MUTH 35500: History & Lit. of Music 3

Contents

   

Finding Scholarly Journal Articles

Use these databases to find scholarly (or "peer-reviewed") articles on your subject:

 JSTOR
Scholarly articles in all disciplines. When searching, select "music" subset of journals -- you'll get lots of results, so choose keywords wisely. 

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Comprehensive index to publications on music from all over the world, including journal articles, book chapters, & dissertations. Emphasis on music history, theory and analysis, and repertoire studies. 1967-present.
  • Lots of international materials--limit by language if needed

Music Index (online)
Index to music periodicals, popular & scholarly. 1972 to the present.
  • Search for articles about composers, performers with the people category, not subject
  • You may want to limit your search to scholarly articles

Music Index (in print) MUSREF ML118 .M84
Index to music periodicals. This is the only music index covering articles printed between 1949 to 1978.

Using Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

  1. Create an Interlibrary Loan Account 
  2. Text not online? Double-check with the Get It Arrow   
  3. Remember the ILL time frame:
    • Books, scores, cds, & dvds: 7-10 business days
    • Articles: 2-3 business days
  4. Stop by the Music Center for help with any of this!

Music Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Oxford Music Online
Includes access to:

  • Oxford Dictionary of Music
    Dictionary for music subjects of all kinds
     
  • Oxford Companion to Music
    Short, detailed articles on all aspects of music; a focus on Western classical tradition.
     
  • Grove Music Online
    Major music encyclopedia; includes content of New Grove Dict. of Music & Musicians, 2nd ed., New Grove Dict. of Opera, and New Grove Dict. of Jazz, 2nd ed.

Note: Oxford Music Online automatically searches all 3 of these. See how to search one by one.

Citing Your Sources with Irvine's

Help guides for Irvine's Writing about Music
Irvine's is available in the Music Reference section at the IC Library

Books, Scores, & Recordings

Find books, scores, & recordings at IC

 


TUTORIAL: Finding Scores & Recordings

Listen Up!

Music Scores Online

IMSLP (International Music Score Library Project)
an "internet-based collaborative music score library," linking to digitized scores online

Digital scores from the Eastman School of Music
full scans from public domain scores at Eastman's Sibley Music Library

Scorser
use this site to search a number of digital scores sites (including IMSLP)

Art Song Central
directory of sheet music of art & popular songs; IPA translations available; edition information usually available.

Choral Public Domain Library Scores
the scores section from CPDL wiki site -- formats include PDF and Finale versions

Plagiarism Tutorial

Plagiarism Tutorial: Test your understanding of plagiarism. 

Contact Us

Picture: Kristina Shanton
Music Librarian
(607) 274-3887