Independent Media
- Alternative Press Index
Index to articles in alternative news sources. Use to research topics that may not be well covered in the mainstream press; 1991 to current. - Black Newspapers
Black Newspapers is a collection of current newspapers providing access to news from 1989 to the present,including Afro-American Red Star, Call & Post (A&I), Chicago Defender, Houston Post (A&I), Michigan Chronicle, Muslim Journal (A&I), New Journal & Guide (A&I), New York Amsterdam News, and the Los Angeles Sentinel. - Discover America's Story
Discover America's Story focuses on small-town, rural, and local articles and reports on what is happening in-town and in-county while providing a local point of view on bigger issues such as state, regional, national politics and world affairs. The product is rich with articles relevant to geographic locations often under-reported or overlooked by mainstream news coverage such as natural resources, agriculture, land use, water rights and farming. Small-town news, op-ed, business, arts, government and life in general are covered well, plus published legal notices and obituaries are included. [description from LexisNexis] - Ethnic Newswatch
Ethnic Newswatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Contents include African American, Arab and Middle Eastern, Asian American, European, Jewish, and Native American publications, including the Spanish-language press. - GenderWatch
GenderWatch is a full-text database containing 140 international publications plus reports, pamphlets, papers and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. It is a repository of materials on gender issues worldwide, the evolution of the women's movement, and the changes in gender roles over the last twenty years. - LGBT life with Full Text
World's literature regarding Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender issues. (Was GLBT Life with Full Text)
- Alternative Radio : Audio energy for democracy
Public affairs radio program that airs for free on public radio stations. It is part of the non-profit Institute for Social and Cultural Change. - AlterNet
Syndicates alternative news and creates original news stories. - The American Prospect Magazine of liberal ideals founded in 1990. Find it @ IC Library
- Buzzsaw IC's alternative publication Find it @ IC Library
- Association of Alternative Newsweeklies
A diverse group of 125 alt-weekly news organizations that cover every major metropolitan area in North America. See AltWeeklies.com for featured stories - Common Dreams
CommonDreams.org is a national nonprofit, progressive, nonpartisan citizens' organization founded in 1997 by political activists Craig Brown and his late wife, Lina Newhouser. The news site aggregates reporting and analysis from independent, mainstream, and foreign news outlets. - Daily Kos
Progressive community blog. - Democracy Now!
Independent news program hosted by Amy Goodman and Juan Gonzalez. - Free Speech TV
Independent and publically supported television that promotes civic engagement. More about Free Speech TV. - Global Voices
Aggregates world news from a community of over 200 bloggers. - Guerrillanews.com
An independent news organization that strives to bring global issues to the masses through articles, headlines, videos, and blogs. Articles are completely original, written by GNN users or contributors. Search by countries, keyword, and/or topics. - Huffington Post
Edgy leftist blog founded by Arianna Huffington. - I. F. Stone's Weekly
Copies are available from January 17, 1953 through December 1, 1971 in PDF format. See the website for terms of use. The PCIM "Izzy Award" honors the work of I.F. Stone. - In These Times Nonprofit independent news magazine that is, "opposed to the dominance of transnational corporations and the tyranny of marketplace values over human values." Find it @ IC Library
- Independent Media Center (imc)
Collective site for independent media organizations. The NYC site publishes the Indypendent - Independent Television Service (ITVS)
Brings independently-produced broadcast news programs such as the [I]ndependent Lens program to the world. Funds, presents and promotes docs on public tv & cable such as Independent Lens on PBS - Indie Pix Films Their goal is to expand the audience of independent film
- IndieWIRE News, Information and networking site for indie films
- Inter Press Service (IPS)
Global news agency that commits itself to underreported stories. Global themes include: Poverty, Civil Society, Sustainable Development, Globalisation and the South, Dialogue among civilisations, and Human Rights &Gender issues. Member of the COM+ Alliance of communicators for sustainable development. - JohnPilger.com Journalist, author and documentary filmmaker
- Link TV
Broadcasts programs to educate and motivate viewers to become engaged in the world. More about Link TV. TED conference video will be available. - Mother Jones Magazine that contains original investigative reporting. Find It @ IC Library
- Nation : Blogs
The Nation magazine's blog site. Includes: Campaign 08, Editor's Cut, The Beat, Actnow!, The Dreyfuss Report, Capitolism, The Notion, And Another Thing. Liberal perspecitve. - Native Networks
Initiated by the Smithsonian's National Museum of the American Indian, this site is a guide to media produced by people in Hawaii and the Americas. - New America Media (NAM)
Founded by Pacific News Service in 1996, NAM collaborates with over 2000 ethnic news organizations to disseminate stories. Readers can chose stories by ethnicities or by special beats. - Newsdesk.org
Organization the offers, "important but overlooked news from around the world." News You Might Have Missed (NYMHM) covers overlooked news and underserved communities. - Paper Tiger Television (PTTV)
A volunteer video collective. Read more about the PPTV mission. - Pacifica Radio
Listener supported community radio network. Here is a station map. - The Progressive (since 1909) Monthly leftwing magazine that includes investigative journalism, poetry, humour, etc. Find it @ IC
- Prometheus Radio Project
Non-profit organization of radio activists that promotes free, diverse and democratic media. - Propublica Independent non-profit newsroom that produces investigative reports
- Talking Points Memo (TPM)
Josh Marshall's political blog. - TNR Blogs
The New Republic: A Journal of Politics and the Art magazine (TNR) hosts the following blogs: The Plank, The Stump, The Spine, The Flack, and The Vine. - Truthdig
Progressive web magazine covering current affairs. It includes a mixture of original reporting and aggregated content. - truthout
Progressive news site that is dovoted to issues of equality, democracy, human rights, accountability and social justice. Reporters use independent voices and foces on undercovered issues. Included some aggregated news sources. - UTNE digests independent ideas and alternative culture
- WikiLeaks
"WikiLeaks is a non-profit media organization dedicated to bringing important news and information to the public." - World Association of Community Radio Broadcasters (AMARC)
International non-governmental association serving the community radio movement. - Z Magazine Progressive monthly magazine. Find it @ IC Library
- Alternative Media Global Project A wiki and blog by European scholars that study alternative media. Includes a map and bibliography of sources
- Center for International Media Assistance (CIMA)
Oganization that assists in the development of democracy through supporting independent media. This process is called media development. - Center for Media and Democracy (CMD)
Non-profit investigative reporting group that focuses on corporate spin and government propaganda. - Common Cause: Media and Democracy The advacy group Common Cause has a division that focuses on the accessibility, accountability, and regulation of the media.
- Community Media (EU) Portal on European Union information on community media
- Conference on World Affairs Archives Includes streaming audio files of I. F. Stone (April 14, 1961, April 11, 1963) and Daniel Ellsberg (April 14, 1978)
- CorpWatch "Holding corporations responsible"
- Denver Open Media (DOM)
Organization that trains and disseminates citizen media video. Here is their vision statement. - Fairness and Accuracy in Reporting (FAIR)
A national media watch group that monitors media bias and censorship. Founded by PCIM's Jeff Cohen. - freepress
Organization that advocates for media reform. - Independent Media Arts Preservation (IMAP)
Organization that preserves independent media. - Independent Media Center (imc)
Collective site for independent media organizations. - International Research & Exchanges Board (IREX)
Founded in 1968 IREX is a nonprofit organization that provides leadership and programs that improve education, independent media and foster civil society development. Reports such as the Media Sustainability Index are posted to their website. - Institute for Public Accuracy (IPA)
Founded in 1997 by Norman Solomon, the IPA assists progressive & grassroots organizations get coverage in mainstream media. - Just Media
Promotes media about social justice issues. - Lannan Audio and Video Archives
Lannan, an organization that supports artists and writers, as well as Native activists in rural indigenous communities, has an Audio/Video tab on its hompage that contains a 15 year archive of events. - Media Access Project
Law firm and advocacy organization working in communications policy. - Media Matters for America
Progressive news monitoring organization. - StopBigMedia.com A coalition of groups that are lobby against the FCC's allowing big media corporations to consolidate
- Worldpress.org News from around the world
Loading ...
Park Center for Independent Media (PCIM)
Jeff Cohen, Director, Endowed Chair in Independent Media and Associate Professor in the Department of Journalism
The Izzy Award
Jeff Cohen, Director, Endowed Chair in Independent Media and Associate Professor in the Department of Journalism
The Izzy Award
- 2012 winners: journalist Sharif Abdel Kouddous and to the Center for Media and Democracy (CMD)
- 2011 winners: Robert Scheer (journalist for Truthdig and author of The Great American Stickup) and the media outlet "City Limits"
- 2010 winner: Jeremy Scahill (journalist and author of Blackwater: the rise of the world's most powerful mercenary army)
- 2009 winners: Amy Goodman (host and producer of Democracy Now! as well as numerous books) and Glenn Greenwald blogger for Salon.co
- John Nichols spoke about Citizens United and the labor uprising in Wisconsin for Constitution Day 2011 at Ithaca College.
- Susan Faludi spoke about, "9/11: Myth, Media, and Gender" (Fall 2011)
- Josh Fox screened Gasland
- Daniel Ellsberg (Oct. 2010) spoke. The documentary The Most Dangerous Man in America was screened.
- Tom Tomorrow (Dan Perkins) talked about his cartoon "This Modern World"
- Naomi Klein spoke about the importance of indepent media
- Laura Flanders and Josh Silver discussed “Independent Media and Critical Journalism: How Do We Get There?”. see GritTV
- Fari Chideya spoke about citizen journalism and media diversity. Read her PopandPolitics blog.
- Sandra Steingraber spoke about journalism and ecology. Read her works.
- Rick Lowry of the National Review spoke on“Death to ‘Legacy’ Media: A Defense of New and Independent Media.” Read his articles.
- Tia Lessin and Carl Deal: screened Trouble the Water
- Matt Taibbi - Rolling Stone's political writer and author of The Great Derangement.
- Jeremy Scahill - Author of Blackwater & contributor to Democracy Now!, the Nation, and Real Time with Bill Maher
- Josh Marshall - Founder of Talking Points Memo
- Rory Kennedy - documentary filmmaker and co-founder and president of Moxi Firecracker Films, Inc. Screened Ghosts of Abu Ghraib. The library also has Girl Hood.
- Arianna Huffington, (Park Distinguished Visitor, 10/3/09), co-founder and editor-in-chief of The Huffington Post, columnist and author of 12 books
- Robert Fisk (Park Distinguished Visitor, 3/1/07) Award winning British journalist who writes for the Independent
- Norm Solomon (Park Scholar 10th Anniversary Speaker, 2/13/07) Dinguished independent journalist and media critic. He has authored numerous books & co-authored the Wizards of Media Oz with Jeff Cohen.
- Bill Moyers (Park Distinguished Visitor, 9/13/05) Award winning broadcast journalist (Bill Moyers Journal) and book author
Loading ...
- Alternative Press Center Online Directory
Links to alternative press publication listings. - Alternative Publishers of Books in North America (2006). Directory of alternative publishers by state. In IC Reference.
- Independent News Collective (INK)
The trade association of the alternative press in the UK. - Radical Reference
Volunteer library workers who support activists, progressive organizations, and journalists access information.
"A Community Resources Free and Open to All" The Durland Alternatives Library collects materials that are not usually found in the mainstream media. It is located in Room 127 of Anabel Taylor Hall, Cornell University campus.
Alternative Mass Media
Blogs Political aspects
Communication in community development
Independent films
Journalism Objectivity
Jounalism Political aspects
Jounalistic ethics
Local mass media
Mass Media Infuence
Mass Media Moral and ethical aspects
Mass Media Objectivity
Mass media Ownership
Mass media policy
Mass media Political Aspects
Mass media Social aspects
Mass media United States Objectivity
Radicalism--Periodicals
Small presses
Underground press
United States Politics and government Blogs
Blogs Political aspects
Communication in community development
Independent films
Journalism Objectivity
Jounalism Political aspects
Jounalistic ethics
Local mass media
Mass Media Infuence
Mass Media Moral and ethical aspects
Mass Media Objectivity
Mass media Ownership
Mass media policy
Mass media Political Aspects
Mass media Social aspects
Mass media United States Objectivity
Radicalism--Periodicals
Small presses
Underground press
United States Politics and government Blogs
Loading ...