TVR Global Information
Use this guide as a pathfinder to resources for TVR seminars considering: the global flow of media, European mass media, international media effects, media consolidation, legal regulations, business trade shows, global media convergence, etc.
- Companion encyclopedia of Middle Eastern and North African film
REF PN1993.5.A65 C66 2001
London ; New York : Routledge, 2001.Covers: Central Asia, Egypt, Iran, Israel, Lebenon-Syria-Iraq-Kuwait, Libya, The Maghreb, Palestine, and Turkey - Contemporary youth culture: an international encyclopedia
REF HQ796 .C8454 2006
Greenwood Press, 2006. Covers popular culture, subculture and youth culture worldwide. - Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents and the Media
REF HQ784 .M3 E53 2007
Sage Publications, 2007. Entries on children and the internet, video games, television, etc. - Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications
Scholarly overview of international media topics. Covers all media types (advertising, books, Internet, etc.) & media outlets (radio, television, etc.). Provides history, theory, and topical issues such as ethics, reporting of disasters, and copyright. Look at the Geopolitical Studies section. - European Media Governance: National and Regional Dimensions
Intellect Books, 2007. Ed. by Georgios Terzis. Country guide to European media ownership structures and policies. - European media governance : the Brussels dimension
Intellect, 2008. Examines how European media relates to national organizations such as the EU. - Greenwood encyclopedia of world popular culture
REF HM621 .G74 2007
Greenwood Press, 2007. - Handbook of Global Communication and Media Ethics
Chichester, West Sussex, U.K. ; Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell, 2011. E-book (2 v. (xxi, 1002 p.)) : ill. available as one online resource. - Handbook of Global Media and Communication Policy
P95.8 .H365 2001
Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell, 2011. - International film guide
REF PN1993.3 .I545
International Film Guide REF PN1993.3 .I545 2009 "The definitive annual review of world cinema" - International Motion Picture Almanac
Yearly review of motion picture industry. Includes box office statistics for the U.S., and lists of award winning works. - International Television & Video Almanac
This annual reference covers: the year in television &video, biographies, television series, stations & ownership, networks-cable- satellite & wireless, production services, DVD &video distributors, professional organizations, and coverage of the world market. Latest ed. is at the Reference desk. 1957+ (with some gaps) are in General stacks. - Mandy's International Film and Television Production Directory
Includes a searchable database of jobs and Internship opportunities in theatre, fim, TV, and radio. - Political handbook of the world
JF37 .P6
A-Z guide of country information. The latest edition at the Reference Desk is 2008. - World Radio TV Handbook (WRTH)
REF TK6540 .W67
A directory of global broadcasting (radio and television) now in its 60th year of publication. Arranged alphabetically by country.
Books
Use the library's catalog or click on one of the subject headings in the column on the right. A list of books recommended also appears to the right.
WorldCat
WorldCat (via FirstSearch) contains most the book holdings of Ithaca College Library plus books not held by other libraries. Borrow books we don't have using the Interlibrary Loan link.
Ebrary
Use the library's catalog or click on one of the subject headings in the column on the right. A list of books recommended also appears to the right.
WorldCat
WorldCat (via FirstSearch) contains most the book holdings of Ithaca College Library plus books not held by other libraries. Borrow books we don't have using the Interlibrary Loan link.
Ebrary
- ebrary database of over 44,000 full-text books. In order to view, copy, or print from an ebook, you must download and install the ebrary Reader plugin. Viewer download works best with IE for PCs and Safari for Mac; don't use pop-up blockers; remote users may encounter a warning about a certificate during login - just accept it.
- Media in Europe: the Euromedia Research Group
A-Z country guide to European media. - Disneyization of Society (2004) by Bryman
- Media and Ethnic Minorities (2005) by Alia and Bull
- Children, Young People and Media Globalisation. Yearbook 2002
Nordicom, 2002, 262 p. Editors: Cecilia von Feilitzen, Ulla Carlsoon. From the International Clearinghouse on Children, Youth & Media. This yearbook is available in PDF format. - Finding the Right Place on the Map: Central and Eastern European Media Change in a Global Perspective
Intellect Books, 2008. Edited by Karol Jakubowicz and Miklos Sukosd. Online book compares media systems in post-Communist Countries. Search Intellect Books by the title to find it. Chapters can be accessed in pdf format. - The international perspective: The future of children’s programming research report - Online annex. OfCom, 2007. Find additional OfCom reports on Children: click here.
- OECD Communications Outlook 2011
OECD, 2011. Communications Outlook reports on the communications industry of member countries. Available free in PDF format. - Television across Europe: Regulation, Policy and Independence
Eumap.org, 2005. Available in PDF format. EUMAP is a programme of the Open Society Institute, a Soros Foundations network. - Towards a New Model: Media and Communication in Post-conflict and Fragile States
World Bank, Sept. 2008. Shanthi Kalathil with John Langlois and Adam Kaplan. To download the pdf, you must put in your name, organization, and field of work.
Use these databases to find scholarly journal articles, trade publication articles, and news:
Best bets:
Best bets:
- LexisNexis Academic Find international news, newswires and transcripts here.
Click on the "News" tab and choose "Newspapers and Wires." Check the box for Non-US Newspapers and Wires from Select Sources.
Go to the Companies tab and search Company Dossier to search for information on media companies - Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC)
Journal articles from all fields of communication (Journalism, Marketing, Radio, Television, etc.). It is included in the Article Quick Search, above. - Academic Search Premier
Multidisciplinary database. It is included in the Article Quick Search, above. - SocINDEX with Full Text
Sociology database. It is included in the Article Quick Search, above. - Business Source Premier (Original Interface)
Business database. It is included in the Article Quick Search, above. - Communication Studies: a SAGE Full-Text Collection
Full-text journals from the publisher SAGE. This is a full-text colection of titles in the field of communications by the publisher SAGE
- General OneFile
Multidisciplinary database - Ethnic Newswatch
Ethnic press and scholarship. Good for Indigenous peoples and the mass media - JSTOR
Limit to articles. Includes fulltext of legal, political, anthropological, and sociological articles. - National Newspapers Premier
Includes BBC Monitoring a translation service. To search by title, click on "more search options" and type "BBC" after publication title. - CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
International policy working papers, articles and report
- BBC Monitoring scattered by region. Try BBC Monitoring International Reports in LexisNexis.
- World News Connection (walk-in use at Cornell University) Translates foreign news into English. Cornell also has the Foreign Broadcast Information Service reports. Search their catalog for detailed information.
News: Directories
- Eufeeds
News feeds from 300 European newspapers, organized by country
- Kidon Media Link
Links to newspapers, television and radio news stations, and magazines about news and current affairs from around the world. - Newslink
Portal to newspapers, radio and t.v. stations, magazines, and international news. Can browse by state or search by city. - Newspaper Map
The "world's largest newspaper site" allows users to browse a world map of news. Use a search box to focus on a location. There is a language feature for translations. - Online Newspapers news portal
- Al Jazeera Creative Commons Repository (select footage)
- Al Jazeera English
- Alhurra TV Arabic language satellite tv station for the Middle East financed by the US BBG
- AllAfrica.com Online distributor of African news and information
- BBC News
- Maori Television
- MediaChannel.org for Democratic Media
- Nigeria: Radio Nigeria (Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria) Largest radio network in Africa
- Nigerian Television Authority TV network for the people of Nigeria
- NHK Japan
- Radio Sawa Arab language network financed by the US BBG
- ARGYLEtv
Distributes international television programming worldwide in numerous languages. Try clicking one of the counties at the base of the homepage to begin. May require a special plugin to view; Many not run on Macs. - Blinkx
- Google Video
- OVGuide : Online Video Guide
- Associated Press (AP)
- GlobalPost
- Global Voices
- Inter Press Service (IPS)
- One World
- Reuters
- Worldpress.org
- United Press International (UPI)
- Freedom House
Organization that monitors freedom, democracy and human rights worldwide. The publish the following reports: Freedom in the World, Freedom on the Net, Freedom of the Press, Nations in Transit, Countries at the Crossroads, and Women's Rights in the Middle East and North Africa, - Reporters without Borders
Advocacy organization that defends journalists, fights against censorship, and works to improve the safety of journalists worldwide. They publish the Press Freedom Index.
- Annenberg Research Network on International Communication (USC Annenberg School for Communication)
- Asian Media Information and Communication Centre (AMIC)
Non-profit NGO located in Singapore that promotes media and communications in Asia. This membership organization offers research, publication and events. - Broadcasting Standards Authority (BSA) : New Zealand
BSA is an Independent Crown Entity (ICE) set up by the Broadcasting Act of 1989 that supports fairness and freedom in broadcasting (about us). The site includes: Codes and Standards, Making a complaint, Publications, and links. - China Media Observatory (CMO)
Created in 2006 by the Faculty of Communication Sciences at the University of Lugano in Switzerland, the CMO studies Chinese media. It generates research, newsletters, and other documents that are available through its website. - Center for Media & Communication Studies (CMCS)
Research Center based at Central European University in Budapest that researches media and communications for public policy development. - Computer Entertainment Suppliers Association Japanese organization that promotes the Japanese computer entertainment industry. They support the annual Tokyo Game Show.
- COST-A20 : Impact of the Internet on the Mass Media in Europe
European Cooperation in the field of Scientific and Technical Research's page concerning the Impact of the Internet on the Mass Media in Europe. - Euromedia Research Group
Collects information about media policy in Europe and publishes books. - European Advertising Standards Alliance (EASA)
Organization that provides information on advertising self-regulation in Europe. - European Association of Animation Film (CARTOON)
Based in Brussels, Cartoon supports the European animation industry. - European Audiovisual Observatory
Based in France, this Council of Europe (COE) organization collects information on European Audiovisual data, trends, and policy. - European Broadcasting Union (EBU-UER)
An association of national broadcasters that promotes the exchange of audiovideo content. Publications include: EBU viewpoint, EBU Technical, and various strategic reports. Topical issues include reports on specific issues under the categories of: Cultural diversity, sports, copyright, and DRM. The EurovisionTV page includes tabs on: Music &Dance, Children &Youth, Fiction, Entertainment, Documentary, Science &Education, etc. - Europe's Information Society
European Union thematic portal on information society and media and policies (audiovisual, copyright, digital libraries, internet, etc.). - EUscreen
"EUscreen offers free online access to videos, stills, texts and audio from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives. Explore selected content from early 1900s until today." Content is included in the Eurpeana online archive. - INPUT
INPUT(International Public Television) is a screening conference for public television shows. One associate member, Pompeu Fabra University (Barcelona, Spain), holds the INPUT Archive. This archive collects screened programs from 1978 until today - International Clearinghouse on Children, Youth & Media
Located at NORDICOM, Goteborg University, Sweden, the Clearinghouse collects research on children and the media worldwide. Some books are free online; also check the library's catalog. - International Telecommunications Union (ITU)
UN agency on communication technology. - IIST World Forum Journal from the Institute for International Studies and training, Tokyo, Japan.
- Media Policy
Organization that organizes and analyzes global media policy. - Middle East Media Research Institute (MEMRI)
Description from the website: The Middle East Media Research Institute (MEMRI) explores the Middle East through the region's media. MEMRI bridges the language gap which exists between the West and the Middle East, providing timely translations of Arabic, Persian,Turkish, Urdu-Pashtu media, as well as original analysis of political, ideological, intellectual, social, cultural, and religious trends in the Middle East. - International Clearinghouse on Children, Youth & Media
Located at NORDICOM, Goteborg University, Sweden, the Clearinghouse collects research on children and the media worldwide. Some books are free online; also check the library's catalog. - Ofcom : Office of Communications
Ofcom reports to the UK Parliament but is independent of the UK Government. They are charged to follow the legal duties defined by the UK Communications Act of 2003. - UCLA: Center for European and Eurasian Studies
- UNESCO Communications and Information Sector
UNESCO's CI sector provides resources and information to communication issues worldwide. Programs include: International Programme for the Development of Communication (IPDC) and Information for All Program (IFAP). Issues include: access to information, capacity building, content development, freedom of expression, media development, and memory of the world. Users can sign up for the CI Weekly News for updates. - uniFrance Promotes the French film industry worldwide. Includes a helpful Industry Directory
- Visual Industry Promotion Organization (VIPO) Promotes the Japanese media content industry
- World Association of Community Radio Broadcasters (AMARC)
International non-governmental association serving the community radio movement.
Business Information: Databases, Associations, awards & trade shows
- ABI/INFORM Complete Business trade pubs and scholarship.
- American Film Market Trade show of global motion picture content held annually in Santa Monica, CA.
- Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS)
Preeminent motion picture association that is well known for the Oscars. The record of past Academy Award winners and nominees are included in the Academy Awards Database. - Association of Film Commissioners International (AFCI)
- Business Insights: Essentials Look up a media companies here.
- Business Source Premier (Original Interface) Business trade pubs and scholarship.
- Cineuropa
This European cinema portal contains news, trailers, interviews, and reports about the European film industry. - Columbia Journalism Review (CJR) Big media family trees.
- European Film Academy
- Europeana
European collection of cultural materials from museums, archives, libraries, and audio-visual collections such as the Rijksmuseum, the British Library, and the Louvre. Includes images, texts, sounds and videos. - Eurovision Song Contest
European television show founded in in May,1956. The History tab includes an overview year-by-year or by country. - INPUT Annual weeklong showcase of public television content.
- MIP World
MIP connects the global entertainment content industry through conferences, exhibits, and online communities. - Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA)
Trade association supporting the motion picture, home video &television industry. Site include statistics, anti-piracy information, and a description of the film ratings system.
- Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA)
- Broadcasting Board of Governors (U.S. civilian international broadcasting including: Voice of America, Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty, Radio Free Asia, Radio and TV Marti, and the Middle East Broadcasting Networks - Radio Sawa and Alhurra Television)
- Canadian Radio and Television Communications Commission
- European Union Legal Materials: An Infrequent User's Guide
- Europa : European Union On-Line Documentation Centre>Legislation> EUR-Lex (also searchable under the Law tab in LexisNexis): Directory of Community Legislation> Chapter 16
- European Audiovisual Observatory "The Information portal for the audiovisual sector"
- Electronic Information System for International Law (EISIL) Portal to international law resources for telecom, broadcasting, & networks.
- Hong Kong Broadcasting Authority
- Ireland: Commissions for Communications Regulation
- Japan: Ministry of Public Management Affairs, Home Affairs, Post and Telecommunications
- Nigeria: National Film and Video Censors Board (nfvcb)
- Nigeria: National Broadcasting Commission (NBC) Broadcast regulator of Nigeria
- Singapore: Media Development Authority
- Thailand: Government Information Office
- Taiwan: Government Information Office
- Ofcom : Office of Communications
Ofcom reports to the UK Parliament but is independent of the UK Government. They are charged to follow the legal duties defined by the UK Communications Act of 2003. - Federal Communications Commission (FCC)
U.S. government agency that regulates radio, television, wire, satellite and cable communications. The site includes: headline news, links to bureaus and offices (such as the Office of General Counsel / Court Filings), Public Comments page, an online Complaint form, a Consumer Center, Rules and Regulations (CFR title 47), etc. Most recently, the FCC links to Broadband.gov, a separate page addressing the National Broadband Plan and FFC.gov/data (an online clearinghouse for data sets).
Loading ...
- Reference Books
- Books
- Article Quick Search
- Databases & guides
- News Portals on the Internet
- Organizations
- Business
- Law and Policy
- Disney videos
- Writing & Citing
- Scholarly journals versus trade
- Variety: foreign B.O.
- Browse TV trade journals
- Global Media and Communication
- Recommended readings by Dr. Lustyik
- Books by Subject
- Search Tips
- Statistics & Analysis
- Country Guides
See our Writing & Citing page for information on citation styles and practices.
You need to know the difference between scholarly journals, trade, and popular journals. We have a guide that explains the difference.
For coverage in earlier issues of Variety, access it from a library database such as LexisNexis. Try searching "box office" and the name of the film.
TV trade journals:
(links to library databases where you can access full-text articles that may not be free on the journal's website)
Browse all online TV journals (scholarly and trade) available in the library:
(links to library databases where you can access full-text articles that may not be free on the journal's website)
- Advertising Age
- Broadcasting & cable
- Variety
- Hollywood reporter
- Link to Hollywood Reporter in LexisNexis
- Mediaweek (New York, N.Y.)
Browse all online TV journals (scholarly and trade) available in the library:
Loading ...
Recommended journals and newspapers (access via IC Library databases):
- Foreign Affairs
- Foreign Policy
- The Economist
- UTNE
- Mother Jones
- The New York Times
- The International Herald Tribune
- Global Media and Communication
- International Communication Gazette
- Al-Jazeera : the inside story of the Arab news channel that is challenging the West by Hugh Miles
- Babes in tomorrowland : Walt Disney and the making of the American child, 1930-1960 by Sammond
- Bollywood (Pocket Essentials) (e-book) by Banker
- Brand Hollywood : selling entertainment in a global media age by Grainge
- Contemporary world cinema : Europe, the Middle East, East Asia and South Asia by Chaudhuri
- Cross-Media Promotion by Hardy
- Deconstructing Disney (e-book)by Byrne & McQuillan
- Disney, Pixar, and the hidden messages of children's films by Booker
- Global Hollywood I by Miller
- Global Hollywood II by Miller
- Hollywood and the culture elite How the movies became American (e-book) by Decherney
- How Hollywood works by Wasko
- International communication : a reader/ by Thussu.
- Jihad vs. McWorld/ Benjamin R. Barber
- McDonaldization : the reader/ [edited by] George Ritzer.
- Media on the move : global flow and contra-flow / edited by Daya Kishan Thussu.
- Mission Al Jazeera : build a bridge, seek the truth, change the world/ by Rushing, in collaboration with Elder
- Monopoly Television: MTV's Quest to control the music by Banks.
- The mouse machine : Disney and technology by Telotte
- The mouse that roared : Disney and the end of innocence by Giroux
- Multiculturalism and the Mouse race and sex in Disney entertainment (e-book) by Brode
- New flows in global TV by Moran.
- News as Entertainment: The rise of global Infotainment by Thussu.
- Planet TV : a global television reader / edited by Lisa Parks and Shanti Kumar.
- Rethinking Disney : private control, public dimensions by Budd & Kirsch
- Understanding Disney : the manufacture of fantasy by Wasko
- Understanding Global Media: the new missionaries of corporate capitalism by Herman and McChesney.
- World television : from global to local/ Joseph D. Straubhaar.
Click on the following subjects to access books and videos in the library's catalog. Watch a brief demo.
- Apple Computer, Inc.
- Broadcasting--Europe
- Communication, International
- Communication and culture
- Computers and civilization
- Cyberspace Social aspects
- Culture and globalization
- Digital audio broadcasting--Europe.
- Digital divide
- Walt Disney Company.
- Documentary films
- Feature films
- Globalization
- Google (Firm)
- Information society
- Information society Europe
- Information society European Union countries.
- Intercultural communication
- Internet China
- Internet Europe
- Internet Social aspects
- Mass media--Europe.
- Mass media and children
- Mass media and culture
- Mass media and globalization.
- Mass media and nationalism
- Mass media Audiences
- Mass Media Ownership
- Mass media Social aspects
- Mass media policy European Union countries.
- Mass media Political aspects
- Microsoft Corporation.
- Mobile communication systems
- Motion pictures--Africa.
- Motion pictures--India. (Bollywood)
- Motion pictures--Nigeria (Nollywood)
- Murdoch, Rupert, 1931-
- Popular culture
- Radio broadcasting--Europe.
- Radio broadcasting--European Union countries
- Radio Free Europe
- Reality television programs.
- Television and children
- Television and culture
- Television broadcasting--Europe.
- Television broadcasting--European Union countries
- Television broadcasting policy--Europe.
- Television programs for children
- Transborder data flow
- Visual Communication
- Walt Disney Company
- Wireless Internet
USE THE THESAURUS
If you search the subject GLOBALIZATION in the Thesaurus tab, you will find all spellings of the word (globalization or globalisation). Watch a brief demo.
WILDCARDS AND TRUNCATORS
BROADEN YOUR SEARCH
If you are searching for articles on a station such as PBS, or a program, such as Spongebob, use the "all text" search feature. Watch a brief demo.
If you search the subject GLOBALIZATION in the Thesaurus tab, you will find all spellings of the word (globalization or globalisation). Watch a brief demo.
WILDCARDS AND TRUNCATORS
- globali?ation -- the ? is a wildcard and will give you globalization or globalisation in your search
- Disney* -- the * is a truncator and will give you Disney, Disneyfication or Disneyization
BROADEN YOUR SEARCH
If you are searching for articles on a station such as PBS, or a program, such as Spongebob, use the "all text" search feature. Watch a brief demo.
- Eurostat
Statistical data for European Union members. - Pew Global Attitudes Survey
Gauges public attitudes toward globalization, democracy, and other issues. Users can view all of these reports on the site and also see the datasets used to craft each report. - European Media Monitor includes breaking news (NewsBrief), news analysis and summaries NewsExplorer, etc. for European news
- NationMaster
A central data source and handy way to graphically compare nations. NationMaster is a compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. Use the search form to generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics. Click the "Countries A-Z" tab, pick a country, then choose "media" - UNdata
UNdata pools major UN databases and those of several international organizations - browse, search and download data from a large number of statistical databases. Data categories include: agriculture, education, employment, energy, environment, health, human development, industry, information and communication technology, national accounts, population, refugees, trade, and tourism. - Media Cloud
Data tool from the Berkman Center for Internet & Society at Harvard that visulizes the flow of the media.
- International Motion Picture Almanac
- International Television & Video Almanac
- Statistical Yearbook (European Audiovisual Observatory) REF HE8700.9 .E8 S72
European Audiovisual Observatory, Council of Europe, 2008. 3 volumes. The library acquires new editions every few years. - TV Dimensions REF HE 8700.8 .T917
Country Guides:
- CIA World Factbook
Provides basic history of all countries - includes maps, population, history, politics, economics, education, communications, transportation and military data. - BBC News: Country Profiles
Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio or video clips from BBC archives. Contain information on the different types of press available in the country. - Compendium: Cultural policies and trends in Europe
From the website: The Compendium is a joint venture between the Council of Europe and the ERICarts Institute, realised with a community of practice of independent cultural policy researchers, NGOs, national governments and information partners. - Country Reports
Cultural, historical, and statistical information for countries. - World Maps and Country Profiles (World Press Review)
Search by country or region for maps and news.
Loading ...