HEOP: Library Session

Introduction

Welcome to the Library! This guide is a brief introduction to library resources.
Objectives:
  • Know that Reference librarians are available to assist you find information: Ask a Librarian!
  • Search the library catalog and how to find a book in stacks
  • How to find a course Reserve item
  • How to find a journal article based on a citation
  • How to select and search a database
  • Citation software: Noodlebib (Writing, Citing and Plagiarism)

Plan your Research: Background Information

  • Brainstorm on key subjects of your topic
  • Go to the Research Guides tab of the library’s homepage
  • Choose a key subject from the drop-down menu based on your research topic
  • Look at Encyclopedias for background.  You can always try:
    Encyclopaedia Britannica Online   (ex. Camp David Accords)
  • For biographies, you can always try:
    (ex. Wangari Maathai)
  • Research guides on controversial topics can be found in this database:
    CQ Researcher

Finding books, e-books, journal titles, dvds,

  • Search the library's catalog for a known item by title or author.  If you want to search generally by keyword, use the Advanced Search form (ex. leader? AND psychology identity).
    Note: a question mark will truncate your search: leader? will retrieve books on leaders and leadership. 
  • Expand your search with subject headings (“more like this”)
  • Narrow your search by date or by searching using narrower terms (ex. "identity" is narrower than "psychology").
  • Click on the title and check the status and location.  Jot down the call number. 
  • Click "Where?" next to the Status to find the location in stacks:
    General stacks A-HA (4th floor)
    General stacks HB-Z (5th floor)
  • If the location is Multimedia, write down the DVD or CD number and check out the item at the desk on the 3rd floor of the library (one flight up and to your left).   You can search the Film tab to find DVDs more easily. It includes information about our Multimedia services.
  • Although e-books are in the library's catalog, you can search the whole collection here: Ebrary
  • If we don't have a book, search for it in WorldCat (via FirstSearch) ; click the Interlibrary Loan link to make a request.

Reserve Readings

  • On the library's homepage, click on the "Reserves" tab.
  • Click on "Find reserves by Instructor, Department or Course"
  • Choose your instructor and/or course
  • If the location is "Electronic eReserve" click on "View eReserve".  The password will be provided by your instructor. Off-campus users will first be required to submit email username/password to authenticate to the Ithaca College network.
  • If the location is "Circulation Desk: Reserves" come to the library and check the book out at the Circulation desk.  Provide the student worker with the call number.  You can check it out for 2 hours.

Finding a Citation & Interlibrary Loan

Examine your citation and determine the journal title (NOT the article title):

Hammack, P. L. (2010). The Political Psychology of Personal Narrative: The Case of Barack Obama. Analyses of Social Issues & Public Policy, 10(1), 182-206. doi:10.1111/j.1530-2415.2010.01207.x

Reference to a newspaper article:
"Protectors of Forests Take Home the Prizes." In Wall Street Journal, May 10, 1991, p. B1.

Click on the Articles tab on the the library's website. In the "Journals" box, type your title in and click search.  You'll see a list of databases that contain fulltext of your article. First check the date.  Older articles may be in print or microform.  if we don't have it fulltext, you'll be prompted to borrow the article using Interlibrary Loan (ILL).  This is a free service to you as a student; we borrow books and articles from other  Remember to ask at the Reference desk if you need help.  We'll walk through the process with you.

Database Selection & searching

DATABASE SELECTION
  • Brainstorm on key words and phrases of your topic
  • Consider what subject areas research your topic (does it concern law, politics or business?)
  • Choose one of the key subject Research Guides from the Research Guides page (see, below, for some recommended guides)
  • Ask your librarian if you're not certain
It is always good to search a multidisciplinary databases:
If you'd like to search newspapers, try:Find them under the Database List of the library’s homepage

ACCESSING FULL TEXT
  • After searching a database look at your results
  • If there is a link to PDF or HTML, fulltext is available
  • If there is a green arrow, click on it to see if fulltext is available in another database
  • If fulltext is not available we can borrow articles and books via Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Research Guides

Not sure where to start?  You can try out General guide to begin. It contains resources that are basic or cover a variety of subjects. 

Recommended subject specific guides may include:

Contact Us

Picture: Cathy Michael
Communications Librarian
(607) 274-1293

Ask a Librarian

At the center of the library's homepage is a pink Ask a Librarian link. You can visit the reference desk with long questions, make a research consultation appointment with a librarian, or ask a  quick question using our Meebo widget.   We’re here to help you!

Get to know the library

In addition to our databases did you know:
  • The library is on the 2nd through 5th floor of the Gannett Center. Here are some maps to find our service points and books.
  • Login to a library computer using your Novellaccount.  If you try 3 times and get it wrong, you may get locked out.  An ITS student assistant sits at the Circulation desk and should be able to help you troubleshoot. Authenticate in databases (on campus or off) using your Netpassaccount (email user name and password). 
  • We have wireless access. Bring your laptop or borrow a library laptop at the Circulation desk.
  • Printing is free.  Sign into a library computer using your Novell account.  Printing goes to the IT student helper at the Circulation desk.
  • Check the library hours at the top of the library's homepage.
  • There is a tab to access Reserves.  Your professor will provide you with a special code to access online reserves. Books on reserve can be accessed at the Circulation desk.
  • Check out books at the Circulation desk.  You'll get an email reminder when the book is almost due (generally you can have books out for a "block" -- a half a semester).   Renew books through the library's catalog (click "login" from the library's homepage).  Here is our Circulation Policy that defines how long you can check out different items (DVDs, books, computers, Reserves).

SmartBlog on Leadership

Loading ...

On Leadership (Washington Post)

Loading ...