German Literature and Language

All Items by Source


Journals/Magazines

Compact Memory: Internetarchiv j├╝discher Periodika Some full text available
A portal for Jewish studies in German, includes 100 Jewish periodicals, published between 1806 and 1938.

Digi Zeitschriften Resource contains images Some full text available
Images of periodicals in Economics, English Languages, Geology, Germanic Languages, History, Law, Librarianship, Philology, Romance Languages, the Sciences, and Sociology.
ERIC (Ebsco interface) Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Try using German literature as
Zeitschriften Some full text available
Links to digitized pre-1930 German periodicals.

Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC) Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Communication and media indexes, abstracts and full-text.
General OneFile Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Current journal and news information in humanities, education, business, science, art, politics, economics, social sciences, law, health care, computers, technology and environmental issues.
JSTOR Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available
Complete backfiles of core scholarly journals, searchable by journal or discipline. Files do not include the latest 3-5 years. The content is delivered as page images.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Multi-disciplinary database which includes a large collection of peer-reviewed journals in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.  Coverage varies, but begins in the 1990s for most journals.
ProQuest Research Library Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library™ provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,060 titles—over 3,600 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
note: Also includes ProQuest Education, Health Management, Psychology, and Social Science journals, as well as ebrary ebooks.

Web Sites

BBC German Interactive Website
Learn German online using audio and video from the BBC

European Library
From the website: "Designed to meet the needs of the research community worldwide, our online portal offers quick and easy access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries.
Users can cross-search and reuse over 9,550,610 digital items and 103,420,869 bibliographic records. To facilitate further research, links are also provided to other websites in the Europeana group."
To select a language, use this link: http://www.theeuropeanlibrary.org/tel4/discover/languages

IPL Nachschlagebestand Some full text available
Internet portal for German reference sources - includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, and demographic sources.
German Internet Project = Deutsche Internet Projekte
Website with links to German-language Internet & educational sites.
Voice of the Shuttle: Literatures other than English
Gateway to Web sites & text collections -- African languages through the Welsh language

Almanacs & Yearbooks

Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature
Print Location: REF PN669 .E53 2000
Concise entries for medieval authors, works, genres, and national literatures.

Atlases

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
A resource for theory and research in international affairs and global studies. Not simply a periodical database, CIAO includes working papers, policy briefs, conference proceedings, books, and case studies. It even has videos.

Bibliographies

WorldCat (via FirstSearch) Restricted Resource
WorldCat (via FirstSearch) provides bibliographic information for over 41 million books and multimedia owned by libraries worldwide.

Biographical Information

ADB/NDB: Allgemeine deutsche Biographie, Neue deutsche Biographie Some full text available
Biographical database of 90,000 Germanic individuals, from the Middle Ages to the present, in all sectors of the public, scientific, economic and cultural life. ADB contains the digitized print edition (55 volumes and index, 1875-1912, Fraktur typeface). NDB contains citations only, no full text, for its 23 volumes, 1953-present.

Dictionaries

Beolingus Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
More than 900,000 translations with examples and hints, explanations, synonyms, sayings, aphorisms, and quotations in English and German. Browse lists for special topics. Listen to German and English pronunciations spoken by native speakers.
LanguageGuide.org
 This interactive website includes images, text and sound. It includes a number of languages.
Ultimate Business Dictionary Some full text available
Contains over 6,000 international business terms including slang and jargon.  The "Multilingual glossary"  (pages 344-636)  translates business terms into Chinese, French, German, Japanese and Spanish.
Wahrig's Deutsches W├Ârterbuch Some full text available
Search Wahrig's Deutsches Wörterbuch online through this online German portal.

Deutsches Wörterbuch / Gerhard Wahrig
Print Location: REF PF3625 .W137 2000

German-German standard dictionary for contemporary usage.


Friendly German-English dictionary
Print Location: REF PF3640 .B85 1996
German-English dictionary of colloquial German usage & slang
German<->English Dictionary / TU Chemnitz
German-English, English-German online dictionary
Klett's modern German and English dictionary
German-English, English-German dictionary with brief grammar
Langenscheidts enzyklopädisches Wörterbuch
Print Location: REF PF3640.L258

Major German-English, English-German dictionary


Oxford Duden German dictionary
Print Location: REF PF3640 .O94 1997
German-English, English-German contemporary dictionary.
Diccionarios.com online / Editorial Spes
Free contemporary dictionaries - Spanish-Spanish, Catalan-Spanish, Spanish-English, English-Spanish, French & German to Spanish, Spanish to French & German.
German-English dictionary of idioms
Print Location: REF PF3460 .S345 1995
German idiomatic vocabulary.
Oxford Reference: Bilingual Dictionaries Restricted Resource
Bilingual dictionaries, including specialized vocabularies, for: French, German, Italian, Spanish, Irish, Welsh
Patterson's German-English Dictionary for Chemists
Print Location: QD5 .P3 1992
Specialized German-English dictionary
Routledge German dictionary of business, commerce and finance
Print Location: REF HF1002 .R685 1997
German-English dictionary of economics & business
Routledge German technical dictionary
Print Location: REF T10 .R683 1996
German-English, English-German dictionary for scientific & technical terms
Lexicool.com Some full text available
Directory of online bilingual and multilingual dictionaries and glossaries freely available on the Internet. Intended for translators, linguists, language students and all those interested in foreign languages.

Directories

MLA Directory of Publications Restricted Resource Some full text available
Incl. 7,100+ titles; of these, 4,400+ are currently indexed. The entries list editorial addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers, e-mail addresses, frequency of publication, descriptions of the periodicals' scopes, circulation figures, subscription prices and addresses, advertising information, and submission guidelines. The directory also provides statistics on how many articles and book reviews the periodicals publish each year, as well as how many are submitted.

E-books

Gutenberg-e Resource contains images Some full text available
Collection of digital books from Columbia University Press and the American Historical Association. Subjects include Africa, colonial Latin America, South Asia, Europe before 1800, military history, history of foreign relations, history of North America before 1900, women's history, history of gender and more.

International Children's Digital Library

A collection of online children's books that represents outstanding historical and contemporary books from throughout the world.  Books can be searched by age group, genre, award, country, and language. Here are just a few of the languages available:


Vorleser Resource contains audio Some full text available
German language audiobooks in mp3, from around 150 authors. Mostly German and European literature, with text links often included. For download at CD quality.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of contemporary German culture
Print Location: REF DD290.26.E53 1999
Encylopedic entries on 20th century German art, literature, popular culture, etc.
Encyclopedia of German literature
Print Location: REF PT41.E63 2000
Encyclopedia entries on German writers, literary movements, etc.
Historical dictionary of Judaism / Norman Solomon
Print Location: REF BM50 .S65 1998
Brief historical information on Jewish history.
Oxford companion to German literature
Print Location: REF PT41.G37
Encyclopedia-style entries on German writers, literary movements, literary topics, etc.

Handbooks & Guides

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Print Location: REF LB2369 .G53 2003
The Modern Language Association guide to writing research papers in the Humanities, covering grammar & punctuation, formatting, and citation.
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing
Print Location: REF PN147 .G444 1998
The Modern Language Association guide to the basics of scholarly writing, the preparation of dissertations, and the publication of journal articles and books.

Images

ARTstor Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Database of more than 1,000,000 digital images representing visual and material culture across cultures and time periods. Documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. ARTstor tools enable the ability to save groups of images online for personal and classroom use. IC's Visual Resources Collection (VRC) of over 20,000 images is now available. Look for the Ithaca College-Visual Resouces Collection link in the lower middle section of the page.

fotoerbe.de Resource contains images
German historical photograph site.

Newspapers--International

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text access to continuously updated news; German language sources in "Deutsche Presse". Use link in "Tips" (to right of screen)
Spiegel Some full text available
Noted German weekly; online daily news free
Spiegel
Print Location: PER AP30 .S66
Eufeeds Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
News feeds from 300 European newspapers, organized by country
Kidon Media Link Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Links to newspapers, television and radio news stations, and magazines about news and current affairs from around the world.
Foreign Language News and Magazines Some full text available
Links to electronic newspapers, journals, and magazines from around the world. Compiled by MIT Libraries.
Imooty Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
European news navigator

Organizations

American Association of Teachers of German
Information on Association activities, teaching resources, & jobs for teachers of German.

Primary Sources

Eurodocs Some full text available

Provides links to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. All sources are openly accessible.


Online Books Page Some full text available
25,000 e-texts, search by Title, Author, or Subject; browse by LC Call Number.
Online Medieval & Classical Library Some full text available
Berkeley Digital Library e-texts of important literary works of medieval and classical civilization.

Radio Stations

Radio Station World
An international listing of radio stations around the world.  Listen to broadcasts in the language of your choice.

RadioTime (Radio Time)
Listen live to radio broadcasts from around the world.  Browse by continent, then by country to find a desired language and format (talk radio, music genre). Or search by country (Israel or Saudi Arabia for example), Create an account to select your favorite stations, and sync with your personal devices.



Video

Europa Film Treasures
A film initiative from the Treasures of European Archives project that provides free streaming films. The films date from 1895 to the present and are representative of film efforts in Europe and the Americas.

Finding Material in Other Languages

To find books, articles, and dvds in languages other than English, see our how-to guide:
Languages: Databases, Books & DVDs

Contact Us

Picture: Jennifer Strickland
Fine Arts Librarian
(607) 274-1199

Call Numbers