HIST270 History of American Environmental Thought





While libraries and historical societies are actively digitzing local history sources (newspapers, journals, diaries, etc.), many important resources are not yet available online. These resources are in microfilm or print formats, and finding aids (indexes, bibliographies, catalogs, etc.) are used to search these resources.
What does this mean for you as a researcher? You may have to use an online index or a print finding aid. If there is no finding aid, you will have to search microfilm by date/s to find relevant articles. Images from microfilm can be printed and/or saved.
The Tompkins County Public Library has created a print index for local history articles that appeared in the Ithaca Journal from 1969 to June 1999. The volume also includes indices for special issues of the Ithaca Journal from 1915, 1938, 1939, and 1960. See the TCPL Reference Desk for access.
TCPL also maintains an historic newspaper collection (on microfilm) for the Tompkins County area.
The Ithaca Journal has an online index - Note: Coverage is November 2002 - present
The Ithaca College Library has the Ithaca Journal on microfilm (AN2 .I8) from 1919 - present. The reels are stored in the microfilm cabinets on the main floor. See the library's Video that explains how to use our microfilm reader.
Ithacan (Ithaca College Student Newspaper)
Historical issues of the Ithaca College student newspaper (1926-2002). Searchable by word for every article, photograph caption, and advertisement from the newspaper. Search current issues at The Ithacan Online.
The History Center in Tompkins County has an extensive collection of local history sources.
Historic Ithaca has a Library of the Built Environment with 600 books, dozens of magazine titles, a 120-year run of Ithaca City Directories, thousands of photographs and slides, surveys of historic resources throughout Tompkins County, scrapbooks, maps, and ephemera.
What does this mean for you as a researcher? You may have to use an online index or a print finding aid. If there is no finding aid, you will have to search microfilm by date/s to find relevant articles. Images from microfilm can be printed and/or saved.
The Tompkins County Public Library has created a print index for local history articles that appeared in the Ithaca Journal from 1969 to June 1999. The volume also includes indices for special issues of the Ithaca Journal from 1915, 1938, 1939, and 1960. See the TCPL Reference Desk for access.
TCPL also maintains an historic newspaper collection (on microfilm) for the Tompkins County area.
The Ithaca Journal has an online index - Note: Coverage is November 2002 - present
The Ithaca College Library has the Ithaca Journal on microfilm (AN2 .I8) from 1919 - present. The reels are stored in the microfilm cabinets on the main floor. See the library's Video that explains how to use our microfilm reader.
Ithacan (Ithaca College Student Newspaper)
Historical issues of the Ithaca College student newspaper (1926-2002). Searchable by word for every article, photograph caption, and advertisement from the newspaper. Search current issues at The Ithacan Online.
The History Center in Tompkins County has an extensive collection of local history sources.
Historic Ithaca has a Library of the Built Environment with 600 books, dozens of magazine titles, a 120-year run of Ithaca City Directories, thousands of photographs and slides, surveys of historic resources throughout Tompkins County, scrapbooks, maps, and ephemera.
- America: History and Life Citations for articles from prehistory to the present.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective Citations for articles published in popular journals from 1890-1982. Useful for locating articles that are in the bound periodical stacks on the 4th floor.
- New York Times (1851-2009)
The full-text of the NY Times. Includes all images and advertising. Search for names, events and concepts and view a summary of an article, a PDF image of the article or the entire page of the newspaper. - Ancestry Library Edition Links to historical records: census, court, land, and church records. Census data to the street level is available for tracking characteristics of neighborhoods. Currently the most recent census available is 1940.
Books and Ebooks:
The nature of New York: an environmental history of the Empire State
Everyday nature : knowledge of the natural world in colonial New York
The making of green: environmental politics and cultural transformation
The American college town - Chapter 3 is about Ithaca
Selected subjects in the Ithaca College Library collection:
Tompkins County Local History
Tompkins County Pictorial Works
Environmental Law United States History
Environmental Management Ithaca
Environmental Management United States
Environmental Policy New York State
Environmental Protection Tompkins County
Environmentalism United States 20th century
New York State Environmental Conditions
DVD Lists
The nature of New York: an environmental history of the Empire State
Everyday nature : knowledge of the natural world in colonial New York
The making of green: environmental politics and cultural transformation
The American college town - Chapter 3 is about Ithaca
Selected subjects in the Ithaca College Library collection:
Tompkins County Local History
Tompkins County Pictorial Works
Environmental Law United States History
Environmental Management Ithaca
Environmental Management United States
Environmental Policy New York State
Environmental Protection Tompkins County
Environmentalism United States 20th century
New York State Environmental Conditions
DVD Lists
Historical Census Browser
Access to summary level demographic, economic, and social data collected by the U.S. Census from 1790 to 1960. Database generates longitudinal tables and maps. Topics covered: population, education, ethnicity, economy, slave population, and place of birth.
National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)
NHGIS provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2010. The NHGIS Data Finder (which requires free registration) provides access to aggregate census data via an easy-to-use web based interface.
Access to summary level demographic, economic, and social data collected by the U.S. Census from 1790 to 1960. Database generates longitudinal tables and maps. Topics covered: population, education, ethnicity, economy, slave population, and place of birth.
National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)
NHGIS provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2010. The NHGIS Data Finder (which requires free registration) provides access to aggregate census data via an easy-to-use web based interface.
This research project involves the use of primary resources. For a review of the differences between primary sources and other information resources, see the Library's Guide on Primary and Secondary Sources.
The National Archives has developed a series of Document Analysis Worksheets. They are designed to help you critically evaluate your sources.
The National Archives has developed a series of Document Analysis Worksheets. They are designed to help you critically evaluate your sources.
See the Library's Guide on Annotated Bibliographies for tips on writing annotations.
Creating effective PowerPoint presentations:
- Creating an Effective PowerPoint Presentation (George Mason University)
- Designing an Effective PowerPoint Presentation: Quick Guide (Purdue University)
American Environmental Photographs, 1891-1936: Images from the University of Chicago Library
Images cover turn-of-the-century life, the new discipline of ecology, increasing industrialization, large-scale agriculture, rural life, settlement of the West, history of Native Americans, development of the National Park system, and the advent of leisure time.
New York Heritage
Access to digital collections that include photographs, letters, diaries, directories, maps, newspapers, and books. Images from Ithaca College and the History Center collections are included. You can search images from the Ithaca College Collection directly.
Images of Ithaca & Tompkins County: Vol. I, the early years, 1850-1939. Vol. II, the 1940s, '50s & '60s
Images cover turn-of-the-century life, the new discipline of ecology, increasing industrialization, large-scale agriculture, rural life, settlement of the West, history of Native Americans, development of the National Park system, and the advent of leisure time.
New York Heritage
Access to digital collections that include photographs, letters, diaries, directories, maps, newspapers, and books. Images from Ithaca College and the History Center collections are included. You can search images from the Ithaca College Collection directly.
Images of Ithaca & Tompkins County: Vol. I, the early years, 1850-1939. Vol. II, the 1940s, '50s & '60s
CQ Researcher
Comprehensive reporting and analysis on current issues in the news. Each report includes an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Sample Listing of Recent Reports:
Invasive Species
Fracking
Water Crisis in the West
Managing Public Lands
Gulf Coast Restoration
Managing Nuclear Waste
National Parks Under Pressure
Comprehensive reporting and analysis on current issues in the news. Each report includes an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Sample Listing of Recent Reports:
Invasive Species
Fracking
Water Crisis in the West
Managing Public Lands
Gulf Coast Restoration
Managing Nuclear Waste
National Parks Under Pressure