Ithaca Made Movies
Ithaca Made Movies
This is a short pathfinder to Ithaca Made Movies. People of interest may include: Theodore and Leopold Wharton, Wharton Studios; Pearl White, Irene Castle, Beatrix Fairfax.
Table of Contents
- Castle, I. (1980). Castles in the air. A Da Capo paperback. New York, N.Y: Da Capo Press.
- Dieckmann, J. M., & DeWitt Historical Society of Tompkins County. (1986). A short history of Tompkins County. Ithaca, N.Y: DeWitt Historical Society of Tompkins County.
- Eagan, D., National Film Preservation Board (U.S.) (2010). America’s film legacy the authoritative guide to the landmark movies in the National Film Registry. New York: Continuum. This is an ebook and can be viewed online.
- Fernett, G. (1988). American film studios: an historical encyclopedia. Jefferson, N.C: McFarland.
- Golden, E. (2007). Vernon and Irene Castle’s ragtime revolution. Lexington, Ky: University Press of Kentucky. This is an ebook and can be viewed online.
- Ithaca. (2012).Images of America. Arcadia Pub.
- Kaplin, C. M. (1989). Take Two: The True Story of Ithaca's Movie Making Era. Cabin John, MD: Seven Locks Press.
- Keim, N. O. (2008). Our Movie Houses: A History of Film & Cinematic Innovation in Central New York (1st ed.). Syracuse: Syracuse University Press.
- Ramsaye, T. (1964). A Million and One Nights; a History of the Motion Picture. New York: Simon and Schuster.
- Snodderly, D. R. (1982). Ithaca and its past: the history and architecture of the downtown. Ithaca, N.Y: DeWitt Historical Society of Tompkins County.
- Weaver, J. T. (1971). Twenty years of silents, 1908-1928. Metuchen, N.J: Scarecrow Press.
Museums, Archives and Local Libraries
- Wharton Studio photos by A. Chadwick These photos were posted by Ithaca College Archivist, Bridget Bower.
- Warren, M. E. (2001). Guide to the Wharton Releasing Corporation Records, ca. 1916-1923 ; Collection Number 3924 ; Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections, Cornell University Library: http://rmc.library.cornell.edu/ead/htmldocs/RMM03924.html
- Ithaca Motion Picture Project They also have a Facebook page and a Twitter account.
- New York Heritage Digital Collections
A research portal to hundreds of digital collections about New York State's people, places, and institutions. Search the digital collections from libraries, museum, and archives. There is not on Ithaca-made movies at this time but the collection is growing. They also have a Facebook page.
- History Center in Tompkins County
Home of the Tompkins County Museum and many primary sources relating to Ithaca and Tompkins County.
- Tompkins County Public Library (TCPL)
The local public library is located at 101 East Green Street not far from the Ithaca Commons. All residents, including students, living in Tompkins County can be issued a library card. The library is especially useful for researchers needing popular magazines for media literacy research. They keep 3 years of most titles. They provide local history information, too. The Finger Lakes Library System catalog (PowerPAC) has holdings for all public libraries in Tompkins County (DVDs, CDs, audobooks). Here is a Q&A on Ithaca Movies from TCPL.
- American Memory: Motion Pictures from 1894-1915
150 digitized films from the Library of Congress. Includes agricultural, industrial and recreational activities of Americans from 1894-1915.
- UCLA Film & Television Archive
"The UCLA Film & Television Archive is, after the Library of Congress, the largest collection of media materials in the United States, with more than 220,000 film and television titles and 27 million feet of newsreel footage."
- National Film Preservation Foundation "The National Film Preservation Foundation is the nonprofit organization created by the U.S. Congress to help save America's film heritage."
For more information on searching newspapers and magazines, go to Cathy's J History guide.
Beatrice Fairfax mini doc (Hardin & Stedman)
- Biography in Context
Vernon and Irene Castle
- International Encyclopedia of Dance REF GV1585 .I586 1998
Comprehensive survey of international dance traditions, dancers, and choreographers, illustrated.
- Klepper, R. K. (1999). Silent films, 1877-1996: a critical guide to 646 movies. Jefferson, N.C: McFarland.
- Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film
Provides a comprehensive introduction to film and film studies, covering topics such as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory, and film history. Approximately 200 entries cover specific topics, including acting, censorship, editing, lighting, career profiles, etc.
IC Library Videos
News & YouTube videos