Origins of Gender Inequality









For journal and other periodical articles, try these databases.
JSTOR
Especially for archaeological, historical, and classical approaches to the topic
SocINDEX with Full Text
For cultural and sociological aspects
GenderWatch
For feminist and contemporary views of the topic
PsycINFO
For both human and animal behaviorial aspects of the topic
AnthroSource
For anthropological concerns
ATLA religion database with ATLASerials
For religious and ancient history topics
Biological Abstracts, 1969 to Present
For evolutionary and biological research
JSTOR
Especially for archaeological, historical, and classical approaches to the topic
SocINDEX with Full Text
For cultural and sociological aspects
GenderWatch
For feminist and contemporary views of the topic
PsycINFO
For both human and animal behaviorial aspects of the topic
AnthroSource
For anthropological concerns
ATLA religion database with ATLASerials
For religious and ancient history topics
Biological Abstracts, 1969 to Present
For evolutionary and biological research
Online books available to the Ithaca College community.
Geographically and/or historically specific
- Sex differences: summarizing more than a century of scientific research / Lee Ellis, ed. Psychology Press, 2008.
- Sex and the brain; a reader / Gillian Einstein, ed. MIT Press, 2007.
- Sexual inequalities and social justice / Niels Teunis and Gilbert Herdt, eds. University of California Press, 2007.
- International investigation into "gender inequality" in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) / Pooran Wynarczyk, ed. Emerald Group Publishing, 2006.
- Taking sex differences seriously / Steven E. Rhoads. Encounter Books, 2004.
Also available in the General Stacks: HQ1075 .R48 2004 - No turning back: the history of feminism and the future of women / Estelle B. Freedman. Ballantine Books, 2002.
Also available in the General Stacks: HQ1121 .F74 2003 - Gender identity and discourse analysis / Lia Litosseliti, Jane Sunderland, editors. John Benjamins, 2002.
- Philosophy without women: the birth of sexism in Western thought / Vigdis Songe Møller. Continuum, 2002.
Geographically and/or historically specific
- Gendered trajectories : women, work, and social change in Japan and Taiwan / Wei-Hsin Yu. Stanford University Press, 2009.
- Gender, domesticity, and the age of Augustus: Inventing private life / Kristina Milnor. Oxford University Press, 2005.
- Politics of the womb: Women, reproduction, and the state in Kenya / Lynn M. Thomas. University of California Press, 2003.
There is no one subject heading to use to research this topic. Instead try searching the catalog with these subject headings:
To browse the General Stacks of the library, try looking in these areas:
- BF692-692.5 Psychology of sex. Sexual behavior
- BF699-711 Genetic psychology
- BF712-724.85 Developmental psychology
- HQ1075-1075.5 Sex role
- HQ1088-1090.7 Men
- HQ1101-2030.7 Women. Feminism
Here are reference sources found either online or in the Reference Collection on the main floor of the library:
- Encyclopedia of sex and gender; men and women in the world's cultures. Kluwer, 2004.
Available in the Reference Stacks: Ref HQ16 .E53 2003 - Encyclopedia of women and gender; sex similarities and differences and the impact of society on gender. Academic Press, 2001.
Available in the Reference Stacks: Ref HQ1115 .E43 2001 - Women's studies encyclopedia. Greenwood Press, 1999.
Also available in the Reference Stacks: Ref HQ1115 .W645 1999 - Chronology of women worldwide; people, places & events that shaped women's history / Lynne Brakeman, ed. Gale, 1997.
Available in the Reference Stacks: Ref HQ1121 .C617 1996
- Anything you can do, I can do better; why the sexes excel differently. CBC, 2004. 51 min. DVD 3232
- Brain sex. BBC, 2005. 51 min. DVD 5473
- The codes of gender identity & performance in pop culture. Media Education Foundation, 2009. 73 min. DVD 6629
- The gender puzzle. ABC [Austrailian Broadcasting Company], 2005. 45 min. DVD 2148
- Rape is-- . Cambridge Documentary Films, 2005. 32 min. DVD 570
- Shackled women. Journeyman Pictures, 2004. 41 min. DVD 2614.