eReference




English Language Dictionaries & Thesauri
Oxford English Dictionary (OED Online)
New Oxford American Dictionary REF PE1628 .N429 2001
Visual English Dictionary from Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Thesaurus: American Edition REF PE2832 .U7 1992
Foreign Language Dictionaries
Oxford Dictionary of Foreign Words and Phrases REF PE1582 .A3 O94 1997
Oxford Reference: Bilingual Dictionaries
Oxford Duden German dictionary REF PF3640 .O94 1997
Oxford English-Hebrew Dictionary REF PJ4833.O9 1995
Oxford Spanish dictionary REF PC4640 .O94 2008
Oxford Chinese dictionary : English-Chinese, Chinese-English = [Ying Han, Han Ying]
General Encyclopedias
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
Subject Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
ART
Grove Art Online
Oxford Art Online
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
Oxford Companion to the Photograph (Oxford Reference Online)
Oxford Dictionary of Art REF N33 .O93 2004
MUSIC
Grove Music Online
Dictionary of Opera Characters (Oxford Reference Online)
Grove Book of Operas (Oxford Reference Online)
New Grove Book of Opera Singers (Oxford Reference Online)
Oxford Companion to Music
Oxford Dictionary of Music
Oxford Companion to the American Musical (Oxford Reference Online)
BUSINESS
Encyclopedia of Business and Finance - 2nd ed.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History
Dictionary of Accounting (Oxford Reference Online)
HISTORY
Oxford Companion to United States history
Oxford Companion to American Military History
Oxford Companion to British History
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt
Oxford Dictionary of Contemporary World History
Oxford Companion to Canadian History
Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization
Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World
Oxford English Dictionary (OED Online)
New Oxford American Dictionary REF PE1628 .N429 2001
Visual English Dictionary from Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Thesaurus: American Edition REF PE2832 .U7 1992
Foreign Language Dictionaries
Oxford Dictionary of Foreign Words and Phrases REF PE1582 .A3 O94 1997
Oxford Reference: Bilingual Dictionaries
Oxford Duden German dictionary REF PF3640 .O94 1997
Oxford English-Hebrew Dictionary REF PJ4833.O9 1995
Oxford Spanish dictionary REF PC4640 .O94 2008
Oxford Chinese dictionary : English-Chinese, Chinese-English = [Ying Han, Han Ying]
General Encyclopedias
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
Subject Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
ART
Grove Art Online
Oxford Art Online
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
Oxford Companion to the Photograph (Oxford Reference Online)
Oxford Dictionary of Art REF N33 .O93 2004
MUSIC
Grove Music Online
Dictionary of Opera Characters (Oxford Reference Online)
Grove Book of Operas (Oxford Reference Online)
New Grove Book of Opera Singers (Oxford Reference Online)
Oxford Companion to Music
Oxford Dictionary of Music
Oxford Companion to the American Musical (Oxford Reference Online)
BUSINESS
Encyclopedia of Business and Finance - 2nd ed.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History
Dictionary of Accounting (Oxford Reference Online)
HISTORY
Oxford Companion to United States history
Oxford Companion to American Military History
Oxford Companion to British History
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt
Oxford Dictionary of Contemporary World History
Oxford Companion to Canadian History
Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization
Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Collection of reference books covering, but not limited to, business and finance, philosophy, history, film, Jewish studies and ethics.
Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection
Over 170 fully-indexed, cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works; includes detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the Oxford Companions Series, Oxford Dictionaries series plus the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations.
Collection of reference books covering, but not limited to, business and finance, philosophy, history, film, Jewish studies and ethics.
Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection
Over 170 fully-indexed, cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works; includes detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the Oxford Companions Series, Oxford Dictionaries series plus the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations.
Current
LexisNexis Academic
Full-text access to continuously updated news, law, and business information. Highlights: News: newswires, transcripts, regional, national/international news, & Gallup Polls; Legal: law review articles, federal case law, and federal/state codes; Business: company profiles, country profiles, and SEC filings; People: directories from the entertainment industry, elected officials, executives, politicians, and obituaries. Also has a section that includes full-text of several health newsletters and abstracts of articles in major medical journals.
New York Times (1980-present)
Full-text of The New York Times from 1980 - present. For Historical coverage please use ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times (1851 - 2007)
Wall Street Journal (1984 - present)
Full text of The Wall Street Journal from 1984-present. For issues from 1889-1993, see the Wall Street Journal-ProQuest Historical Newspapers database.
National Newspaper Index
Indexing/abstracts: New York Times(1980-), Wall Street Journal(Eastern Ed. 3/04 -)(Western Ed. 1980-2004), Christian Science Monitor(1980-), Los Angeles Times(1982-) and Washington Post(Final Ed. 1980-)
National Newspapers Premier
This database's detailed indexing will help you quickly find the news information you need. Each issue of each newspaper is indexed thoroughly, so researchers have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the papers. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.
Newspaper Source
Provides access to both national and international newspapers, and contains abstracts and indexing from the following papers (cover to cover): the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, and USA Today. Abstracting and indexing for all titles and full text for the Christian Science Monitor begins 1/1/95. Coverage includes everything except obituaries (exclusive of famous people), sports tables, ads/classifieds, stock prices, and weather. Additional data provided by Knight-Ridder/Tribune Business News: full text articles from 105 contributor newspapers. Additional data also provided by Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Service: full text articles from 40 contributor newspapers. Total coverage includes over 500,000 articles.
InfoTrac Newsstand
InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 1,000 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world.
New York State Newspapers
A database of several newspapers published in the state of New York, including the Buffalo News, Herald American (Syracuse), Indian Country Today (Oneida), New York Daily News, New York Observer (NY), New York Post (NY), New York Times, Newsday (Melville), Post-Standard (Syracuse), Post-Star (Glens Falls), Times Herald-Record (Middletown), Times Union (Albany), and the Watertown Daily Times.
Targeted Audience
Ethnic Newswatch
Ethnic Newswatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Contents include African American, Arab and Middle Eastern, Asian American, European, Jewish, and Native American publications, including the Spanish-language press.
Black Newspapers
Black Newspapers is a collection of current newspapers providing access to news from 1989 to the present,including Afro-American Red Star, Call & Post (A&I), Chicago Defender, Houston Post (A&I), Michigan Chronicle, Muslim Journal (A&I), New Journal & Guide (A&I), New York Amsterdam News, and the Los Angeles Sentinel.
GenderWatch
GenderWatch is a full-text database containing 140 international publications plus reports, pamphlets, papers and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. It is a repository of materials on gender issues worldwide, the evolution of the women's movement, and the changes in gender roles over the last twenty years.
Historical
Wall Street Journal (1889-1995)
Includes the full text, full image, and advertising. Search for names, events and concepts. See a summary of the article as well as an image of the article or the entire page of the newspaper. Use the Date option at the bottom of the screen to limit your search to particular dates.
New York Times (1851-2009)
The full-text of the NY Times. Includes all images and advertising. Search for names, events and concepts and view a summary of an article, a PDF image of the article or the entire page of the newspaper.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
A Library of Congress and National Endowment for the Humanities site containing more than 226,000 pages of public-domain newspapers from California, Florida, Kentucky, New York, Utah, Virginia and the District of Columbia published between 1900 and 1910.
Northern New York Historical Newspapers
Search several newspapers from the Northern New York region for the 1844 - 2004 time period. Site supports searching one newspaper at a time.
Pennsylvania Civil War Era Newspaper Collection
All the words, photographs, and advertisements from selected newspapers published during the pivotal years before, during, and after the U.S. Civil War.
You can browse a list of titles of newspapers available in the Ithaca College Library's online periodical databases.
LexisNexis Academic
Full-text access to continuously updated news, law, and business information. Highlights: News: newswires, transcripts, regional, national/international news, & Gallup Polls; Legal: law review articles, federal case law, and federal/state codes; Business: company profiles, country profiles, and SEC filings; People: directories from the entertainment industry, elected officials, executives, politicians, and obituaries. Also has a section that includes full-text of several health newsletters and abstracts of articles in major medical journals.
New York Times (1980-present)
Full-text of The New York Times from 1980 - present. For Historical coverage please use ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times (1851 - 2007)
Wall Street Journal (1984 - present)
Full text of The Wall Street Journal from 1984-present. For issues from 1889-1993, see the Wall Street Journal-ProQuest Historical Newspapers database.
National Newspaper Index
Indexing/abstracts: New York Times(1980-), Wall Street Journal(Eastern Ed. 3/04 -)(Western Ed. 1980-2004), Christian Science Monitor(1980-), Los Angeles Times(1982-) and Washington Post(Final Ed. 1980-)
National Newspapers Premier
This database's detailed indexing will help you quickly find the news information you need. Each issue of each newspaper is indexed thoroughly, so researchers have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the papers. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.
Newspaper Source
Provides access to both national and international newspapers, and contains abstracts and indexing from the following papers (cover to cover): the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, and USA Today. Abstracting and indexing for all titles and full text for the Christian Science Monitor begins 1/1/95. Coverage includes everything except obituaries (exclusive of famous people), sports tables, ads/classifieds, stock prices, and weather. Additional data provided by Knight-Ridder/Tribune Business News: full text articles from 105 contributor newspapers. Additional data also provided by Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Service: full text articles from 40 contributor newspapers. Total coverage includes over 500,000 articles.
InfoTrac Newsstand
InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 1,000 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world.
New York State Newspapers
A database of several newspapers published in the state of New York, including the Buffalo News, Herald American (Syracuse), Indian Country Today (Oneida), New York Daily News, New York Observer (NY), New York Post (NY), New York Times, Newsday (Melville), Post-Standard (Syracuse), Post-Star (Glens Falls), Times Herald-Record (Middletown), Times Union (Albany), and the Watertown Daily Times.
Targeted Audience
Ethnic Newswatch
Ethnic Newswatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Contents include African American, Arab and Middle Eastern, Asian American, European, Jewish, and Native American publications, including the Spanish-language press.
Black Newspapers
Black Newspapers is a collection of current newspapers providing access to news from 1989 to the present,including Afro-American Red Star, Call & Post (A&I), Chicago Defender, Houston Post (A&I), Michigan Chronicle, Muslim Journal (A&I), New Journal & Guide (A&I), New York Amsterdam News, and the Los Angeles Sentinel.
GenderWatch
GenderWatch is a full-text database containing 140 international publications plus reports, pamphlets, papers and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. It is a repository of materials on gender issues worldwide, the evolution of the women's movement, and the changes in gender roles over the last twenty years.
Historical
Wall Street Journal (1889-1995)
Includes the full text, full image, and advertising. Search for names, events and concepts. See a summary of the article as well as an image of the article or the entire page of the newspaper. Use the Date option at the bottom of the screen to limit your search to particular dates.
New York Times (1851-2009)
The full-text of the NY Times. Includes all images and advertising. Search for names, events and concepts and view a summary of an article, a PDF image of the article or the entire page of the newspaper.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
A Library of Congress and National Endowment for the Humanities site containing more than 226,000 pages of public-domain newspapers from California, Florida, Kentucky, New York, Utah, Virginia and the District of Columbia published between 1900 and 1910.
Northern New York Historical Newspapers
Search several newspapers from the Northern New York region for the 1844 - 2004 time period. Site supports searching one newspaper at a time.
Pennsylvania Civil War Era Newspaper Collection
All the words, photographs, and advertisements from selected newspapers published during the pivotal years before, during, and after the U.S. Civil War.
You can browse a list of titles of newspapers available in the Ithaca College Library's online periodical databases.
Official Statistics on the Web (OFFSTATS)
Free statistics from official sources, including current data and time series for regions and topic categories. Many data sets are downloadable as text or spreadsheet files.
American FactFinder
Current population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the US Census Bureau. Includes the Annual Survey of Manufactures, Economic Census, Current Population Estimates, Business Patterns, and American Community Surveys.
Data.gov
The purpose of Data.gov is "to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government." The site includes searchable data catalogs providing access to data in three ways: through the "raw" data catalog, the tool catalog, and the geodata catalog.
Gallup.com
Presents daily briefings on a single current topic, as well as recent Gallup Poll findings for public opinion on politics, government, eocnomics, and management.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
REF HA202 .U5
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. The final edition from the US Census is the 2012 edition. The 2013 edition forward are availbe at the IC reference desk in print.
Consumer Price Index (CPI)
Eurostat
Historical Statistics of the United States
SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network)
UNdata
Free statistics from official sources, including current data and time series for regions and topic categories. Many data sets are downloadable as text or spreadsheet files.
American FactFinder
Current population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the US Census Bureau. Includes the Annual Survey of Manufactures, Economic Census, Current Population Estimates, Business Patterns, and American Community Surveys.
Data.gov
The purpose of Data.gov is "to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government." The site includes searchable data catalogs providing access to data in three ways: through the "raw" data catalog, the tool catalog, and the geodata catalog.
Gallup.com
Presents daily briefings on a single current topic, as well as recent Gallup Poll findings for public opinion on politics, government, eocnomics, and management.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
REF HA202 .U5
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. The final edition from the US Census is the 2012 edition. The 2013 edition forward are availbe at the IC reference desk in print.
Consumer Price Index (CPI)
Eurostat
Historical Statistics of the United States
SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network)
UNdata
United States Government Manual United States Government Manual REF JK421 .A3
Statistical Abstract of the United States
REF HA202 .U5
Budget of the United States Government
Economic Report of the President
City of Ithaca
Tompkins County, NY
Our team of Liaison Librarians are here to assist users. The Research Help Desk on the Main Floor is staffed almost all the time that the library is open. You can contact the Research Help Desk in person, by phone, (607) 274-3890, and online.
Naxos Music Library
IPA Source
Online library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.
Free Sound Effects
Sound Effects (index to finding sound on the web)
Smithsonian Global Sound
CCMixter
IPA Source
Online library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.
Free Sound Effects
Sound Effects (index to finding sound on the web)
Smithsonian Global Sound
CCMixter
FinAid Grant Information
Grant Writing Resources (UC Berkeley)
GrantsNet
NSF Funding Opportunities and Awards
GuideStar.org
Searchable database of the programs and finances of more than 1.7 million IRS-recognized nonprofits and over 3.3 million people who work in the nonprofit sector. Source for 990 forms; nonprofits are required to file a 990 revenue statement with the IRS. Use GuideStar to screen for nonprofits.
Grant Writing Resources (UC Berkeley)
GrantsNet
NSF Funding Opportunities and Awards
GuideStar.org
Searchable database of the programs and finances of more than 1.7 million IRS-recognized nonprofits and over 3.3 million people who work in the nonprofit sector. Source for 990 forms; nonprofits are required to file a 990 revenue statement with the IRS. Use GuideStar to screen for nonprofits.
Consumer Reports
The current issue is available from 01/01/1988 to present via LexisNexis (no images or graphs).The current year is available in paper in the library. Other databases have access but may have an embargo (they may lack access to current issues in fulltext).
Trulia.com
Site provides real-estate advice and extensive home listings, including a neighborhood "snapshot" with schools information, local buying/selling trends, and purchasing advice from local real-estate agents.
Edmund's Automobile Buyer's Guides
Consumer Search
The current issue is available from 01/01/1988 to present via LexisNexis (no images or graphs).The current year is available in paper in the library. Other databases have access but may have an embargo (they may lack access to current issues in fulltext).
Trulia.com
Site provides real-estate advice and extensive home listings, including a neighborhood "snapshot" with schools information, local buying/selling trends, and purchasing advice from local real-estate agents.
Edmund's Automobile Buyer's Guides
Consumer Search
Who's Who (Marquis)
American National Biography
Biography in Context
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Twayne's Authors Series
Dictionary of Political Biography (Oxford Reference Online)
Oxford Art Online
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History
Oxford Dictionary of Music
American National Biography
Biography in Context
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Twayne's Authors Series
Dictionary of Political Biography (Oxford Reference Online)
Oxford Art Online
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History
Oxford Dictionary of Music
These sites may contain the actual instrument or an abstract of the instrument. Most measurement tools must be purchased from the publisher.
- Alcohol and Drug Abuse Institute Library, University of Washington. This resource is intended to help clinicians and researchers find instruments used for screening and assessment of substance use and substance use disorders.
- Dr. William E. Snell, Jr.'s Assessment Instruments Access to test instruments covering gender and sexuality.
- MentalHelp.Net Access to instruments on several mental health issues.
- National Cancer Institute - Applied Research Program ARP provides support and access to surveys and studies to support cancer research
- National Cancer Institute - Risk Factors Monitoring Program Provides access to instruments to study a variety of risk factors.
- Neuropsychology Central Assessment Links Clinical Psychology Associates of North Central Florida has provided a link to instruments used in neuropsychology research.
- Stroke Scales & Clinical Assessment Tools Provides an overview of a variety of instruments including the strengths and weaknesses of each tool.