Health Promotion and Physical Education

Best Bets

MEDLINE (EBSCO)
A comprehensive journal index to over 4,600 biomedical journals, with links to some full-text.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
A comprehensive source of full-text articles for sports & sports medicine journals that includes occupational health and therapy, providing full text for more than 520 journals indexed back to 1985.
CINAHL
A comprehensive journal index to the nursing and allied health literature dating back to 1982, with links to some full-text. This is a great tool for finding education, health promotion, and psychosocial health articles along with research articles.
PsycINFO
Indexes and abstracts journal articles and book chapters in the field of psychology, 1887 to present.
ERIC (Ebsco interface)
Index, with abstracts, to journal articles and ERIC documents from the Educational Resource Information Center; with links to full-text, from 1966 to present.
ScienceDirect
Full text of the Elsevier journals covering many subjects including medicine, neuroscience, nursing, pschology, education, and communication.
Dietary Supplements
A subset of PubMed that searches for citations on the dietary supplement literature.
Health & Wellness Resource Center
Provides full-text materials, abstracts, and citations to patient and consumer health information.
 

Evidence Based Practice

Cochrane Library
Full-text of four databases important to evidence based medicine.
PubMed Clinical Queries

Special filters help you to find clinically based articles focused on therapy, diagnosis, etiology, prognosis, clinical prediction guidelines, systematic reviews, meta-analyses, or medical genetics.
TRIP Database
Clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
A comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and other related documents, created by the Agency for Healtcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).
Physical Activity and Health Promotion : Evidence-Based Approaches to Practice
This book provides an overview of evidence-based interventions that may be applied to populations that are inactive.
 

Reference Materials

 Stedman's medical dictionary for the health professions and nursing.
Provides simple definitions on key terminology in the field of medicine with full color illustrations of the human anatomy.
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary
Standard work, frequently revised. Used to find the spelling, meaning and derivation of specific [medical] terms. Has a special chapter on fundamentals of Medical Etymology.
Human Body Maps
A 3-D tool of 8 different body systems.  

 


Encyclopedia of Ethnicity and Sports in the United States
Examines the sporting experience of Native Americans, African Americans and the immigrant groups of the United States from Colonial times to the present. Includes entries on racial and ethnic groups, ethnic sports, mainstream sports, ethnic and racial institutions and famous sports figures.
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition
A comprehensive text that examines the political, social and scientific aspects of nutrition.
Statistical Encyclopedia of North American Professional Sports.
Provides statistics for major professional teams in baseball, football, hockey, and soccer, from 1876 to 2006.
Encyclopedia of Public Health
This 4-volume set provides a comprehensive overview of the field of public health.