MUTH 25500: History & Lit . of Music 1
Scholarly Journal Articles Listen Up! (Naxos Music Library)
Music Scores Online
Music Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Citing Your Sources with Irvine's
Plagiarism Tutorial
15th century Gradual (Bodleian Library, Oxford)
Use these databases to find scholarly (or "peer-reviewed") articles on your subject:
JSTOR
Scholarly articles in all disciplines. When searching, select "music" subset of journals -- you'll get lots of results, so choose keywords wisely.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Comprehensive index to publications on music from all over the world, including journal articles, book chapters, & dissertations. Emphasis on music history, theory and analysis, and repertoire studies. 1967-present.
Music Index (online)
Index to music periodicals, popular & scholarly. 1972 to the present.
Music Index (in print) MUSREF ML118 .M84
Index to music periodicals. This is the only music index covering articles printed between 1949 to 1978.
JSTOR
Scholarly articles in all disciplines. When searching, select "music" subset of journals -- you'll get lots of results, so choose keywords wisely.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Comprehensive index to publications on music from all over the world, including journal articles, book chapters, & dissertations. Emphasis on music history, theory and analysis, and repertoire studies. 1967-present.
- Lots of international materials--limit by language if needed
Music Index (online)
Index to music periodicals, popular & scholarly. 1972 to the present.
- Search for articles about composers, performers with the people category, not subject
- You may want to limit your search to scholarly articles
Music Index (in print) MUSREF ML118 .M84
Index to music periodicals. This is the only music index covering articles printed between 1949 to 1978.
- Create an Interlibrary Loan Account
- Text not online? Double-check with the Get It Arrow
- Remember the ILL time frame:
- Books, scores, cds, & dvds: 7-10 business days
- Articles: 2-3 business days
- Stop by the Music Center for help with any of this!
Dictionaries
- Oxford Dictionary of Music
Dictionary for musical subjects of all kinds. Part of Oxford Music Online. - Oxford Companion to Music
Short, detailed articles on all aspects of music, with a focus on the Western classical tradition. Also part of Oxford Music Online.
- Grove Music Online
Major music encyclopedia; includes content of New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians, 2nd ed., New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd ed. Part of Oxford Music Online. - Baker's biographical dictionary of musicians MUSREF ML105 .B16 2001
Find dates and biographical information for over 15,000 musicians, past and present. Includes performers, composers, historians, critics, etc.
Find books, scores, & recordings at IC
Classical Scores Library
over 21,000 scores available through this subscription database; scores can be viewed and printed (requires IC netpass login)
IMSLP (International Music Score Library Project)
an "internet-based collaborative music score library," linking to digitized scores online
Digital scores from the Eastman School of Music
full scans from public domain scores at Eastman's Sibley Music Library
Scorser
use this site to search a number of digital scores sites (including IMSLP)
Art Song Central
directory of sheet music of art & popular songs; IPA translations available; edition information usually available.
Choral Public Domain Library Scores
the scores section from CPDL wiki site -- formats include PDF and Finale versions
over 21,000 scores available through this subscription database; scores can be viewed and printed (requires IC netpass login)
IMSLP (International Music Score Library Project)
an "internet-based collaborative music score library," linking to digitized scores online
Digital scores from the Eastman School of Music
full scans from public domain scores at Eastman's Sibley Music Library
Scorser
use this site to search a number of digital scores sites (including IMSLP)
Art Song Central
directory of sheet music of art & popular songs; IPA translations available; edition information usually available.
Choral Public Domain Library Scores
the scores section from CPDL wiki site -- formats include PDF and Finale versions
Help guides for Irvine's Writing about Music
Irvine's is available in the Music Reference section at the IC Library
- Endnotes/Footnotes

Guide to in-text citations
- Bibliography

Guide to bibliography citations
Irvine's is available in the Music Reference section at the IC Library
Plagiarism Tutorial: Test your understanding of plagiarism.