ENVS 22000: Cultural and Physical Geography

Cultural & Physical Geography

Data Sources

Non-Governmental Data

Amnesty International
Advocates for human rights around the world. Search the library page to find AI reports.

Inter-American Development Bank: Statistics & Databases
Rich source of economic and developmental data on the Americas.

International Financial Statistics (International Monetary Fund)
Time series data for major economic aggregates as well as current data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, currency, interest rates, prices, production, trade, government accounts, GDP, and national accounts.

Population Reference Bureau DataFinder
Data on population, health, and environment variables for more than 220 countries, 28 world regions and sub-regions, and the world as a whole.

UN Data
Unified hub for the many databases available from the United Nations.

United Nations: Sustainable Development, Human Settlements and Energy
Lists global and regional UN programs pertaining to environmental concerns.

World Bank: Data
Access to more than 2,000 financial, business, health, economic and human development indicators for over 200 countries, with some of the data going back 50 years. Search results can be exported in different formats. Users can also choose to download the entire database directly from the catalog.  Includes World Development Indicators and Global Finance Indicators as well as detailed country profiles. 

World Health Organization: Data & Statistics
WHO's hub page for several databases pertaining to global health data.

World Resources Institute
An environmental conducts research and develops practical ways to protect the earth and improve people’s lives. WRI organizes its work around four key programmatic goals: people & ecosystems, governance, climate protection, and markets & enterprise. 
 

Governmental Data

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
A division of the Department of Health and Human Services, the CDC publishes research and data online related to public health efforts to prevent and control infectious and chronic diseases, injuries, workplace hazards, disabilities, and environmental health threats.  Includes data relating to environmental health issues.

Data.gov
The purpose of Data.gov is "to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government."  The site includes searchable data catalogs providing access to data in three ways: through the "raw" data catalog, the tool catalog, and the geodata catalog.

U.S. Energy Information Administration
Official energy statistics from the US Government

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
See especially the EPA's Data Finder

FedStats
Gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. federal agencies that provide data and trend information on topics such as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more.

Global Change Master Directory
Clearinghouse of US Government earth science data sets

New York State Department of Environmental Conservation
Gateway to environmental information for New York State. Includes information on pollution, wildlife, and natural areas.

Science.gov
Research portal that allows searching across 38 scientific databases from the US government.

Thomas - Legislative Information
Database of United States legislative information including: bills, resolutions, the Congressional Record, treaties, Committee Reports, Public Laws, Roll Call Votes, etc.

U.S. Geological Survey
Searchable website of government resources relating to biology, geography, geology, geospatial information, and water.
See especially EROS.

Article Databases

General

Because your topics are potentially very wide-ranging, you will want to make sure that you consult some general databases that will help you find articles from a variety of disciplines.

Academic OneFile
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources. Coverage includes the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Also includes transcripts and audio from all National Public Radio programs. Available in both PDF and HTML full-text; updated daily. Coverage is from 1980-present.

Academic Search Premier
Multi-disciplinary database which includes a large collection of peer-reviewed journals in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.  Coverage varies, but begins in the 1990s for most journals.

CQ Researcher
Comprehensive reporting and analysis on current issues in the news. Each report includes an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.

Google Scholar
A search engine that searches the Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. Supports cited reference searching. Includes recent or unpublished work that hasn't yet been indexed in other databases. Each Google search citation will include a link to the full-text resource provided by the IC Library, when available.

LexisNexis Academic
This database is especially useful for finding news coverage of current issues.  In addition, there is an "Environmental Studies" section (click on "Subject Areas" in the blue area on the left) that indexes federal and state site records as well as various EPA documents.

Scientific

GreenFILE
An index drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. GreenFILE provides a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Nearly 300,000 records (full text for selected titles) from scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports.

ScienceDirect
Full-text scientific, technological, medical journals; subjects covered include biology, biochemistry, business management and accounting, chemistry, computer science, economics, finance, environmental science, mathematics, medicine, neuroscience, nursing, physics, psychology, education, and communication. Includes access to selected full-text reference books. Indexing/Abstracts to additional titles.

Contact Us

Picture: Fyiane Nsilo-Swai
Natural Sciences Librarian
(607) 274-3889

Call Number Locations

       ITHACA COLLEGE LIBRARY
         CALL NUMBER LOCATION

           A-HN     4TH FLOOR
           HB-Z      5TH FLOOR

On Posters...

Poster Presentation of Research Work (Newcastle University)

Expanded Guidelines for Giving a Poster Presentation (American Society of Primatologists)

Design of Scientific Posters (Purdue University)