History--United States

All Items by Source


Journals/Magazines

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Multi-disciplinary database which includes a large collection of peer-reviewed journals in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.  Coverage varies, but begins in the 1990s for most journals.
America: History and Life Restricted Resource openURL
Citations and some abstracts for journal articles,book reviews, and dissertations on US and Canadian history, prehistory to the present. Covers historical topics and a variety of disciplines including popular culture, gender studies, anthropology, literature and folklore.
JSTOR Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available
Complete backfiles of core scholarly journals, searchable by journal or discipline. Files do not include the latest 3-5 years. The content is delivered as page images.

ProQuest Research Library Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library™ provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,060 titles—over 3,600 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
note: Also includes ProQuest Education, Health Management, Psychology, and Social Science journals.
General OneFile Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Current journal and news information in humanities, education, business, science, art, politics, economics, social sciences, law, health care, computers, technology and environmental issues.
Project Muse Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Full-text scholarly journals in the Humanities, Arts, Social Sciences and Mathematics; Coverage varies by journal but generally only 2-3 current years.
Readers' Guide Retrospective Restricted Resource openURL
Database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. The complete database covers the years 1890 through 1982. Use to research contemporary writings on general news areas as current events, business, fashion, politics, crafts, education, history, sports, food, science, theater reviews, and film reviews.
Making of America (University of Michigan) Some full text available
Primary sources in American social history from the 19th century: esp. education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Collaborative project with Cornell.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) Some full text available
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals on all subjects in many languages.
Making of America (Cornell) Some full text availableopenURL
Primary sources in American social history from the 19th century; esp. education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Collaborative project with the University of Michigan.

Newspapers

New York Times (1851-2009) Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available
The full-text of the NY Times. Includes all images and advertising.  Search for names, events and concepts and view a summary of an article, a PDF image of the article or the entire page of the newspaper.
Wall Street Journal (1889-1995) Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available
Includes the full text, full image, and advertising. Search for names, events and concepts. See a summary of the article as well as an image of the article or the entire page of the newspaper. Use the Date option at the bottom of the screen to limit your search to particular dates. 
Ithacan (Ithaca College Student Newspaper) Resource contains images Some full text available
Historical issues of the Ithaca College student newspaper (1926-2002). Searchable by word for every article, photograph caption, and advertisement from the newspaper.  Search current issues at The Ithacan Online.

Web Sites

Intute: Arts and Humanities: History
Intute is a service dedicated to discovering, evaluating and cataloguing online resources in the humanities. It includes links to primary and secondary sources. (Formerly Humbul)
MAAP: Mapping the African American Past Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
A site created for the study of significant sites and moments in the history of African Americans in New York City from the early 17th-century through the recent past. Browse locations in New York and read profiles of people and events associated with these locations. The site includes film and music clips; photographs, documents, and maps.
National Museum of African American History and Culture Some full text available
A virtual collection for scholarship and education created in advance of the Smithsonian museum which is slated to open in 2012.

Almanacs & Yearbooks

Facts on File World News Digest Restricted Resource Some full text available
Facts on File World News Digest provides Information on issues, events, and people from 1940 to the present. Features include country profiles, primary documents, key issues, newsmaker profiles, and newspaper editorials. The database incorporates World Almanac and Book of Facts.
Chronology of African-American history : significant events and people from 1619 to the present
Print Location: REF E185 .H64 1991
Chronology contains biographical information on representative African-Amreicans, depictions of significant events, legislation, court decisions, programs, manifestos, and data on social, economic, political and educational milestones.

Atlases

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection Resource contains images
Features historic maps as well as maps that are of current interest (for example, sites of natural disasters, political turmoil, etc.).  Historic maps include digitized maps of U.S. cities, national parks, and monuments.

Rumsey Historical Map Collection Resource contains images
The David Rumsey Historical Map Collection has over 13,600 maps online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North and South America maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia and Africa are also represented.


American Ethnic Geography Resource contains images
County-level choropleth maps which depict ethnic and ancestry groups in the United States, using data from the 2000 Census. The maps are in PDF format and require the Adobe Reader to view.

Audio Files

Presidential Libraries Podcasts Resource contains audio Some full text available
Historical clips from the Presidential Library collections for Presidents Hoover, Roosevelt, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, Bush, and Clinton.  Listen to discussions about  policy issues with  advisors, addresses to the nation, and conversations with friends and family members.   Hear the presidents speak both publicly and privately about issues of their day.

Bibliographies

Serials Directory Restricted Resource openURL
Bibliographic information and current pricing of popular magazines, journals and other periodicals. It contains a listing of over 178,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers. Historical data is included for an additional 20,000 titles. Pertinent information for over 85,000 serial publishers worldwide is available, including in some cases email and web addresses.

Biographical Information

Biography in Context Restricted Resource Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Biographical information on people worldwide throughout history across all disciplines.
American National Biography Restricted Resource Some full text available
Biographical articles that trace a person's life through the sequence of significant events as they occurred from birth to death. Content includes images, contextual or explanatory information, descriptive bibliographies,  hyperlinked cross-references and links to select web sites.

note: LIMITED TO ONE SIMULTANEOUS USER ACCESS

Dictionaries

Oxford Companion to United States history Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers from Jamestown and the Puritans to the Human Genome Project and the Internet—from Columbus to Clinton.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED Online) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Meanings, history and pronunciation for words, present and past; traces the evolution of each word through chronologically arranged quotations.
Oxford Companion to American Military History Restricted Resource Some full text available
Entries range from brief factual pieces to extensive essays and examine every major war from the Revolution to the Persian Gulf. Includes entries on acts of Congress and on diplomatic policies; on peace and antiwar movements; on war in film, literature, music, and photography; and on war viewed through the disciplinary lenses of anthropology, economics, gender studies, and psychology.
American culture after World War II
Print Location: REF E169.12 .A418 1994
Brief entries about people, places, movements and trends in the culture of the United States in the latter part of the 20th century.
Dictionary of United States economic history
Print Location: REF HC102 .O57 1992
Contains more than 1200 concise entries on a broad range of topics relating to economic history of the United States, including individuals, legal information and events.
Historical dictionary of the Gilded Age
Print Location: REF E661 .H59 2003
Brief entries with information about individuals, movements, legal cases, events. Brief bibliographies included with each entry.
Dictionary of Asian American History
Print Location: REF E184.O6 D53 1986
Dictionary of Asian American History: provides information about Asian American and Pacific Americans history.
Dictionary of Contemporary World History (Oxford Reference Online) Restricted Resource
Provides in-depth coverage of the major historical figures and events from 1900 to the present day. Extensive surveys of every country are included with detailed analytical entries covering political and military leaders, political parties, international organizations, and acts of war.
Dictionary of World History Restricted Resource Some full text available
This wide-ranging dictionary includes biographies of key figures in world history, historical summaries for each country, and entries on religious and political movements, international organizations, and key battles and places. From Oxford Reference.

E-books

ebrary Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 70,000 full-text ebooks on business & economics, education, technology, humanities, life & physical sciences, law & politics, medicine, social & behavioral sciences, language & literature, and career guidance. Approximately 300 ebooks are single-user access titles; all other ebooks support multiple-user simultaneous use.
HathiTrust Digital Library Resource contains images Some full text available
A collaborative project of several research-level academic libraries across the United States, HathiTrust is a digital repository for scanned books and other digital materials similar to Google Books.  In some cases, books that are only available in snippet view through Google Books are available in full text at HathiTrust.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century
Print Location: REF E169.1 .E626 2001
Summary of nineteenth century America.
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Twentieth Century
Print Location: REF E740.7 .E53 1996
Summary of 20th century United States history.
Encyclopedia of the New American Nation Restricted Resource Some full text available
A survey of the formative years of the United States, starting just prior to the American Revolution and ending with the inauguration of Andrew Jackson in 1829. Presents 671 alphabetically arranged entries focusing on the major political markers and milestones, as well as the art, music, literature and daily life, of this period.

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Source for general information, short videos and video clips that can be downloaded, World Data Analyst (statistical information on countries), interactive world atlas, Dictionary of Quotations, and Webster's Dictionary & Thesaurus.

Africa and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History : a Multidisciplinary Encyclopedia Restricted Resource Some full text available
An online reference source that explores the influences of Africa and people of African descent on the culture of the Americas and the interconnections between the Americas and Africa.
Encyclopedia of the African Diaspora Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers geography, cultural and political movements, personalities, and theories.  Treats a wide variety of topics, including Europe and the African world, slavery, and griots of West Africa, as well as more contemporary subjects such as hip-hop and the Nation of Islam.

Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History - 2nd edition Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Covers all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day in the U.S. and throughout the Western hemisphere. Articles are signed by experts in the field and are accompanied by a selected bibliography. The appendix contains statistical data and a selection of primary source documents.  Online version is the 2nd edition, c2006.

Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History - 2nd edition
Print Location: http://phoebe.ithaca.edu/vwebv/holdingsInfo?bibId=241877 Resource contains images Some full text available
Africana : the encyclopedia of the African and African American experience
Print Location: REF DT14 .A37435 1999
A concise encyclopedia covering the history of the people of Africa as well as the experiences of African Americans.
Encyclopedia of American Jewish History Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers both religious and secular aspects of American Jewish life. It examines the European background and immigration of American Jews and their impact on the professions and academic disciplines, mass culture and the arts, literature and theater, and labor and radical movements. It explores Zionism, antisemitism, responses to the Holocaust, the branches of Judaism, and Jews' relations with other groups, including Christians, Muslims, and African Americans. The encyclopedia covers the Jewish press and education, Jewish organizations, and Jews' participation in America's wars.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers the significant events, inventions, and social movements in American history that have affected the way Americans view, prepare, and consume food and drink. A collaboration of nearly 200 contributors from academia, industry, and the culinary world, the articles treat regions, people, ingredients, companies, advertising, historical eras, holidays and festivals, and political, scientific, and economic currents pertinent to American cuisine.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History Restricted Resource Some full text available
International in scope and spanning all time periods of human history, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History includes 900 original articles by noted scholars from more than thirty-five countries. Articles range from 500-word entries on inventors, theoreticians, and industry leaders to overarching, 8,000-word essays on markets, industries, and labor.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History Restricted Resource Some full text available
Contains over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles covering topics such as geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia Restricted Resource Some full text available
Images, biographies and info in a variety of subject areas.
Encyclopedia of the North American colonies
Print Location: REF E45 .E53 1993
Substantive essays on cultural, political, financial, social aspects of the colonial period of North America, including European and African immigrants as well as Native Americans. Bibliographies included.
American eras : the revolutionary era, 1754-1783
Print Location: REF E163 .A46 1998
Key information about the revolutionary period.
American eras. Development of a nation, 1783-1815
Print Location: REF E169.1 .A44 1997
Summary of early years of the United States.
American eras : the reform era and eastern U.S. development, 1815-1850
Print Location: REF E165 .A49 1998
Summary of early 19th century United States.
American eras. 1850-1877
Print Location: REF E166 .A48 1997
A summary of the Civil War and Reconstruction.
American eras. Development of the industrial United States, 1878-1899
Print Location: REF E168 .A5118 1997
Information about the United States at the end of the 19th century.
American decades
Print Location: REF E169.12 .A419
A decade by decade analysis of politics, events and culture of the United States in the 20th century.
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
Print Location: REF E169.1 .S764 2000

Substantive essays and brief entries on all aspects of popular culture in the United States during the 20th century. Most include bibliographies. 5 vols.

Encyclopedia of the Confederacy
Print Location: REF E487 .E55 1993
Brief entries and some longer essays; a social, cultural and political overview of the South during the years of the Confederacy's existence. Includes bibliographies.
Jewish-American History and Culture: An Encyclopedia
Print Location: REF E184 .J5 J48 1992
Substantial articles on central themes of Jewish history and culture, with brief entries for personalities and events.

Images

AP Image Collection Restricted Resource Resource contains images Resource contains audio
A database of over 160 years of history as witnessed by The Associated Press. Photos: more than 3.6 million photographs from 1825 to today, with about 3,000 new photos added every day.  Graphics: more than one hundred thousand graphics, including maps, timelines, logos and graphs.  Audio: over 4,500 hours of audio clips from the 1920s forward.  Links to hourly newscasts on the home page under the audio tab.

Note: This database may be used for educational purposes only. Images may not be posted on the Web or otherwise made available electronically to anyone outside the Ithaca College community. These images may not be republished or distributed in newspapers, newsletters, magazines, brochures, catalogs, yearbooks, calendars, posters, or similar materials.
ARTstor Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Database of more than 1,000,000 digital images representing visual and material culture across cultures and time periods. Documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. ARTstor tools enable the ability to save groups of images online for personal and classroom use. IC's Visual Resources Collection (VRC) of over 20,000 images is now available. Look for the Ithaca College-Visual Resouces Collection link in the lower middle section of the page.

NYPL Digital Library Resource contains images
Images digitized from the collections of the New York Public Library, includes illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, and illustrated books. Images may be downloaded 'for a wide range of educational, creative, and research purposes'.  High resolution images may be obtained for personal or commercial if permission is obtained from the NYPL Photographic Services and Permissions division.
American Memory: Photos and Prints
An historical collection of images reflecting the life in the United States
SIRIS Image Gallery (Smithsonian) Resource contains images
The Image Gallery includes over 266,300 electronic images from several archival repositories and museums at the Smithsonian.

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture Some full text available
Includes digitized images from the collections, online exhibits and information about the collections of the Schomburg Center at the New York Public Library.
Harvard University - Social Museum Image Collection Some full text available
Images from Harvard's Social Museum that pertain to the voluntary immigration to the US from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression.
Beinecke Library Digital Images Online Some full text available
Searchable database of ca. 21,000 scanned images from the Beinecke Library's collections at Yale University. Also includes access to the Marinetti Libroni: a searchable database of ca. 23,000 press clippings and images from F.T. Marinetti's scrapbooks on Futurism.
Built in America (Historic American Buildings Survey & Historic American Engineering Record) Some full text available Resource contains images
These collections document America's built environment in multiformat surveys comprising more than 350,000 measured drawings, large-format photographs, and written histories for more than 35,000 historic structures and sites dating from Pre-Columbian times to the twentieth century.

Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture Some full text available
A collection of electronic resources for study and research of the decorative arts, with a particular focus on Early America. Included are electronic texts and facsimiles, image databases, and Web resources.
UCLA Library Digital Collections Resource contains images
Image Collections included: AIDS posters, Architecture & Urban Design, History of Los Angeles, Primary Care Research Projects, Japanese American Relocation, Arabic & Persian Manuscripts, Sheet Music Consortium, Mexican & Mexican-American Musical Recordings
Researcher's Toolbox (Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Division) Resource contains images Some full text available
Website provides information and methods for exploring image history, processes, content, and meaning.  Includes a VIsual Literacy exercise and information on dating photographs based on clothing and portraiture styles.

Primary Sources

American Memory Some full text available
Primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States.
Exploring the Early Americas
Exploring the Early Americas features selections from the more than 3,000 rare maps, documents, paintings, prints, and artifacts that make up the Jay I. Kislak Collection at the Library of Congress. It provides insight into indigenous cultures, the drama of the encounters between Native Americans and European explorers and settlers, and the pivotal changes caused by the meeting of the American and European worlds. The exhibition includes two extraordinary maps by Martin Waldseemüller created in 1507 and 1516, which depict a world enlarged by the presence of the Western Hemisphere.
Ancestry Library Edition Some full text available

Comprehensive resource for genealogical and historical research: Includes records from the United States census; military records; court, land, and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists, and more. Similar information is also available for the United Kingdom, Canada and some European countries. 


note: Not Accessible from Off-Campus
North American Women's Letters and Diaries Restricted Resource Some full text available
Women's diaries and letters, much previously unpublished; incl. biographies and extensive annotated bibliography of sources in the database. From Alexander Street Press.
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries Restricted Resource Some full text available
Diaries, letters and memoirs of previously unpublished manuscripts; also biographies. From Alexander Street Press.
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures and the Environment Restricted Resource Some full text available
Letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters; for ex. one can identify all encounters between the French and the Huron 1650-1700. Also includes prints, drawings, paintings, maps, and photographs. From Alexander Street Press.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories Restricted Resource Some full text available
Letters, diaries, oral histories, interviews & personal narratives providing a unique, personal view of immigration to America and Canada 1800-1950. In selected cases, users can hear the actual audio voices of immigrants. From Alexander Street Press.
New York Historical Society Slavery Collection Resource contains images Some full text available
Portal to nearly 12,000 pages of source materials documenting the history of slavery in the United States, the Atlantic slave trade and the abolitionist movement.
Black Thought and Culture Restricted Resource Some full text available
Non-fiction published works by leading African Americans; also interviews, journal articles, letters and other fugitive material. From Alexander Street Press.
In the First Person Some full text available
Links to collections of oral history in English from around the world. Includes letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies and other personal narratives. From Alexander Street Press.
Making of America (Cornell) Some full text availableopenURL
Primary sources in American social history from the 19th century; esp. education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Collaborative project with the University of Michigan.
Making of America (University of Michigan) Some full text available
Primary sources in American social history from the 19th century: esp. education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Collaborative project with Cornell.
Women working, 1800-1930 Resource contains images Some full text available
Digital versions of books, pamphlets, and consumer trade catalogs; manuscripts, and photographs from Harvard University libraries, archives, and museums. Focuses on women's roles in the U.S. economy between the early 19th century and the Great Depression.
American Memory: Century of Lawmaking Some full text available
Full-text of U.S. Congressional documents and debates from 1774-1875 including the Statutes at Large, American State Papers, U.S. Serial Set, Congressional Globe & Record, House and Senate Journals, and letters and journals from the Continental Congress and Constitutional Convention.
American State Papers, 1789-1838 Some full text available
The legislative and executive documents of Congress during the period 1789 to 1838. The volumes cover foreign relations, Indian affairs, commerce, public lands, and military affairs.
Documenting the American South
A digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to Southern history, literature, and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century.
North American Slave Narratives Some full text available
Books and articles that document the individual and collective story of African Americans struggling for freedom and human rights in the eighteenth, nineteenth, and early twentieth centuries.
American Presidency Project Resource contains audio
A digital archive of the Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States from Hoover to Bush (1929 to present); see also IC Library stacks at: J80 .A283. The site also includes: inaugural addresses, radio addresses, fireside chats, debates, convention speeches, and party platforms.
Avalon Project at Yale Law School Some full text available
Digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government.
World War I Document Archive Resource contains images Some full text available
Archive of primary documents from World War One - includes diaries, treaties, conventions, and images.

Internet History Sourcebooks Some full text available
Primary and secondary full text sources divided into ancient, medieval and modern periods of history.
Annals of America
Print Location: REF E173 .A793
21 volumes of speeches and other primary documents covering the years 1493 to 1986.
Online Books Page Some full text available
25,000 e-texts, search by Title, Author, or Subject; browse by LC Call Number.
Library of American Civilization Resource contains images Some full text available
Online full-text links to scanned Google Books editions for selected titles from the microfiche collection of the Library of American civilization.
Discovering American Women's History Online Resource contains images Some full text available
Links to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States.
Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System
 Database containing basic facts about servicemen who served on both sides during the Civil War. The initial focus of the CWSS is the Names Index Project, a project to enter names and other basic information from 6.3 million soldier records in the National Archives. 

Public Records

Native American Documents Project Resource contains images Some full text available
A collection of narrative reports of the Commissioner of Indian Affairs for 1871, 1872, 1875, and 1876, and three additional reports for 1871. A map of western reservations is also included from an 1875 report.

Statistics/Data

Historical Statistics of the United States Restricted Resource Some full text available
Historical statistics of the United States, colonial times to 1970, Expanded and rev. ed. Quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations.
Historical statistics of the United States
Print Location: REF HA202 .H58
Statistical data about the United States from 1789 to 1970.
U.S. Census Bureau Some full text available
Social, demographic and economic information. Includes the American FactFinder resource. USA Counties is a subdvision that contains over 6,500 data items.
Social Explorer (Public Edition) Some full text available
Website provides access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present, data can be presented in map or report format.

Historical Statistics of Black America
Print Location: REF E185 .H543 1995
Mostly statistics from the twentieth century, with some from the 18th and 19th centuries. Extensive documentation of population trends.
Historical Census Browser Resource contains images Some full text available
Access to summary level demographic, economic, and social data collected by the U.S. Census from 1790 to 1960. Database generates longitudinal tables and maps. Topics covered: population, education, ethnicity, economy, slave population, and place of birth.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Print Location: REF HA202 .U5 Some full text available
Includes links to most volumes back to 1878.

Video

C-SPAN Video Library
A digital archive of C-SPAN's extensive video coverage. The site provides access to 98% of all C-SPAN programs aired since 1987.  Search by speakers, subjects, sponsors, keyword, words spoken or date. The Congressional Chronicle feature is a chronological organization of all speakers and actions on the floor of the U.S. House and Senate. Each speaker's appearance is linked to the remarks as printed in the Congressional Record and to the related video clip. The Flash video player allows for clipping, posting, and mailing of individual speeches.
Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials 1952-2008

From the Museum of the Moving Image, visitors can stream political ads through history. Site includes lesson plans for high school teachers and links to online resources.