Immigration, Foreign and Domestic Policies
Immigration, Foreign and Domestic Policy
Recently, the film Harvest of Empire was recently shown on campus. The movie was based on the book Harvest of Empire by progressive journalist Juan González, who appears on campus Monday, February 25, 2013. Both film and book are available in the Ithaca College Library. One point that Gonzalez focuses on is the explicit link between U.S. foreign policy toward Latin America and patterns of immigration. On this website, we hope to provide resources that might help you explore the specific contexts of different Latin American countries and the particular U.S. political, military, and economic policies influenced immigration to the United States. Latin American literature is also rich in material that addresses this issue as well. In addition to resources that can be accessed through the Ithaca College Library, we list a few websites with different focuses toward foreign policy and immigration.
(photo: Women of the Agrupación de Familiares Desaparecidos demonstrate outside the government palace during the military regime of Pinochet (text and image from Wikimedia Commons )
Table of Contents
Magazines, Scholarly Articles, and News
- Ethnic Newswatch
Ethnic Newswatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Contents include African American, Arab and Middle Eastern, Asian American, European, Jewish, and Native American publications, including the Spanish-language press.
- LexisNexis Academic Search LexisNexis for news or legal information (casescodes, law review artices).
- Alternative Press Index
Index to articles in alternative news sources. Use to research topics that may not be well covered in the mainstream press; 1991 to current. Here is a search for Juan Gonzalez.
- Democracy Now! : Immigration
- AlterNet: Immigration Stories by Juan Gonzales
- PolicyArchive Indexes reports from a variety of think tanks.
- CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
A resource for theory and research in international affairs and global studies. Not simply a periodical database, CIAO includes working papers, policy briefs, conference proceedings, books, and case studies. It even has videos.
- War and Terrorism Collection
A definitive collection for students of history, social science and current events. Researchers will gain valuable insight to conflicts and their cause as well as their impact and how they are perceived on a global scale.
- Military and Government Collection
Current news pertaining to all branches of the military: full-text journals, periodicals and pamphlets; indexing/abstracts for additional titles.
- CQ Weekly
Weekly info on Congress: reports on upcoming issues, wrap up of news, status of bills, behind-the-scenes action, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes.
- National Journal (1 day embargo)
- Federal News Service
LexisNexis file containing: White House briefings and Presidential statements. Includes some Congressional hearings, National Press Club Speeches and conferences when they address major topics of current interest.
- ProQuest Social Science Journals
ProQuest Social Science Journals include full-text periodicals covering the social sciences, including addiction studies, urban studies, family studies, international relations and much more. This is a basic database indexing an array of ariticles in the social sciences.
- Academic Search Premier
Multi-disciplinary database which includes a large collection of peer-reviewed journals in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Coverage varies, but begins in the 1990s for most journals.
- ABI/INFORM Global
ABI/INFORM Global™ offers the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels. With ABI/INFORM Global, users can find out about business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape.
- Immigrant Archive Project
Established by the Latino Broadcasting Company (LBC), Immigrants from all nations can record their stories and post them to this site so they can be shared.
- FDsys (GPO's Federal Digital System)
The Government Printing Office's (GPO) Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides public access to government information submitted by Congress and Federal agencies. Search or browse for documents and publications. Use the Advance Search form to search by date or specific publication title (Congressional Record, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, Bills, Hearings, the United States Code, etc.). Fulltext primary source documents are available in both PDF (downloadable) and XML formats.
- CIA declassified documents Previously secret documents now publically available -- many related to countries and foreign relations
- Congressional Research Service [CRS] Reports, related to national security, foreign policy and related topics, and available through the Federation of American Scientists without CRS authorization.
Example: Brief History of Comprehensive Immigration Reform Efforts in the 109th and 110th Congresses to Inform Policy Discusssion in the 113th Congress by Ruth Ellen Wasem, 2/27/13. (pdf from www.fas.org).
- National Security Archive (at George Washington University)
Declassified documents pertaining to national security obtained by FOIA requests. Contains collections such as the Torture Archive (primary sources related to the detention and interrogation of individuals by the United States).
- Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) 1861-1960
Digital facsimile of these government documents. Covers 1861-1960 with some gaps. Also available in print and microfiche at JX233.A3rn
- Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) 1961-1975
Digital facsimile of these government documents See also IC Library stacks & microfiche at: JX233 .A3 for earlier volumes
- Official Documents of the United Nations (ODS)
Full text UN documents from 1993+; General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council, & Trusteeship Council from 1946+
- Organization of American States (OAS)
Multi-national organization of Western nations committed to democracy, and other social justice issues such as: poverty, terrorism, illegal drugs, corruption, etc.
Patricia Rodriguez's interview
Juan González in Washington, D.C. in October 2011.
(Photo by A. C. Brown, courtesy of Teaching for Change.)
On Monday, February 25, at 7:30 pm, Juan González spoke on the topic "NEWS FOR ALL THE PEOPLE: THE EPIC STORY OF RACE AND U.S. MEDIA" In his talk, sponsored by the Park Center for Independent Media, he examined the role of segregation in the history of U.S. media and the ways racism in mainstream media often inspired independent media outlets and movements.
MORE BY AND ABOUT JUAN GONZALES:
Democracy Now! stories by Juan González
Juan González: Biography on Democracy Now!
Ithacan and WICB coverage of Juan Gonzalez
- WICB: Ithaca Now: "Democracy Now!'s Juan Gonzalez on Immigration," March 4, 2013
- The Ithacan: "Plans for immigration spark conversations on campus," by Nicole Ogrysko, February 28, 2013.
Juan Gonzalez/New York Daily News
Councils and Associations
- Amnesty International
- Better World Campaign
- Brookings Institution
- Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
- Center for Strategic and International Studies
- Council on Foreign Affairs
- Foreign Policy Association
- Human Rights Watch
- International Law Association
- Rand Corporation
- Third World Network
- World Bank
- World Resources Institute
- UN's Member State Portal
- CIA's World Fact Book
- Department of State's Background Notes
- BBC's Country Profiles
- Columbia gazetteer of the world online
- LexisNexis Academic : Its Research Countries section Includes Country Reports (Walden) and PRS Group Political Risk Service Stories
- USIP (United States Institute of Peace): Countries and Continents
- SIPRI's FIRST (aka Stockholm International Peace Research Institute's Facts on International Relations and Security Trends)
- UIA's IGO Search (one of the free services from the Union of International Associations)
- QFinance's Economic Profiles by Country
- Doing Business, an IFC/World Bank country guide
- OFFSTATS (Official Statistics)
- Population Reference Bureau
- NationMaster, for comparing countries graphically
"David Bacon argues that instead of immigration reform that includes guest worker programs and more enforcement, we need to change the free trade programs that cause migration and stop making it a crime for the undocumented to work." -- summary from the article