GBUS 20300 - Legal Environment of Business

Best Bets: Law

  • LexisNexis Academic
    Full-text access to continuously updated news, law, and business information. Highlights: News: newswires, transcripts, regional, national/international news, & Gallup Polls; Legal: law review articles, federal case law, and federal/state codes; Business: company profiles, country profiles, and SEC filings; People: directories from the entertainment industry, elected officials, executives, politicians, and obituaries.  Also has a section that includes full-text of several health newsletters and abstracts of articles in major medical journals. -find news, cases, laws and law review articles.
  • FindLaw
    Legal news, forms, and articles on legal topics. Includes U.S. Supreme Court decisions from 1999- present.  They offer legal news on their Legal Pulse page.
  • Thomas - Legislative Information -search by bill number, sponsor, text, etc.
  • New York Consolidated Laws Service
    Laws of the State of New York through LexisNexis Academic.
  • New York Codes, Rules and Regulations and New York Register
    NY administrative regulations from LexisNexis Academic.
  • New York State Legislature: Bills and Laws
    Search bill text, status, summaries, sponsor memos, and floor vote. Links to search for NYS Legislative Bills, NYS Legislative Resolutions, and the Laws of New York (see also: LexisNexis - Federal & State Codes - NY Consolidated Law Service).
  • E-Codes: Municipal Codes on the Internet
    Online municipal codes for various townships, towns, cities, and boroughs provided by General Code publisher. Includes Ithaca (city and town).

News Sources

Information sources which give newspaper, magazine, newswire sources and transcripts among others.
  • New York Times (1980-present)
    Full-text of The New York Times from 1980 - present. For Historical coverage please use ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times (1851 - 2007)
  • Wall Street Journal (1984 - present)
    Full text of The Wall Street Journal from 1984-present. For issues from 1889-1993, see the  Wall Street Journal-ProQuest Historical Newspapers database.
  • New York Times (1851-2009)
    The full-text of the NY Times. Includes all images and advertising.  Search for names, events and concepts and view a summary of an article, a PDF image of the article or the entire page of the newspaper.
  • Wall Street Journal (1889-1995)
    Includes the full text, full image, and advertising. Search for names, events and concepts. See a summary of the article as well as an image of the article or the entire page of the newspaper. Use the Date option at the bottom of the screen to limit your search to particular dates. 
  • Business Insights: Essentials
    Company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, market research reports, SWOT reports, market share information, company histories, chronologies, journal articles, and interactive charts.  Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.
  • ProQuest Research Library
    From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library™ provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,060 titles—over 3,600 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
  • ABI/INFORM Complete
    Search all three ABI/Inform databases together here or search one at a time below. ABI/INFORM Complete provides current and historic abstracts and many full-text articles from over 2,800 business and management journals, including hundreds of titles from outside the U.S. The database covers finance, management, marketing, operations, accounting, business conditions, sports and business, entertainment, and case studies.
  •  Business Source Premier (Original Interface)
    Business topics: management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, etc. SWOT analysis on selected companies.
  • General OneFile
    Current journal and news information in humanities, education, business, science, art, politics, economics, social sciences, law, health care, computers, technology and environmental issues.
  • Academic OneFile
    Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources. Coverage includes the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Also includes transcripts and audio from all National Public Radio programs. Available in both PDF and HTML full-text; updated daily. Coverage is from 1980-present.

Financial Resources

These are resources which will give information on both companies and industries in the Tobacco/Cigarette Industries.
  • Yahoo! Finance
    Find business news, market news, indices, information on companies and industries including stock price, charts, etc.. Also to search for Dow Jones U.S. Tobacco Index (^DJUSTB), choose Max on Chart, you can then compare to other indexes or get historical quotes.
  • Yahoo Industry Center - choose Cigarettes for information on the cigarette industry including news, performance, etc.
  • Value Line Investment Survey -track news and financial information on both selected industries and selected stocks (about 2,000) which are updated once a quarter.
  • Morningstar.com
    Stock and mutual fund research resource. Gives independent analysis and recommendations. Screening capability.

Lexis/Nexis Search for news.


Web Sites


  • Tobacco Cases Indexed by Decade -1808-2010
  • SCOTUS Blog (Supreme Court of the U.S.) -search on Tobacco-mentions and analysis of recent and upcoming cases.
  • Tobacco.org
    Tobacco.org is a free resource center focusing on tobacco and smoking issues. It features tobacco news, information, assistance for smokers trying to quit, alerts on tobacco control issues, and open consideration of all aspects of the spectrum of issues concerning tobacco, nicotine, cigarettes and cigars.
  • Docuticker
    Daily update of new reports from government agencies, ngo's, think tanks, and other groups. Search by keyword/subject.
  • Govtrack
    Tracks legislation and votes in the United States Congress with email updates and RSS feeds. An open-source and community project.
  • FindLaw
    Legal news, forms, and articles on legal topics. Includes U.S. Supreme Court decisions from 1999- present.  They offer legal news on their Legal Pulse page.

Contact Us

Picture: Jim Bondra
Business Librarian
(607) 274-1962

Research Guides

Tips

SELECT VIDEOS  Law & the Legal system
 
US CODE- POPULAR NAMES (Cornell LS)
(look up laws by their popular name; this index provides the Public Law number and section of the USC and Statutes at Large)
 
SESSION DATE OF CONGRESS
(chart of Congressional sessions by start and end dates)