All Items by Source
Abstracts to world history 1450-present (excluding North America) in historical and (related) social science literature.
Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
Complete backfiles of core scholarly journals, searchable by journal or discipline. Files do not include the latest 3-5 years. The content is delivered as page images.
Database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. The complete database covers the years 1890 through 1982. Use to research contemporary writings on general news areas as current events, business, fashion, politics, crafts, education, history, sports, food, science, theater reviews, and film reviews.
Current journal and news information in humanities, education, business, science, art, politics, economics, social sciences, law, health care, computers, technology and environmental issues.
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library™ provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,060 titles—over 3,600 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
note: Also includes ProQuest Education, Health Management, Psychology, and Social Science journals, as well as ebrary ebooks.
Multi-disciplinary database which includes a large collection of peer-reviewed journals in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Coverage varies, but begins in the 1990s for most journals.
Full-text scholarly journals in the Humanities, Arts, Social Sciences and Mathematics; Coverage varies by journal but generally only 2-3 current years.
The full-text of the NY Times. Includes all images and advertising. Search for names, events and concepts and view a summary of an article, a PDF image of the article or the entire page of the newspaper.
Includes the full text, full image, and advertising. Search for names, events and concepts. See a summary of the article as well as an image of the article or the entire page of the newspaper. Use the Date option at the bottom of the screen to limit your search to particular dates.
Intute is a service dedicated to discovering, evaluating and cataloguing online resources in the humanities. It includes links to primary and secondary sources. (Formerly Humbul)
Links to medieval information on the web, news about medieval scholarship and a glossary.
Database of names, descriptions, and characteristics of 165,000+ places in the world.
Provides basic history of all countries - includes maps, population, history, politics, economics, education, communications, transportation and military data.
Biographical information on people worldwide throughout history across all disciplines.
This wide-ranging dictionary includes biographies of key figures in world history, historical summaries for each country, and entries on religious and political movements, international organizations, and key battles and places. From Oxford Reference.
This dictionary provides detail on all aspects of the Renaissance in 14th to 17th century Europe. It includes comprehensive coverage of the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period.
Provides in-depth coverage of the major historical figures and events from 1900 to the present day. Extensive surveys of every country are included with detailed analytical entries covering political and military leaders, political parties, international organizations, and acts of war.
Meanings, history and pronunciation for words, present and past; traces the evolution of each word through chronologically arranged quotations.
Covers all aspects of the history of Britain from 55 BC to the present day, provides a wealth of essential information touching all aspects of British history: political, economic, social, military, people, events, and institutions.
Covers people, institutions, and events that have shaped Australian society, politics and culture.
Brief entries on all aspects of the history of Britain from 55 BC to the present day
A comprehensive guide to the significant events, issues, institutions, places, and people that have shaped Canada from earliest times to the present.
An authoritative survey of the Greek and Roman worlds in all their aspects.
Covers key aspects of ancient Greek and Roman life and literature, such as science, social structure, philosophy, and religion, and contains comprehensive articles on central figures, both real and mythological, from Achilles to Zeno.
Provides coverage of the terms used in both human and physical geography across the following fields: cartography, surveying, remote sensing, statistics, meteorology, climatology, biogeography, ecology, simple geology, soils, geomorphology, population, migration, settlement, agriculture, industry, transport, development, and diffusion.
Biographical, geographical and terminilogical brief essays about the Holocaust.
Print Location: REF REF DG545.D53 1985
Encyclopedia-style entries on events, people, places from Italian history 18th-20th century.
Over 70,000 full-text ebooks on business & economics, education, technology, humanities, life & physical sciences, law & politics, medicine, social & behavioral sciences, language & literature, and career guidance. Approximately 300 ebooks are single-user access titles; all other ebooks support multiple-user simultaneous use.
A collaborative project of several research-level academic libraries across the United States, HathiTrust is a digital repository for scanned books and other digital materials similar to Google Books. In some cases, books that are only available in snippet view through Google Books are available in full text at HathiTrust.
Source for general information, short videos and video clips that can be downloaded, World Data Analyst (statistical information on countries), interactive world atlas, Dictionary of Quotations, and Webster's Dictionary & Thesaurus.
Print Location: REF DD157 .M43 2001
Profiles European history from the Bolshevik Revolution to the European Union, with a focus on the period's scientific, social and cultural history as well as the political, military and economic developments.
International in scope and spanning all time periods of human history, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History includes 900 original articles by noted scholars from more than thirty-five countries. Articles range from 500-word entries on inventors, theoreticians, and industry leaders to overarching, 8,000-word essays on markets, industries, and labor.
Contains over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles covering topics such as geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies.
Print Location: REF D117 .N48 1995
Substantive historical essays set in specific eras during the medieval period.
Contains 3,000 articles on all aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century, including art, architecture, religion, law, science, language, philosophy, and theology, as well as cultural, religious, intellectual, social and political history. With a focus on focus on Europe and Christendom, the Encyclopedia also covers the rise of Islam and people of other cultures with whom Europeans came into contact.
Print Location: REF B802 .E53 2003
Comprehensive coverage of topics relevant to French intellectual history in the eighteenth century.
Print Location: REF BR302.8 .O93 1996
Substantial essays on all aspects of the 16th century Reformation movement within christianity.
Print Location: REF DC33.2.M44 1995
Brief entries on French history, culture and literature through the Middle Ages
Print Location: REF DS124 .M386 2003
Substantial articles on the Jewish diaspora across Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa during the Middle Ages.
Print Location: REF DS31 .E53 1988
Substantial coverage of people, places, events, religion, etc. with a concentration on the last 300 years.
Surveys Greek history, culture and civilization with a focus on the politics, customs, beliefs, and everyday life of this civilization from its beginnings 4000 years ago until its eventual conquest by the Romans.
The Encyclopedia covers the predynastic era to its eclipse in the seventh century CE. Information includes art, architecture, religion, language, literature, trade, politics, everyday social life and the culture of the court. Of special interest is the coverage of themes and issues that are particularly controversial—such as the new theories of the origins of complex society in the Nile Valley, new discoveries about Greco-Roman Egypt, and new developments in literature, religion, linguistics and other fields, including the debates about Egypt's African legacy.
Print Location: REF DT29 .E53 2002
Substantive survey essays and brief entries on a wide range of historical topics about 20th century Africa. Bibliographies included.
Covers geography, cultural and political movements, personalities, and theories. Treats a wide variety of topics, including Europe and the African world, slavery, and griots of West Africa, as well as more contemporary subjects such as hip-hop and the Nation of Islam.
Print Location: REF DT351 .E53 1999
This 4-volume Encyclopedia Summarizes all current knowledge of the worlds second largest continent, it includes 896 entries, all written by scholars in the field of African History.
Print Location: REF DT14 .A37435 1999
A concise encyclopedia covering the history of the people of Africa as well as the experiences of African Americans.
An "overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures".
Print Location: REF DS102.8 .E55
Covers the time from the beginning of the Diaspora, around 135 C.E., to the present. "Themes and Phenomena of the Jewish Experience," includes scholarly articles such as "Jews and Judaism in Ancient World Literature" and "The Lost Tribes of Israel." Also provides articles on countries, regions, and communities, with statistics and historical and contemporary overviews.
Images, biographies and info in a variety of subject areas.
Comprehensive source for information on all things Canadian.
These publications include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty. The Background Notes are updated/revised by the Office of Electronic Information and Publications of the Bureau of Public Affairs as they are received from the Department's regional bureaus.
Search 350 years of official government notices from London, Belfast and Edinburgh. Full-text searching and PDF results.
A database of over 160 years of history as witnessed by The Associated Press. Photos: more than 3.6 million photographs from 1825 to today, with about 3,000 new photos added every day. Graphics: more than one hundred thousand graphics, including maps, timelines, logos and graphs. Audio: over 4,500 hours of audio clips from the 1920s forward. Links to hourly newscasts on the home page under the audio tab.
Note: This database may be used for educational purposes only. Images may not be posted on the Web or otherwise made available electronically to anyone outside the Ithaca College community. These images may not be republished or distributed in newspapers, newsletters, magazines, brochures, catalogs, yearbooks, calendars, posters, or similar materials.
Database of more than 1,000,000 digital images representing visual and material culture across cultures and time periods. Documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. ARTstor tools enable the ability to save groups of images online for personal and classroom use. IC's Visual Resources Collection (VRC) of over 20,000 images is now available. Look for the Ithaca College-Visual Resouces Collection link in the lower middle section of the page.
Images digitized from the collections of the New York Public Library, includes illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, and illustrated books. Images may be downloaded 'for a wide range of educational, creative, and research purposes'. High resolution images may be obtained for personal or commercial if permission is obtained from the NYPL Photographic Services and Permissions division.
Links to over 100,000 images and sounds selected from the British Library collections. Resources included: maps, books, topographical drawings, stamps, photographs,newspapers, music and sound clips which illustrate regional accents and dialects, as well as wildlife recordings. Includes the Penny Illustrated Paper (1861-1913).
Diaries and letters of the immediate experiences of British and Irish women across 300+ years. From Alexander Street Press.
Comprehensive resource for genealogical and historical research: Includes records from the United States census; military records; court, land, and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists, and more. Similar information is also available for the United Kingdom, Canada and some European countries.
note: Not Accessible from Off-Campus
Provides links to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. All sources are openly accessible.
A centralized database of links to various medieval manuscripts online. Search across the database or browse around the collection by location, author, title, language, or repository. The database contains links to over 1000 manuscripts and more are being added on a regular basis.
Digitized copies of pamphlets and periodicals from the French Revolution. In French.
A collection of historical manuscripts along with secondary literature describing them—translated into seven different languages. The library includes scanned documents from 27 libraries in 19 countries so far. The project's ultimate goal is to put all of mankind’s most precious artifacts in a single, shared digital repository.
Links to collections of oral history in English from around the world. Includes letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies and other personal narratives. From Alexander Street Press.
Archive of primary documents from World War One - includes diaries, treaties, conventions, and images.
Primary and secondary full text sources divided into ancient, medieval and modern periods of history.