Linguistics

All Items by Source


Journals/Magazines

Academic OneFile Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources. Coverage includes the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Also includes transcripts and audio from all National Public Radio programs. Available in both PDF and HTML full-text; updated daily. Coverage is from 1980-present.
Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC) Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Communication and media indexes, abstracts and full-text.
ERIC (Ebsco interface) Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Bibliographic citations, abstracts, and some full-text for journal articles, research and technical reports, conference papers and proceedings, program descriptions, teaching guides, and lesson plans covering  all areas and levels of education.
JSTOR Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available
JSTOR provides access to academic journals and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
General OneFile Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Current journal and news information in humanities, education, business, science, art, politics, economics, social sciences, law, health care, computers, technology and environmental issues.
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Multi-disciplinary database which includes a large collection of peer-reviewed journals in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.  Coverage varies, but begins in the 1990s for most journals.
Project Muse Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 600+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. Updated continually.
Language and language behavior abstracts, or LLBA
Print Location: REF PB1 .L79
Citations with summaries of earlier linguistic research, primarily in UK. Coverage 1967-1984
Language teaching
Print Location: REF P51 .L35
Citations to research on linguistics & language teaching; international scope. Coverage latest 10 years.
Linguistics & language behavior abstracts, or LLBA
Print Location: REF PB1 .L79
Citations with summaries on language & linguistics research. Coverage 1985-2003

Web Sites

Endangered Langauges Project
From the website: "With the Endangered Languages Project, Google puts its technology at the service of the organizations and individuals working to confront the language endangerment by documenting, preserving and teaching them. Through this website, users can not only access the most up to date and comprehensive information on endangered languages as well as samples being provided by partners, but also play an active role in putting their languages online by submitting information or samples in the form of text, audio or video files. In addition, users will be able to share best practices and case studies through a knowledge sharing section and through joining relevant Google Groups."
English Language and Usage
'A free, community driven Q&A for linguists, etymologists, and serious English language enthusiasts. It is a part of the Stack Exchange network of Q&A websites, and it was created through the open democratic process defined at Stack Exchange Area 51. They synthesize aspects of Wikis, Blogs, Forums, and Digg/Reddit'

European Library
From the website: "Designed to meet the needs of the research community worldwide, our online portal offers quick and easy access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries.
Users can cross-search and reuse over 9,550,610 digital items and 103,420,869 bibliographic records. To facilitate further research, links are also provided to other websites in the Europeana group."
To select a language, use this link: http://www.theeuropeanlibrary.org/tel4/discover/languages

Forvo: The Pronunciation Guide
Forvo offers audio examples of word pronunciation. Ever wondered how a word is pronounced? Ask for that word or name, and another user will pronounce it for you. You can also help others by recording your pronunciations in your own language.

iLoveLanguages
iLoveLanguages (formerly the Human Languages Page) indexes educational and commercial websites for language learning.  Covers over 266 languages .

Lang Media: Resources for World Languages
LangMedia has a special mission to provide materials in languages less-commonly offered by colleges and universities in the United States. The site also has a commitment to providing authentic materials depicting differences in regional dialects and language-usage among speakers of the more commonly taught languages worldwide.

MLA Language Map
The MLA Language Map is intended for use by students, teachers, and anyone interested in learning about the linguistic and cultural composition of the United States. The MLA Language Map uses data from the 2000 United States census to display the locations and numbers of speakers of thirty languages and three groups of less commonly spoken languages in the United States. The census data are based on responses to the question, "Does this person speak a language other than English at home?" The Language Map illustrates the concentration of language speakers in zip codes and counties. The Language Map Data Center provides data from Census 2000 about over three hundred languages spoken in the United States, including actual numbers and percentages of speakers. Data from the 2005 American Community Survey about the thirty languages most commonly spoken in the United States provide a snapshot of recent changes in American language communities.
Ethnologue. Languages of the world
Dictionary of linguistics terms, on languages spoken in countries, of language families

Almanacs & Yearbooks

Native Village Language Library
Contains resources related to the languages of First Nations peoples primarily in North America as well as resources for the languages of international indigenous peoples.

Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary (OED Online) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Meanings, history and pronunciation for words, present and past; traces the evolution of each word through chronologically arranged quotations.
Dictionary of linguistics & phonetics / David Crystal Restricted Resource Some full text available
Brief definitions of terms; terminology, languages, etc.

E-books

Classical Latin Texts
An online Search by authors, keyword, or a concordance.

Encyclopedias

International Encyclopedia of Linguistics
Print Location: REF P29 .I58 2003
Substantial essays covering all specialties of linguistics: descriptive, historical, comparative, typological, functionalist, and formalist.
Linguistics encyclopedia / edited by Kirsten Malmkjær
Print Location: REF P29 .L52 2002 Some full text available
Brief entries on all aspects of linguistics -- terminology, theories, languages, language families, etc.

Handbooks & Guides

Language history, language change, and language relationship / by Hans Heinrich Hock & Brian D. Joseph
Print Location: P140 .H588 1996
Introduces historical & comparative linguistics
Linguistics : an introduction / Donna Jo Napoli
Print Location: P121 .N36 1996
Extensive introduction to linguistic theory & practice
Morphology : an introduction to the theory of word-structure / P. H. Matthews.
Print Location: P241 .M3
Patterns & systems underlying the formation of words.
Sociolinguistics and contemporary French / D.E. Ager.
Print Location: PC2074.75 .A37 1990
How French social structure affects the language.
Sociolinguistics and second language acquisition / Dennis R. Preston.
Print Location: P120.V37 P74 1989
Sociological background for language learning.
Sociolinguistics of language / Ralph Fasold.
Print Location: P40 .I58 VOL. 2
Contemporary sociology applied to language structure & usage. 2nd vol of his Introduction to sociolinguistics
Sociolinguistics of society / Ralph Fasold.
Print Location: P40 .I58 1984 V.1
1st vol. of his Introduction to sociolinguistics
What is morphology? / Mark Aronoff and Kirsten Fudeman.
Print Location: P241 .A699 2005
Student-oriented introduction to word structure.
Coursebook in Romance linguistics / Jurgen Klausenburger
Print Location: PC43 .K53 2001
Introduction to linguistics of the Romance language family; French, Italian, Spanish, etc.
Introduction to French linguistics / Claude Vandeloise & Frank A. Anselmo
Print Location: PC2073 .V36 2001
Basic information on underlying linguistic structure of French
Gramática española : análisis y práctica/ Larry D. King, Margarita Suñer
Print Location: PC4112 .K52 1998

Spanish-Spanish analysis of Spanish grammatical structure


Linguistics in clinical practice / edited by Kim Grundy.
Print Location: RC423 .L565 1995
Papers on linguistic basis of language disorder treatment.
New phonologies : developments in clinical linguistics
Print Location: RC424.7 .N49 1997
Collection of studies on linguistics applied to speech disorders.

Primary Sources

Eurodocs Some full text available

Provides links to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. All sources are openly accessible.


Radio Stations

Radio Station World
An international listing of radio stations around the world.  Listen to broadcasts in the language of your choice.