Integrated Marketing Communications

All Items by Source


Journals/Magazines

ABI/INFORM Complete Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Search all three ABI/Inform databases together here or search one at a time below. ABI/INFORM Complete provides current and historic abstracts and many full-text articles from over 2,800 business and management journals, including hundreds of titles from outside the U.S. The database covers finance, management, marketing, operations, accounting, business conditions, sports and business, entertainment, and case studies.
Business Source Premier (Original Interface) Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Business topics: management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, etc. SWOT analysis on selected companies.
note: Also available via Special Business Interface
Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC) Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Communication and media indexes, abstracts and full-text.
Communications & Mass Media Collection Some full text available
From GALE, this is a subject collection derived from the database Academic OneFile. A custom collection of more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field: key subjects covered include advertising and public relations, linguistics, and literature.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
Indexes & abstracts research papers in the social sciences (legal, economics, management, marketing, political, etc.). Contains working / forthcoming papers (not yet available in print). Some are fulltext.
SAGE Open Some full text available
Open access articles in the social and behavioral sciences and humanities from the publisher SAGE.

Newspapers

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text access to continuously updated news, law, and business information. Highlights: News: newswires, transcripts, regional, national/international news, & Gallup Polls; Legal: law review articles, federal case law, and federal/state codes; Business: company profiles, country profiles, and SEC filings; People: directories from the entertainment industry, elected officials, executives, politicians, and obituaries.  Also has a section that includes full-text of several health newsletters and abstracts of articles in major medical journals.

Web Sites

Clio Awards
Site of the advertising award Festival. The Archive Search page indexes the best in global advertising back to 1960. Search the library's catalog for "Clio Awards" as a subject to access fulltext of award winners.
Google AdWords
Online advertising site for Google.
MarcommWise
Site that contains articles, links, book reviews, and other resources on marketing communications.
Self-Regulatory Program for Online Behavioral Advertising
The Digital Advertising Alliance (DAA) created a self-regulatory program for Online Behavioral Advertising (OBA).  The DAA includes: the American Association of Advertising Agencies, the American Advertising Federation, the Association of National Advertisers, the Direct Marketing Association, the Interactive Advertising Bureau, and the Network Advertising Initiative. 
Trendwatching.com Some full text available
TRENDWATCHING.COM and its 3,000+ trendspotters scan the US, Canada, European Union, Japan, South Korea, India, South Africa, Australia, Brazil and 50 other nations & regions for hot, emerging consumer trends and related new business ideas. Free monthly bulletin briefings are archived back to first issue (November 2002). 
Yahoo! Finance : Industry Center - Advertising Agencies
News about the advertising industry via Yahoo. Wide variety of wire services, etc.
Yahoo! Finance - Telecom Services - Domestic
Information, news and statistical links about the Telecom  industry.

Almanacs & Yearbooks

Communication Yearbook
Print Location: P87 .C629 Some full text available
Published by the International Communication Association. Approximately 25 state of the art review essays on research and theory from each of the ICA's divisions and research groups.
Broadcasting & Cable
Print Location: REF DESK TK6540 .B58
Industry overview, news items and a directory of radio, TV, and cable operations. Give markets by DMA, city/state and stations by call letter, etc.
Plunkett's advertising & branding industry almanac, 2009 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Industry reports on the advertising and branding industry. Only one person at a time can view this e-book.
Plunkett's Entertainment & Media Industry Almanac 2010 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Industry reports on the entertainment and media industry. Only one person at a time can view this e-book.

Biographical Information

Biography in Context Restricted Resource Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Biographical information on people worldwide throughout history across all disciplines.

Blogs

Brian Solis
Blog analyzing the effects of social media and technology on marketing, entertainment and culture.  
Communication & Legal Studies: Keep me Posted @ IC Library
Blog of legal, communication, and library news in service to the programs in the Park School of Communications and Legal Studies.
Great Design
"A blog about design and how it can improve the world" created by Prof. Ari Kissiloff (Ithaca College) and Xanthe Matychak (R.I.T.).
Jaffe Juice
Marketing, ad, creativity blog by Jaffe & co.
Seth Godin\'s Blog
Blog by marketing guru Seth Godin.
TV By the Numbers
Blog by Bill Gorman and Robert Seidman that collects and explores TV ratings data.

Colleges & Universities

Knowledge@Wharton
An online business journal from the Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania.   Covers the following topics: Finance and Investment, Leadership and Change, Executive Education, Marketing, Insurance and Pensions, Health Economics, Strategic Management, Real Estate, Law and Public Policy, Human Resources, Business Ethics, Innovation and Entrepreneurship, Operations Management, and Managing Technology.  Visitors can subscribe to updates.

Companies

Advertising.com
"Advertising.com is the technology, data and insights arm of AOL Advertising."  The platform AdLearn helps advertising agencies cnetrally manage their campaigns.
Arbitron

Market research firm that collects data on the radio industry and other media outlets.

The Advertising Association / Warc
UK companies that provides the database called Expenditure Report. The report covers advertising expenditure data going back to 1982 in addition to 2 years of projections. IC Library does not subscribe but some data is mentioned in the press release
BIA Kelsey
Company specializing in supplying local media data to clients.
General Sentiment
Analyzes consumer sentiment on the internet and though social media outlets.  Products and services include: Media Measurement Dashboard, Custom Reporting, Syndicated Reporting, and API.
Q Scores
This company measures the consumer appeal of personalities, products, characters, licensed properties, programs and brands.   The Q Score is a "measure of likeability" that predicts consumer involvement. Data is sold to advertisement and PR firms amongst others.
comScore
Market research company that measures consumer behavior online for a variety of industries.
Constant Contact
Company that facilitates online marketing.
eMarketer
Online market research that reports on trends in key industries: banking, broadband, consumer products, e-commerce, media &entertainment, information technology, international, internet demographics, internet usage, media & content, pharmaceuticals & health care, retail, telecommunications, travel, wireless, etc. Partial fulltext. Visitors can sign up for free newsletters.
Edison Media Research
Marketing research for broadcasters including television, radio, and the Associated Press.
Forrester
Market research company
Informa Telecoms & Media
Business that collects and sells strategic information for the telecom industry.
Insight Research Corporation
Market research for the telecom industry.
Kantar Media
Company that provides strategic advertising intelligence.
NextMark
Buy, sell, and learn about mailing lists. Includes a Directory of Providers.
Nielsen
Measures audiences for television and other media markets. Claritas SiteReports provides U.S. demographic data.
Rentrak
A multi-screen media measurement company.
Research and Markets: Market research reports
Company, based in Ireland, that sells international market research reports on a variety of specific topics.
Scarborough Research
Measures consumer trends for media markets.
TVtracker.com
Company that researches competitive television development and programming.  Some information is members only but there is a "Free Area".
VMS
Integrated Media Intelligence company that monitors media for public relations, marketing, and advertising.

Consumer Information

Charity Navigator Some full text available

An independent charity evaluator. Provides evaluative information about the financial health of over 5,300 of America's largest charities.

Consumer Reports Restricted Resource
The current issue is available from 01/01/1988 to present via LexisNexis (no images or graphs).The current year is available in paper in the library.   Other databases have access but may have an embargo (they may lack access to current issues in fulltext).
GuideStar.org Some full text available
Searchable database of the programs and finances of more than 1.7 million IRS-recognized nonprofits and over 3.3 million people who work in the nonprofit sector.  Source for 990 forms; nonprofits are required to file a 990 revenue statement with the IRS.  Use GuideStar to screen for nonprofits.

Dictionaries

Dictionary of mass communication & media research : a guide for students, scholars and professionals
Print Location: REF P87.5 .D449 2005
Covers over 1,400 terms in United States mass media history. Includes legal terms, companies, theories, new media topics, etc.
Dictionary of the Social Sciences Restricted Resource Some full text available
The over 1,800 entries in this dictionary contains definitions and biographies of major figures. Entries span from classic to modern theories and include major issues and methodologies.

Directories

Bacon's Internet Media Directory
Print Location: REF P91.28 .B33
Comprehensive list of web sites providing media news and editorial content.
Standard directory of advertising agencies
Print Location: REF HF5805 .S72
Directory of advertising agencies and their clients. Commonly known as "The Red Book".
Standard directory of advertisers
Print Location: REF HF5805 .S7
Useful in determining what agency or agencies represent a particular company or product(s). Searchable by S.I.C. code, etc.
Business Insights: Essentials Restricted Resource Some full text available
Company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, market research reports, SWOT reports, market share information, company histories, chronologies, journal articles, and interactive charts.  Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.
SRDS Media Solutions Restricted Resource Some full text available
Access to publications with information about advertising rates and deadlines, editorial or programming content, circulation, links to online media kits, Web sites, audit statements, and other basic information for a variety of advertising media: radio, business magazines, consumer magazines, direct mailings, out-of-home (billboards, airports, etc.) and interactive (Internet). This source is designed for the media buyer, but also is helpful for identifying target audiences.  The Digital Media listings contain website metrics by Compete, Doubleclick Ad Planner (Google) and Nielsen NetView when available.
Television & cable factbook
Print Location: REF TK6540 .T463
Lists cable and television stations by geographic area. Shows coverage area maps, DMA information including # of households with cable and television. Programming offered by cable companies, etc. 4 volumes. Library retains current edition only.

E-books

Advertising and public relations law Restricted Resource
New York : Routledge, 2011.
ebrary Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 70,000 full-text ebooks on business & economics, education, technology, humanities, life & physical sciences, law & politics, medicine, social & behavioral sciences, language & literature, and career guidance. Approximately 300 ebooks are single-user access titles; all other ebooks support multiple-user simultaneous use.

Encyclopedias

Advertising age encyclopedia of advertising
Print Location: REF HF5803 .A38 2003
This 3 volume set covers major advertising campaigns and advertising agencies.
Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications Restricted Resource
Scholarly overview of international media topics. Covers all media types (advertising, books, Internet, etc.) & media outlets (radio, television, etc.). Provides history, theory, and topical issues such as ethics, reporting of disasters, and copyright.
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns
Print Location: REF HF5837.E53 2000
History of various advertising campaigns of the 20th century.

Government Information

Advertising Standards Authority (ASA) (United Kingdom)
Advertising industry group that police the rules of the advertising codes of the UK.
Division of Drug Marketing, Advertising and Communications (DDMAC)
Food and Drug Administration Center that reviews drug marketing and advertising for accuracy. Includes the "Truthful Perscription Drug Advertising Promotion" page known as Bad Ad.
Federal Trade Commission : Rules

Links to 16 CFR from the Federal Trade Commission. Includes advertising and labeling regulations.

Self-Regulation in the Alcohol Industry Some full text available

From the FTC.gov: Self-regulation in the Alcohol Industry: A Review of Industry Efforts to avoid Promoting Alcohol to Underage Consumers. September 1999.

TTB.gov

Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau, U.S. Dept. of the Treasury. Includes links to relevant CFR regulations (generally found in 27 CFR).

Handbooks & Guides

American National Standards Institute (ANSI)
United States institute that creates and promulagetes guidelines for businesses in a variety of sectors.
Handbook of research on digital media and advertising : user generated content consumption Restricted Resource
Hershey, PA : Information Science Reference, c2011. Single user only.
The handbook of communication ethics
Print Location: P94 .H353 2011
 Cheney, May & Munshi. New York: Routledge, 2011.
Handbook of strategic public relations & integrated communications
Print Location: HM263 .H317 2012
2nd ed. Covers different industries that use PR and integrated marketing communications.
Research and Documentation Online
Diana Hacker and Barbara Fister's guide to researching and citing.  Examples for citing are availabe as well as sample papers (showing page formatting and bibliographies) are available for MLA, APA, Chicago and CSE. 
IABC handbook of organizational communication : a guide to internal communication, public relations, marketing, and leadership
Print Location: HD49 .H35 2010
Jossey-Bass, 2011.
Code of Responsible Practices for Beverage Alcohol Advertising and Marketing Some full text available
Guidelines for alcohol advertising on the Distilled Spirits Council of the United States (DISCUS).
International Organization for Standardization (ISO)
International developer and publisher of international standards. 
Internet Intelligence Index by Fuld & Company
Fuld & Company is a consulting firm that specializes in competitive intelligence. They developed this useful portal to business and industry resources.
SAGE Handbook of Media Studies
Print Location: REF P90 .S18 2004
Covers articles on theory and evidence in the field of media studies. Pt I. Prolegomena; Pt. II. Audiences, Users, and Effects; Pt. III. Economy and Power; Pt. IV. Specific Areas of Media Research
Social Media Marketing Examples
This wiki includes: company name, SMM Example, Type of Social Media, Industry, Country, & contributor.

Images

Ad*Access Some full text available
From Duke University Library's J.W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising, and Marketing History, this database contains 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. & Canadian newspapers and magazines from 1911-1955. Main subject areas include: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II. Ads can be searched or browsed.
Advertising Icon Museum Some full text available
Search the toy icons of the online version of the museum to find out some of the history of the images including: Mr. Peanut, Tony the Tiger, and the Energizer Bunny.
All-American Ads
Print Location: NC988.5 .A1
Book series that compiles ads across decades.
American Memory: Advertising
From the Library of Congress's American Memory project, this site includes 6 collections: Duke University's Emergence of Advertising in America (E.A.A.) (1850-1920); Broadsides and Printed Ephemera (1600-2000); Coca-Cola Advertising (1951-1999); Coolidge Era (1924-1929); Edison Companies; and Posters, WPA (1936-1943). Collections contain images and streaming video.
Trademarkia Resource contains images
Non-governmental free search engine for finding United States federally registered trademarks. 

Newswires

News Services via Yahoo
Links to news services from around the world.

Organizations

Ad Council
Contains public service announcements on social issues. The website divides the campaigns into Community, Education and Health Safety issues. Video and audio files are available; they require a Windows Media Player plugin.
Adbusters
From the Adbusters Media Foundation, this is the online companion to the activist magazine that mocks commercial advertising and offers media criticism through edgy articles and images.
Advertising Educational Foundation (AEF)
Educational arm of the advertising industry. the On campus page includes case histories, educational materials, speaker presentations, etc.  Here is the Ad Council Retrospective page.
Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC)
AEJMC sets standards for excellence in journalism and mass communication education and research.
American Advertising Federation (AAF)
Organization that supports the profession through news, education, events, and advocacy. Includes over 200 student chapters. To celebrate excellence, AAF has an Advertising Hall of Fame and gives the ADDY award s amongst other prizes and showcases.
American Association of Advertising Agencies (AAAA)
Trade association representing the advertising agency business since 1917. Site includes: news, government affairs, member only resources and programs, events, and publications.
Association of National Advertisers (ANA)
Association that advocates for the marketing community.
Cabletelevision Advertising Bureau (CAB) Some full text available
Cable network profiles, schedules, and other information. Weekly ratings reports provide a summary of the past week's primetime and total day ratings audience data across various viewing sources.
Campaign for a Commercial-Free Childhood (CCFC)
A coalition of health care professionals, educators and parents who advocate against children's' exposure to commercialism through marketing. There are almost 30 member organizations.
Center for Digital Democracy
Advocates for the public regarding the emerging digital communications landscape.
Center on Alcohol Marketing and Youth (CAMY) Some full text available
Part of the John Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, CAMY. "monitors the marketing practices of the alcohol industry to focus attention and action on industry practices that jeopardize the health and safety of America's youth."
Children's Advertising Review Unit (CARU)
A unit of the Council of Better Business Bureaus, Inc. that offers guidelines for advertising messages to young children.
Council for Research Excellence (CRE)
Examines the knowledge and practice of audience research method for advertisers, agencies, and other media professionals.  The Council includes Nielsen Media Research and its clients.  Documentation is available under the Committees tab.
Direct Marketing Association (DMA)
Organization of marketing professionals that provides education, advocacy and networking opportunities to its members. DMA also publishes reports based on proprietary research.
European Advertising Standards Alliance (EASA)
Organization that provides information on advertising self-regulation in Europe.
European Interactive Advertising Association (EIAA)
Trade association for European media markets. Users can sign up for a monthly newsletter.
IDEAlliance
The International Digital Enterprise Alliance is a non-profit organization that creates standards and best practices for the delivery of multimedia content.
Interactive Advertising Bureau (iab)
Comprised of more than 460 media & tech companies that sell online advertising, the IAB is a trade group that promotes the growth interative advertising.  They develop standards and lobby for the industry in Washington, D.C. See the IAB's Member Code of Conduct.
Interactive Television Research Institute (ITRI)
Educational Institute at Murdoch University, Australia, that teams academics with renowned commercial sponsors to produce reports, news, and study opportunities.
International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (IADAS)
Founded in 1998 to drive creativity on the Internet. The organization is diverse including industry leaders in online advertising, film, television, games, and mobile. The Webby Awards honor top websites in numerous industry and media categories every year.
Marin Institute
Organization that monitors the alcohol industry. Includes free reports under the Resources tab.
Media Rating Council (MRC)

Organization that audits and accredits media ratings companies.

Online Publishers Association
Trade association, "dedicated to representing high-quality online content providers before the advertising community, the press, the government and the public."
Outdoor Advertising Association of America, Inc. (OAAA)
Organization that supports the outdoor advertising industry. Includes marketing resources and research such as the Arbitron Outdoor Study.
Paley Center for Media
With Museums in both Los Angeles and New York City, the Paley Center for Media preserves and promotes radio, television and advertising history through events, screenings, lectures, and workshops. They collect programming, not artifacts. Formerly known as The Museum of Television & Radio. Paley Center on YouTube.

PromaxBDA
International association for entertainment marketing professionals.  Promax, an organization of marketers working in broadcasting, combined with the Broadcast Design Association (BDA) in 1997.  They provide conferences and events to members.
Radio Advertising Bureau
Provides education, research and advocacy for the radio industry. It is the sales and marketing arm of the radio industry.
Telecommunications Industry Association (TIA)
Trade association supporting the information and communications technology (ICT) industries. Their site provides information in these key areas:  Technology and Standards, Government Affairs, Research & Resources, news, etc.  There is even an Glossary of Telecommunication Terms.

Primary Sources

NARC Online Archives
Case reports of the National Advertising Division (NAD), Children's Advertising Review Unit (CARU), National Advertising Review Board (NARB), and the Electronic Retailing Self-Regulation Program (ERSP).  NOTE: See the reference desk; A reference librarian will sign you in to access the fulltext of the cases.

Public Records

EDGAR Database (Securities and Exchange Commission) Some full text available
Official SEC (Securities and Exchange Commission) documents such as Form 10-K, 10-Q, Proxy statements, registration statements, and merger and acquisition documents.

*Be sure to look at the DEF14A (Proxy) statements and the Management Discussion and Analysis sections of Form 10-k, Form 10-Q for insights into management.

SEC Info Some full text available
Securities Information from the SEC EDGAR database. Search by Name, Industry, Business, SIC Code, Area Code,Topic, CIK, Accession Number, File Number, Date, ZIP. You may have to join but membership is free.

Publishing

Center for Journal Ranking (CJR)
Provides journal rankings by category or journal title. Registered users are provided full access.
Eigenfactor.org
Eigenfactor.org ranks the influence of journals - journals are considered to be influential if they are cited often by other influential journals. Used by the academic community to assess the value of research.
Google Scholar Some full text available
A search engine that searches the Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. Supports cited reference searching. Includes recent or unpublished work that hasn't yet been indexed in other databases.  Each Google search citation will include a link to the full-text resource provided by the IC Library, when available.  

Statistics/Data

American FactFinder Some full text available
Current population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the US Census Bureau.  Includes the Annual Survey of Manufactures, Economic Census, Current Population Estimates, Business Patterns, and American Community Surveys.
Audit Bureau of Circulations
Organization that audits circulation statistics and generates reports to assist advertisers and publishers with media sales. Current reports require membership; see the "Free Reports" in the index to the right.
Sports Marketing Restricted Resource
Annual market research report available from Richard Miller & Associates available through SPORTDiscus.  Includes some  television viewing statistics.
Alexa: the web information company
Alexa provides data such as rankings on websites.  Users can insert a URL and click "Lookup Sites" to view data.  The "Top Sites" tab has three viewing tabs: Global, By Country, and By Category.
Center for Media Research
A MediaPost Communications service for market planners and advertisers. The site alerts professionals of current research by a variety of agencies. Users can sign up for alerts.
compete
Compete (Kantar Media) "helps the worlds top brands improve their marketing based on the online behavior of millions of consumers." Demographic data from this service is also included in SRDS Consumer Media.
Competitrack
A full service advertising tracking firm.  Copetitrack's services are avaialbe to advertisers, ad agencies and related companies only.
Cornell Program on Applied Demographics (PAD)
PAD works with the New York Statistical Information System (NYsis), Regional Economic Development, and Consumer Demographics and Market Strategies (CDMS).   Contact information can be found here. Cornell is home to a U.S. Census Research Data Center (RDC).  It is located at the Cornell Institute for Social and Economic Research (CISER).
CPANDA (Cultural Policy & the Arts National Data Archive) Some full text available
Archives data on arts, media, and cultural policy.
Demographics USA
Print Location: REF HF5415.1 .D462 2008
2008 ed. Zip Edition and County Edition provide key demographic information for marketing.
Doubleclick ad planner
A Google ad planning feature that assists market researchers define audience and build media plans.  Demographic data are also included in SRDS Consumer Media.
Editor & Publisher Market Guide
Print Location: REF DESK HF5905 .E38
Provides a wide variety of information on newspaper markets including retail sales, population breakdowns, income, retail stores, newspapers published and subscription information, etc.
Fast Food FACTS
Yale University health researchers (Rudd Center for Food Policy & Obesity)  developed this site of facts on advertising food to youth for consumers and researchers.
IceRocket: top blog posts
Blog search that lists Top Blog Posts and includes a Trend Tool.
Klout
Measures influence on topics across the social web.
MarketingCharts
Charts and data for marketers in web and Excel format from Watershed Publishing.
MediaBuyerPlanner
News and data for television, print, radio, direct, interactive, and outdoor advertising from Watershed Publishing.
Media Research Hub
This project of the Social Science Research Council contains links to data, grants, events, people and news in the field of media research (media ownership, radio, television, localism, FCC, etc.). Data sets are free of charge. Users can create an account and receive alerts.
Microsoft adCenter Labs
Digital advertising technology from Microsoft.
MRI+ (MediaMark Reporter) Some full text available
A tool for market research, with information on demographics, product and brand usage. Provides summary tables of key audience and product data from a national sample of adults (18 years an older). To use this database you must create an account using your valid IC email address and create a password. Validate your account through the e-mail they send you. After you login select MediaMark Reporter at the bottom of the page.
note: Registration is required. Use your IC Netpass & create a password, then validate your account through the e-mail you receive.
NationMaster
A central data source and handy way to graphically compare nations. NationMaster is a compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD.  Use the search form to generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics.
Nielsen TV Ratings from Zap2IT Some full text available
Ratings for various cable, syndicated, and sports programs on television. Data can be viewed weekly or by season and sorted by total households or total viewers.
OECD Internet Economy Outlook
OECD Publishing, Forthcoming (9/12).
Polling the Nations Restricted Resource Some full text available
A compilation of public opinion surveys, containing the full text of questions and responses from 14,000 surveys from 1986 to the present in the United States and more than 80 other countries. Each record includes the polling organization responsible for the poll, the sample size and the date the poll was released.
note: Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of current market research and industry news covering all facets of the sports industry: sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, sports sponsorship, sports market information, and sports sponsorship. SBRnet also has buyTRACK, by Harris Interactive, a tracking study of sporting goods purchasing habits on the Internet.
Statemaster.com Some full text available
Compilation of data from several sources. Users can generate maps and graphs on all kinds of state statistics and comparisons.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Print Location: REF HA202 .U5 Some full text available
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. The final edition from the US Census is the 2012 edition.  The 2013 edition forward are availbe at the IC reference desk in print.
Technorati
Leading search engine for blogs and social media content.  Publishes the State of the Blogosphere report that analyzes trends in blogging.
Television Bureau of Advertising (TVB) Some full text available
Non-for-profit organization that promotes local television stations to advertisers.
TV Dimensions
Print Location: REF HE 8700.8 .T917
Covers a wide variety of topics having to do with television viewership and programming including advertising, revenue, trends in viewing, etc. Published annually. Library retains 3 years in Reference.
U.S. Census Bureau Some full text available
Social, demographic and economic information. Includes the American FactFinder resource. USA Counties is a subdvision that contains over 6,500 data items.
What the Trend
Ranks Twitter trends.

Video

AdSlogans
AdSlogan.com, a UK company, posted materials for students and educators such as SloganMaker, Sloganalysis, Brand Categories, & the Advertising Slogan Hall of Fame (the best ads of the past 100 years). TV ads can be viewed in full. Note: this page is no longer updated as of 2006 but is still useful
Advertisement Avenue
Access commercials from the Super Bowl, by company, product, category, or celebrity with this portal. Not comprehensive, but a serviceable sampling.
Advertising Age
A.k.a. "Ad Age", this online portal to the magazine contains a DataCenter, blogs, links to TV Spots, video, etc. Current year in paper is available in Pop Periodicals HF5801 .A276; microfiche available from 1966-2003 at the same call number. For fulltext online access to the magazine search "Find Journals by Title" from the library's homepage.
AdViews Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 1,500 historic TV commercials from the Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History in the Duke University Special Collections Library.  As of fall 2009, the majority of advertisements are from the 50s and 80s.    Requires iTunes software.
Blinkx Some full text available
Video search engine.
Bloomberg Businessweek Videos Resource contains video
Interviews with business leaders about technology, investment, management, etc.  Users can create a playlist.  Videos can be browsed or searched.
Creativity: Adcritic
Online site for Creativity magazine contains Adcritic picks for TV, print & interactive advertising.
FORA.tv
Streaming video of lectures in politics, business, technology, the world, and culture, from academics, think tanks, authors, politicians, etc.  Some videos are free and some are pay-per-view.
Museum of Broadcast Communications (MBC): Archives Resource contains video
Located in Chicago, the MBC provides publications, events, a searchable archive, and a Radio Hall of Fame to preserve and protect the history of radio and television. MBC's archives includes television and radio programming, commercials and images.  Users must register for a free account.  Check the Digital File Available box to retrieve fulltext.
Prendismo Video Clip Collection Resource contains video
The Prendismo Collection has 15,000 video clips from 750 experts on 200 business topics. These 2-minute video clips cover topics such as ethics, finance, innovation, sales, strategy, and leadership. The content can be used for instruction in classrooms or organizations. This resource is provided by the Ithaca College School of Business.  There is no off-campus access. There is a fee to download a clip.

Contact Us

Picture: Cathy Michael
Communications Librarian
(607) 274-1293

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Help Guides

Research Brief

Loading ...

Related Guides

ComLaw News

Loading ...

Online Journals

Videos

SELECT LIBRARY VIDEOS
Integrated Marketing Communications

ADVENTURES OF SUPERMAN &SEINFELD
AmEx card ad series