Immigration: Constitutional Issues
About this Guide
On this page are resources available in or through the Ithaca College Library that should help you explore and research the topic of immigration, especially as it is related to Constitutional issues.
Table of Contents
Books and Videos by Subject
Click on a subject heading to find books and videos in the Ithaca College library catalog.
- Immigrants--Civil rights--United States.
- Citizenship--United States.
- Constitutional law
- Emigration and immigration law--United States.
- Illegal aliens--Government policy--United States.
- United States--Boundaries.
- United States--Emigration and immigration--Government policy.
Find scholarly articles and news
Use the following library databases to find articles in periodicals, newspapers and scholarly journals
- EBSCO databases: you can combine a number of EBSCO databases together:
Academic Search Premier , Alternative Press Index , America: History and Life , and SocINDEX with Full Text . Click on "Choose databases" above the search box and check the ones you want.
Here is a sample search: SU immigration AND SU constitution (SU=subject; all results will have immigration AND constitution in the article's subject fields)
- LexisNexis Academic Search LexisNexis for news or legal information (casescodes, law review artices).
- ProQuest Social Science Journals This is a basic database indexing an array of ariticles in the social sciences.
- Ethnic Newswatch
Ethnic Newswatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Contents include African American, Arab and Middle Eastern, Asian American, European, Jewish, and Native American publications, including the Spanish-language press.
- Alternative Press Index
Index to articles in alternative news sources. Use to research topics that may not be well covered in the mainstream press; 1991 to current.
- PolicyArchive Indexes reports from a variety of think tanks.
These are a few titles on U.S. immigration policy that are available through ebrary .
- Carens, J. H. (2010). Immigrants and the Right to Stay. Boston review book. Cambridge, Mass: MIT Press.
- (2010). Managing Ethnic Diversity After 9/11 Integration, Security, and Civil Liberties in Transatlantic Perspective. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press.
- Ettinger, P. W. (2009). Imaginary Lines Border Enforcement and the Origins of Undocumented Immigration, 1882-1930 (1st ed.). Austin: University of Texas Press.
- Kirkegaard, J. F. (2007). The Accelerating Decline in America’s High-Skilled Workforce Implications for Immigration Policy. Policy analyses in international economics. Washington, DC: Peterson Institute for International Economics.
- West, D. M., Brookings Institution (2010). Brain Gain Rethinking U.S. Immigration Policy. Washington, D.C: Brookings Institution Press.
Government: Primary and Secondary
For primary resources, use FDsys and Thomas Legislative Information (Library of Congress):
- The Constitution (FDsys, 2002 edition), the Fourteenth Amendment (see the supplements for updates)
- United States Code (FDsys) Browse Title 8: Aliens and Nationality
- Code of Federal Regulations (FDsys) Browse Title 8: Aliens and Nationality
- Homeland Security: Citizenship and Immigration Services. Here is the page that links to key laws and regulations including the Immigration and Nationality Act
- THOMAS (Library of Congress) Search "immigration" to find proposed bills.
- United States House of Representatives: Immigration Subcommittee
- United States Senate: Committee on the Judiciary: Subcommittee on Immigration, Refugees and Border Security
- OpenCRS: Congressional Research Reports for the People
- CQ Researcher: Issue Tracker: Reports on Immigration and Naturalization
- CQ Weekly Articles on Immigration
- CQ Press Public Affairs Collection Select articles on Immigration and Naturalization
- Pew Research Center Reports on Immigration
- National Immigration Forum Organization that advocates for the value of immigrants to the United States.
- Center for Immigration Studies Research Center that provides research about immigration to citizens, scholars and the media.
- ACLU's Immigrants' Rights. According to the ACLU's page, "The Consititution guarantees the fundamental rights and civil liberties of every person in this country. Upholding the rights of the politically disenfranchised is vital; when the government has the power to deny legal rights and due process to one group of people, it puts all our rights in danger."
- National Conference of State Legislatures The Issues & Research tab includes: State Laws related to Immigration and Immigrants and Arizona and Immigration Law Enforcement
- PolicyArchive is a digital archive of global, non-partisan public policy research that includes either summaries or full text of reports and briefs from think tanks, universities, government agencies, and foundations. It also includes videos and other multimedia material.
See also: DNC platform, RNC platform
- Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is a clearinghouse of research documents designed for researchers to communicate directly with other users concerning their own and other's research. Some materials are free, others cost a fee.
Select citations from Social Science Research Network (SSRN):
Charles, Patrick J., Recentering Foreign Affairs Preemption in Arizona v. United States: Federal Plenary Power, the Spheres of Government, and the Constitutionality of S.B. 1070 (January 9, 2012). Cleveland State Law Review, Vol. 60, No. 1, 2012. Available at SSRN: http://ssrn.com/abstract=1981845
Harris, David A., Immigration and National Security: The Illusion of Safety Through Local Law Enforcement Action (December 6, 2011). Arizona Journal of International and Comparative Law, Vol. 28, 2011; University of Pittsburgh Legal Studies Research Paper No. 2011-27. Available at SSRN: http://ssrn.com/abstract=1969133
Fallone, Edward, Charters, Compacts and Tea Parties: The Decline and Resurrection of a Delegation View of the Constitution (April 2, 2010). Wake Forest Law Review, Vol. 45, 2010; Marquette Law School Legal Studies Paper No. 10-18. Available at SSRN: http://ssrn.com/abstract=1583501
Pfander, James E. and Wardon, Theresa, Reclaiming the Immigration Constitution of the Early Republic (May 3, 2010). Virginia Law Review, Vol. 96, No. 1, 2010; Northwestern Public Law Research Paper No. 10-13. Available at SSRN: http://ssrn.com/abstract=1600412
Romero, Victor C., Alienated: Immigrant Rights, the Constitution, and Equality in America. New York University Press Critical America Series, NYU Press. Available at SSRN: http://ssrn.com/abstract=635481
Wadhia, Shoba Sivaprasad, Business as Usual: Immigration and the National Security Exception. Penn State Law Review, Vol. 114, No. 4, p. 1485, 2010; Pennsylvania State University Legal Studies Research Paper No. 28-2010. Available at SSRN: http://ssrn.com/abstract=1658073
Wishnie, Michael J., Proportionality: The Struggle for Balance in U.S. Immigration Policy (December 11, 2010). University of Pittsburgh Law Review, Vol. 72, 2011. Available at SSRN: http://ssrn.com/abstract=1723893
Docuticker: Immigration Feed