JOUR 11200: J Research
LIBRARY RESOURCES USED FOR IDENTIFYING PUBLISHERS
- Bacon's Magazine Directory
REF Z286.P4 B33 Print. Very complete directory of magazine - Bacon's Newspaper Directory
REF Z286.N48 B33 Print. Very complete directory of newspapers - Editor & Publisher International Year Book
PN4700 .E42 Good directory of newspapers - Serials Directory Online. You can search this online directory of all serial publications by subject
- Writer's Market Print. Very basic listing of magazines
- A list of New Media platforms for Journalism can be found on my New Media Economics guide.
Once you have decided on a story idea, be sure to brainstorm on key words and subjects.
WIRES
WIRES
- LexisNexis Academic Under "Search the News" choose Wire Services under '"by Source Type"
- Associated Press (AP)
- United Press International (UPI)
- Google Blog Search (you can set up a blog alert)
- Alerts via library databases: see "Automate your Research" guide
- Tompkins County, NY
Online resource for Tompkins County government. Includes an online maps page. - City of Ithaca, NY Try: City Government > Agenda & Minutes
- Coffeeshop Newsrooms (an interesting article by Mallary Jean Tenore from Poynter, updated, 7/7/2012)
What was already written? Read over secondary resources.
- LexisNexis Academic National, international, news wires, transcripts, polls
- National Newspapers Premier News from the vendor ProQuest
- InfoTrac Newsstand News from the vendor Gale
- Newspaper Source News from the vendor EBSCO
- New York State Newspapers News from the vendor Gale focused on NY
- Ithaca Journal Gannett Daily (not fulltext in the above databases)
- Ithaca Times Weekly free paper
- Tompkins Weekly
Free weekly news about Tompkins County, New York. Issues are available as pdf files. - The Ithaca Independent Indy paper
- Ithacan (Ithaca College Student Newspaper)
- Cornell Daily Sun
- Tompkins County (NY) Newspapers A listing of historical and contemporary serials published in Tompkins County.
CREDIBLE REFERENCE SOURCES
GENERAL PERIODICALS
Find experts by limiting to academic, scholarly, or peer reviewed publications. Also, look at the "Public Policy" guide to the right; many think tanks documents are written by experts (often with a distinct point of view).
Experts will also author books.
Many of these resources contain speeches, public records, and laws -- primary sources.
GENERAL PERIODICALS
Find experts by limiting to academic, scholarly, or peer reviewed publications. Also, look at the "Public Policy" guide to the right; many think tanks documents are written by experts (often with a distinct point of view).
- Article Quick Search: This is the "Articles" tab on the library's homepage. Searches a varity of EBSCO databases for scholarly journals. You can click the orange X in the left menu to remove the limiter if you'd like to find magazines and newspapers.
- ProQuest Research Library
- General OneFile (formerly known as Infotrac) OR Academic OneFile
Experts will also author books.
- Library catalog (if we don't own it we'll borrow it through Interlibrary Loan a.k.a. ILL)
- WorldCat (via FirstSearch) A catalog of international library collections that shows what we own and what we don't own
- Biography in Context This resource contains entries from a variety of encyclopedia resources.
- LexisNexis Academic Search using the Research People box to access obituaries, elected officials, industry leaders, etc. Contains Marquis Who's Who.
- Who's Who (Marquis) Biographies
- Consider the authors of scholarly books and journal articles, members of policy think tanks, government officials, and organizations related to the story idea.
- When visiting colleges and universities, look for a Media Relations page.
- SPJ's Journalist's Toolbox lists some additional web resources.
- FactCheck.org
Annenberg Political fact check site. - Getty
Provides a gateway to information on museum studies. Includes databases under the "Research Institute" > "Search Tools & Databases" such as: Art & Architecture Thesaurus (AAT), the Union List of Artist Names (ULAN), and the Thesaurus of Geographical Names (TGN). - NASDAQ
Stock exchange news. - PolitiFact
A project of the St. Petersburg Times, PolitiFact is a website that examines truth in politics. - Facts on File World News Digest Includes editorial cartoons & the current World Almanac (see the tab at the top of the page)
- New York State Statistical Yearbook
REF DESK HA544 .A2 - World Almanac and Book of Facts
- SPJ's Journalist's Toolbox lists some copy editing blogs and writing handbooks.
- Dickman Directory: Ithaca and Tompkins County
- Reverse Lookup Directories Try AnyWho. This list from Yahoo! even includes cell phone lookups (they may provide a location but not the name)
- Editor & Publisher International Year Book
PN4700 .E42 - New York Red Book
- United States Government Manual United States Government Manual REF JK421 .A3
- Facebook, LinkedIn
Many of these resources contain speeches, public records, and laws -- primary sources.
- FDsys (GPO's Federal Digital System) (used to be GPO Access)
- Thomas - Legislative Information Note: Congress.gov is in beta.
- Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
The US EPA provides information on major environmental topics, including laws and regulations. The site includes a database that allows you to Search Your Environment by zipcode that includes public records. - Government Accountability Office (GAO)
- Open CRS: Congressional Research Report for the People
- National Atlas of the United States Good site for Congressional district maps.
- National Credit Union Administration (NCUA)
Government website that provides information about credit union to consumers. There is a Credit Union search database. - National Conference of State Legislatures
- New York State (online)
- NY Open Government
- Public Records Free Directory
- Virtual Gumshoe
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
REF HA202 .U5
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. The final edition from the US Census is the 2012 edition. The 2013 edition forward are availbe at the IC reference desk in print. The web version from the Census ceased with the 2012 ed. - New York State Statistical Yearbook
REF DESK HA544 .A2
Annual publication from The Nelson A. Rockefeller Institute of Government that covers demographic and population information such as: births, deaths and household characteristics by county and selected cities, economic information, elections, government finances, employment, health, human services, housing, education, criminal justice, agriculture and the environment among others. - Statemaster.com
Compilation of data from several sources. Users can generate maps and graphs on all kinds of state statistics and comparisons. - NationMaster
A central data source and handy way to graphically compare nations. NationMaster is a compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. Use the search form to generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics. - Opensecrets.org (Center for Responsive Politics)
This site by the Center for Responsive Politics eports on PACs, donors, soft money and lobbyists in U.S. elections. - Follow the Money (National Institute on Money in State Politics
Organization that tracks campain money in state-level elections. - Polling the Nations
A compilation of public opinion surveys, containing the full text of questions and responses from 14,000 surveys from 1986 to the present in the United States and more than 80 other countries. Each record includes the polling organization responsible for the poll, the sample size and the date the poll was released. - OpenElections.net Free US election data on the state and federal level
- Census.IRE.org Investigative Reporters and Editors site to make Census data available
CHECK ALL CONTEXTS: POLITICS, GENDER, CULTURE, RACE, ETHNICITY
- Alternative Press Index
Index to articles in alternative news sources. Use to research topics that may not be well covered in the mainstream press; 1991 to current. - Black Newspapers
Black Newspapers is a collection of current newspapers providing access to news from 1989 to the present,including Afro-American Red Star, Call & Post (A&I), Chicago Defender, Houston Post (A&I), Michigan Chronicle, Muslim Journal (A&I), New Journal & Guide (A&I), New York Amsterdam News, and the Los Angeles Sentinel. - Ethnic Newswatch
Ethnic Newswatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Contents include African American, Arab and Middle Eastern, Asian American, European, Jewish, and Native American publications, including the Spanish-language press. - GenderWatch
GenderWatch is a full-text database containing 140 international publications plus reports, pamphlets, papers and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. It is a repository of materials on gender issues worldwide, the evolution of the women's movement, and the changes in gender roles over the last twenty years. - LGBT life with Full Text
World's literature regarding Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender issues. (Was GLBT Life with Full Text)
Take a look at the list of Past winners & finalists for the Pulitzer Prize. There are many categories such as: Explanatory Journalism, Investigative Reporting, National Reporting, Breaking News, Public Service, Local, etc.
There is a copy at the Reference Desk in the library -- just ask the librarian on duty to borrow it. 2011 stylebook and briefing on media law (46th ed, 2011).
The following method is loosely based upon a document, Information Literacy Competency Standards for Journalism Students and Professionals. (pdf)
PLAN
Follow professional guidlines by the SPJ, Poynter, NPPA, RNTDA and others:
BIBLIOGRAPHIC MANAGEMENT TOOLS
PLAN
- What information do you need? What is your story idea?
- Identify what sources are best to use for your story
- How will the information be obtained? How much will it cost? How long will it take to obtain it?
- Create your research strategy.
- Make a consultation appointment with Cathy!
- Accessing information may include using Interlibrary loan, checking out a book, and accessing primary resources.
- As you work you'll add and subtract information as needed. New questions will emerge.
- Keep your information organized in a reporters notebook. Keep citations in Noodlebib, Zotero, or Google documents.
- Summarize your information.
- Access the credibility of your sources and double check all facts.
- Recognize the cultural, organizational, historical, political and other contexts of the information gathered.
- Synthesize the information "big picture" and identify additional information based on related ideas or contexts.
- Consider how the new knowledge found compares to what was previously written.
- Check public sentiment and expert opinions.
- Re-focus the story as needed.
- Draft the story based on guidelines (ex. AP) and media outlet.
- Quote from you research and paraphrase as needed. Support claims with data and research.
Follow professional guidlines by the SPJ, Poynter, NPPA, RNTDA and others:
- Society of Professional Journalists
- Poynter Institute
- National Press Photographers Association: Code of Ethics
- Radio-Television News Directors Association & Foundation (RTNDA)
- Editorial Integrity for Public Media
BIBLIOGRAPHIC MANAGEMENT TOOLS
LexisNexis maintains a wiki of help screens to their product. The library subscribes to an Academic product for colleges and university. There are other professional and subscription products sold to practitioners; the content may differ based on what is licensed.
Constructing searches: you may need to limit your results using boolean search operators or searching specific sections of a document:
Constructing searches: you may need to limit your results using boolean search operators or searching specific sections of a document:
- Boolean searching This page lists and defines proximity operators such as w/p (words within the same paragraph), w/s (words within the same sentence), atleast (you can say you want a word to appear atleast5 -- at least 5 times in the article which increases the relevancy), etc.
- Document Sections Some sections like Headline are built in the search form. If you want to search by byline, city, company geographic region, person, publication, etc. you may have to write a command search. This page lists common news and legal document sections that you can try searching on.
Here are a few organizations that support or conduct investigative reporting:
Refer to this guide to learn the difference between primary and secondary sources.
Frequently asked question:
Frequently asked question: