some full text available
Contains over 6,000 international business terms including slang and jargon.  The "Multilingual glossary"  (pages 344-636)  translates business terms into Chinese, French, German, Japanese and Spanish.
Dictionnaire de l'Académie Française Some full text available

French-French official dictionary of the language. The 8th ed (1935) is available for free.


Petit Larousse illustré
Print Location: REF AG25 .L25 2001

French-French contemporary dictionary, with illustrations


WordReference.com

Free contemporary dictionaries - French-English, English-French, Italian-English, English-Italian. Spanish-English, English-Spanish,  German and Russian


Diccionarios.com online / Editorial Spes
Free contemporary dictionaries - Spanish-Spanish, Catalan-Spanish, Spanish-English, English-Spanish, French & German to Spanish, Spanish to French & German.
Dictionnaire alphabétique et analogique de la langue française de Paul Robert
Print Location: REF PC2625.R553

French-French dictionary & thesaurus for standard French usage.


Oxford Reference: Bilingual Dictionaries Restricted Resource
Bilingual dictionaries, including specialized vocabularies, for: French, German, Italian, Spanish, Irish, Welsh
Dictionnaire de l'ancienne langue française
Print Location: REF PC2889.G6 1965

French-French scholarly dictionary for language usage through the Middle Ages.


Dictionnaire général de la langue française au Canada
Print Location: REF PC3637 .B4 1974

French-French dictionary of French-Canadian vocabulary & idioms


French dictionary of business, commerce and finance
Print Location: REF HF1002 .F75 1996
French-English, English-French dictionary of business & financial vocabulary
Routledge French dictionary of telecommunications
Print Location: REF TK5102 .R68 1997
French-English, English-French technical dictionary
Thresor de la langve francoise
Print Location: REF PC2620 .R18 1960
French-French dictionary of medieval French usage.
Lexicool.com Some full text available
Directory of online bilingual and multilingual dictionaries and glossaries freely available on the Internet. Intended for translators, linguists, language students and all those interested in foreign languages.

Directories

MLA Directory of Publications Restricted Resource Some full text available
Incl. 7,100+ titles; of these, 4,400+ are currently indexed. The entries list editorial addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers, e-mail addresses, frequency of publication, descriptions of the periodicals' scopes, circulation figures, subscription prices and addresses, advertising information, and submission guidelines. The directory also provides statistics on how many articles and book reviews the periodicals publish each year, as well as how many are submitted.

E-books

Association des Bibliophiles Universels Some full text available
Free access to integral books in French literature, in ebook format.


Gutenberg-e Resource contains images Some full text available
Collection of digital books from Columbia University Press and the American Historical Association. Subjects include Africa, colonial Latin America, South Asia, Europe before 1800, military history, history of foreign relations, history of North America before 1900, women's history, history of gender and more.

International Children's Digital Library

A collection of online children's books that represents outstanding historical and contemporary books from throughout the world.  Books can be searched by age group, genre, award, country, and language. Here are just a few of the languages available:


Encyclopedias

France 1789-1962
Print Location: REF DC35.C66 1975
Historical dictionary from the French Revolution to the early '60s.
French culture, 1900-1975
Print Location: REF DC33.7.F26 1995
Brief entries on French culture in the first 3 quarters of the 20th century.
Medieval France: an encyclopedia
Print Location: REF DC33.2.M44 1995
Brief entries on French history, culture and literature through the Middle Ages
Le Quid Some full text available
An almanac and encyclopedia that covers France and the world. Includes statistics and maps of French regions and departments.
Encyclopedia of Bilingualism and Bilingual Education
Print Location: REF LC3707 .E53 1998
This is a most comprehensive and informative reference source for bilingualism and bilingual education. It is an important resource for interested scholars, students.
Encyclopedia of contemporary French culture
Print Location: REF DC33.2.M44 1995
Brief dictionary-style entries on writers and literary movements in France and French-speaking nations.
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment
Print Location: REF B802 .E53 2003
Comprehensive coverage of topics relevant to French intellectual history in the eighteenth century.

Handbooks & Guides

ARTFL Project Some full text available
Website for French language texts, most available for free & other resources. ARTFL databases, subscription-only, not available to IC
Quelques elements de grammaire
French-French explanations of French grammar, with exercises
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Print Location: REF LB2369 .G53 2003
The Modern Language Association guide to writing research papers in the Humanities, covering grammar & punctuation, formatting, and citation.
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing
Print Location: REF PN147 .G444 1998
The Modern Language Association guide to the basics of scholarly writing, the preparation of dissertations, and the publication of journal articles and books.
Introduction to French linguistics / Claude Vandeloise & Frank A. Anselmo
Print Location: PC2073 .V36 2001
Basic information on underlying linguistic structure of French
Coursebook in Romance linguistics / Jurgen Klausenburger
Print Location: PC43 .K53 2001
Introduction to linguistics of the Romance language family; French, Italian, Spanish, etc.

Images

ARTstor Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Database of more than 1,000,000 digital images representing visual and material culture across cultures and time periods. Documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. ARTstor tools enable the ability to save groups of images online for personal and classroom use. IC's Visual Resources Collection (VRC) of over 20,000 images is now available. Look for the Ithaca College-Visual Resouces Collection link in the lower middle section of the page.

Newspapers--International

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text access to continuously updated news; French language sources in "Toute la presse". Use link in "Tips" (to right of screen)
Eufeeds Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
News feeds from 300 European newspapers, organized by country
Kidon Media Link Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Links to newspapers, television and radio news stations, and magazines about news and current affairs from around the world.
Foreign Language News and Magazines Some full text available
Links to electronic newspapers, journals, and magazines from around the world. Compiled by MIT Libraries.
Imooty Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
European news navigator

Primary Sources

Eurodocs Some full text available

Provides links to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. All sources are openly accessible.


Mapping Gothic France
With a database of images, texts, charts and historical maps, Mapping Gothic France invites you to explore the parallel stories of Gothic architecture and the formation of France in the 12th and 13th centuries, considered in three dimensions: space, time and narrative

Online Books Page Some full text available
25,000 e-texts, search by Title, Author, or Subject; browse by LC Call Number.
Online Medieval & Classical Library Some full text available
Berkeley Digital Library e-texts of important literary works of medieval and classical civilization.
Gallica (Bibliotheque Nationale de France) Some full text available

A project of the French national library. Comprehensive access to texts, images, and audio files covering the Middle Ages to the 19th century.


Radio Stations

Radio Station World
An international listing of radio stations around the world.  Listen to broadcasts in the language of your choice.

RadioTime (Radio Time)
Listen live to radio broadcasts from around the world.  Browse by continent, then by country to find a desired language and format (talk radio, music genre). Or search by country (Israel or Saudi Arabia for example), Create an account to select your favorite stations, and sync with your personal devices.



Video

Europa Film Treasures
A film initiative from the Treasures of European Archives project that provides free streaming films. The films date from 1895 to the present and are representative of film efforts in Europe and the Americas.

French Language DVDs

Finding Material in Other Languages

To find books, articles, and dvds in languages other than English, see our how-to guide:
Languages: Databases, Books & DVDs

Contact Us

Picture: Jennifer Strickland
Fine Arts Librarian
(607) 274-1199