SPMM 29800 Gender Issues in Sports
Table of Contents
Databases with Scholarly Journal Articles
The following databases for the most part allow one to limit the results to scholarly, academic, refereed or peer-reviewed journals usually by selecting that option at the beginning of the search.
- Lexis/Nexis Academic -Full-text access to continuously updated news, law, and business information. Highlights: News: newswires, transcripts, regional, national/international news, & Gallup Polls; Legal: law review articles, federal case law, and federal/state codes. The law review articles are the only ones which are scholarly in nature and may prove to be especially useful for this topics researched in the class, especially Title IX.
- SportDiscus with Full-text -Access to full text articles in such subjects as sports, physical education, sport administration, sport law and legislation, doping, health education, recreation, leisure studies, allied health, the Olympics, disabled sport, sport and exercise psychology, women in sports, gender issues and sociology of sport.
- Academic Search Premier
Multi-disciplinary database which includes a large collection of peer-reviewed journals in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Coverage varies, but begins in the 1990s for most journals.
- Academic OneFile
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources. Coverage includes the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Also includes transcripts and audio from all National Public Radio programs. Available in both PDF and HTML full-text; updated daily. Coverage is from 1980-present.
- General OneFile
Current journal and news information in humanities, education, business, science, art, politics, economics, social sciences, law, health care, computers, technology and environmental issues.
- ProQuest Research Library
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library™ provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,060 titles—over 3,600 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
- ProQuest Social Science Journals
ProQuest Social Science Journals include full-text periodicals covering the social sciences, including addiction studies, urban studies, family studies, international relations and much more.
GenderWatch is a full-text database containing 140 international publications plus reports, pamphlets, papers and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. It is a repository of materials on gender issues worldwide, the evolution of the women's movement, and the changes in gender roles over the last twenty years.
- LGBT life with Full Text
World's literature regarding Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender issues. (Was GLBT Life with Full Text)
- SocINDEX with Full Text
Comprehensive coverage of sociology and related areas of study: criminology & criminal justice, demography,ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions and violence.
- Sociology: a SAGE Full-Text Collection
Sociology journals from Sage Publishing covering Childhood, Contemporary Sociology, Comparative Sociology, Consumer Culture, Ethnic Studies, Gender Studies, Leisure Studies, Social Theory, Sociology of Sport, and Labor Studies.
- Communication Studies: a SAGE Full-Text Collection
Communications journals from Sage Publishing covering Journalism, Public Opinion, Political Communication, Mass Communication, Interpersonal Communication, Cultural Studies / Intercultural Communication, Television / Film Studies, Media Studies, Business Communication, Organizational / Management Communication, Written Communication, Rhetoric, and Literacy Studies.
- Communication Source
Communication Source offers worldwide full-text content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields and includes many unique sources previously not available. Content is derived from academic journals, conference papers, conference proceedings, trade publications, magazines and periodicals.
- Science Direct-this database has many full text scholarly articles on a wide variety of topics not directly related to science.
Full-Text of articles from American Psychological Association journals and selected Educational Publishing Foundation journals. Most 1988-present. These same articles are also included in PsycINFO, which is more comprehensive.
Bibliographic citations and some full-text for journal articles, books, and book chapters. Subjects include psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. 1872-present.
JSTOR provides access to academic journals and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Citations to biomedical articles from MEDLINE and additional life science journals back to the 1950s; incl. links to sites with full-text articles and other related resources. Help with searching PubMed is available here.
- MEDLINE (EBSCO)
The National Library of Medicine's (NLM) database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
Other Library Resources
The following resources should prove useful in exploring a wide variety of topics. The resources are not scholarly by definition however.
Over 109,000 full-text ebooks on business & economics, education, technology, humanities, life & physical sciences, law & politics, medicine, social & behavioral sciences, language & literature, and career guidance. Approximately 300 ebooks are single-user access titles; all other ebooks support multiple-user simultaneous use.
- CQ Researcher
Comprehensive reporting and analysis on current issues in the news. Each report includes an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
- National Newspapers Premier
This database's detailed indexing will help you quickly find the news information you need. Each issue of each newspaper is indexed thoroughly, so researchers have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the papers. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.
- New York Times (1980-present)
Full-text of The New York Times from 1980 - present. For Historical coverage please use ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times (1851 - 2007)
- Wall Street Journal (1984 - present)
Full text of The Wall Street Journal from 1984-present. For issues from 1889-1993, see the Wall Street Journal-ProQuest Historical Newspapers database.
- New York Times (1851-2009)
The full-text of the NY Times. Includes all images and advertising. Search for names, events and concepts and view a summary of an article, a PDF image of the article or the entire page of the newspaper.
- Wall Street Journal (1889-1995)
Daily update of new reports from government agencies, ngo's, think tanks, and other groups. Search by keyword/subject.
- Women's Sports Foundation
Founded in 1974 by Billie Jean King, the Women’s Sports Foundation is a national charitable educational organization dedicated to advancing the lives of girls and women through physical activity. We are the only national organization promoting all sports and physical activities for women of all ages and skill levels and are acknowledged by the media as the expert resource on all women’s sports issues.The Foundation has a rich history of conducting important research and has made a long-term commitment to a series of signature reports addressing such topics as girls’ participation in sports and physical activity, gender equity in intercollegiate sports, the impact of media images of women in sports and pay equity.
- Title IX Blog
An interdisciplinary resource for news, legal developments, commentary, and scholarship about Title IX, the federal statute prohibiting discrimination on the basis of sex in federally funded schools. Also lists and links of further resources and Supreme Court cases involving Title IX.
- Sportslaw News
Website with links to news, analysis, cases, statutes and regulations involving legal issues in the world of sports.