These are just five databases out of many available to Ithaca College students to help you locate peridiocal articles and get started on the research for your project.
- Ethnic Newswatch
An index to newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native Americans, with full-text of the articles. Includes many Latino publications, including Spanish-language titles.
- SocINDEX with Full Text
Comprehensive coverage of sociology and related areas of study: criminology & criminal justice, demography,ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions and violence.
A good source for research on Latinas.
Valuable when you are considering ethnic studies from an anthropological perspective
- Academic Search Premier
One of several general and multidisciplinary periodical databases, especially good for current events related to Latinos and Chicanos.
These are a few titles of fairly recent books added to the Ithaca College Library collection, but are available online instead of in the paper in the library. Check the online catalog for more books in the collection (both online and in paper).
- David Montejano, ed. Chicano politics and society in the late twentieth century. University of Texas Press, 1999.
- George I. Monsivais. Hispanic immigrant identity: political allegiance vs. cultural preference. LFB Scholarly Pub., 2004.
- Marta Tienda and Faith Mitchell, editors. Hispanics and the future of America. National Academies Press, c2006.
- Daniel D. Arreola, editor. Hispanic spaces, Latino places : community and cultural diversity in contemporary America. University of Texas Press, 2004.
- Vicki L. Ruiz and Virginia Sánchez Korrol, editors. Latina legacies: identity, biography, and community. Oxford University Press, 2005.
- Michelle Habell-Pallʹan and Mary Romero, editors. Latino/a popular culture. New York University Press, 2002.
- Pedro Pedraza, Melissa Rivera, editors. Latino education : an agenda for community action research. Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 2005.
- Arlene Dávila. Latinos, Inc.: the marketing and making of a people. University of California Press, c2001.
Government and University Websites
Searching the web for reliable information can be a challenge, but these resources are collections of resources available online that have been selected by librarians, scholars, and other with some expertise in Latino and Latin American studies:
- University of Miami Digital Collections: Cuban Heritage Collection
indexes and provides access to the papers and records of Cuban and Cuban exile individuals and organizations. Covers politics, culture, and literature.
- Hispanic Reading Room, from the Library of Congress.
Online access to one of the premier research facilities related to the geography, cultures, and peoples throughout the world historically influenced by Hispanic heritage. At the Reading Room is HLAS Online (Handbook of Latin American Studies) and HLAS Web, which are two different ways of searching the Library of Congress collection of Hispanic materials.
- Also at the Library of Congress, is its collection of Country Studies, including those from all of the Americas.
- Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)
Links to hundreds of thousands of pages of full-text resources including research papers written by Latin American studies scholars; theses and dissertations; etext versions of books; conference proceedings; speeches by Latin American leaders; periodical publications; and official documents.
- LAPOP: Latin American Public Opinion Project, from Vanderbilt.
Survey results from research conducted in the US and Latin America.
- Political Database of the Americas, from Georgetown.
A database of political documents for all countries of North and South America. Includes such texts as constitutions and laws, and data on areas such as electoral systems and political parties.
Searching the Online Catalog
Neither the term Latino nor Latina are used in the Library of Congress Subject Heading system, so you will have use different subject terms.
- For Latinos (United States), see Hispanic Americans
- For citizens of Latin American countries, see Latin Americans
- For Latinas, see Hispanic American women
- For Chicanos, see Mexican Americans for American citizens of Mexican origins and Mexicans -- United States for Mexicans living in the United States.
- Similarly use Cuban Americans or Cubans -- United States,
Call number areas
When browsing the library for books, these are areas that may have the most sources in several related areas. The same numbers work in Reference and the General Stacks.
- E 184.M5: Mexican Americans / Chicanos
- E 184.S75: Hispanic Americans
- F 1200-F1392: Mexico
- F 1420-2191: Central America & the Caribbean
- LC 2669: Hispanic Americans - Education
- PS 153.M4: Mexican-American/Chicano Literature
- PS 508.H57: American Literature - Hispanic American Authors
Ethnic & Race Studies Journals
Browse over 300 Ethnic & Race Studies journals found online and available to Ithaca College students.
These reference sources provide biographical, statistical, or encyclopedic information and are all available online:
- Current Population Survey: Hispanic Population of the United States.
- Notable Latino Americans: A Biographical Dictionary
- Contemporary World Issues: Latino Issues: A Reference Handbook
- Latinos in America
- Columbia History of Latinos in the United States Since 1960
- Encyclopedia of Minorities in American Politics: Volume 2, Hispanic Americans and Native Americans
Chicanos & Latinos: Portrayals in film
Browse this list of films available in the Ithaca College Library for their portrayal of Chicanos & Latinos.