Music--Education & Psychology

Use these resources to find articles on your topic
ERIC (Ebsco interface)
Major database for finding publications on all aspects of education, 1966-present. You'll find:
Music Index (online)
Articles from music periodicals, including music education titles, 1972-present. You'll find:
JSTOR
Articles from core scholarly journals, including 123 education and 83 music titles. You'll find:
Can't get enough? Find more education articles here:
ERIC (Ebsco interface)
Major database for finding publications on all aspects of education, 1966-present. You'll find:
- articles (both peer-reviewed and popular)
- research & technical reports
- published pamphlets and government documents
- can also be searched with the ERIC (US Govt interface)
Music Index (online)
Articles from music periodicals, including music education titles, 1972-present. You'll find:
- articles (peer-reviewed and popular)
- for articles published 1949-1972, consult print indexes in Music Reference
JSTOR
Articles from core scholarly journals, including 123 education and 83 music titles. You'll find:
- full-text and nothing but full-text
- search by discipline or within a specific title
- all dates EXCEPT the most recent 3-5 years (varies by title)
Can't get enough? Find more education articles here:
ArtsEdge
The Kennedy Center's free digital resource for teaching and learning in, through, and about the arts. Includes lesson plans, audio stories, video clips, and interactive online modules.
World Music with Smithsonian Folkways
Their Tools For Teaching site provides lesson plans, videos, and activities for educators.
Need more ideas? See our Lesson Plans subject guide.
The Kennedy Center's free digital resource for teaching and learning in, through, and about the arts. Includes lesson plans, audio stories, video clips, and interactive online modules.
World Music with Smithsonian Folkways
Their Tools For Teaching site provides lesson plans, videos, and activities for educators.
- Note: these lesson plans refer to audio recordings that can be accessed FOR FREE through the Smithsonian Global Sound database. IC students do not have to purchase them.
- Additionally, there are free videos, lesson plans, & podcasts available from Smithsonian Folkways via iTunesU.
Need more ideas? See our Lesson Plans subject guide.
- Teaching Vocal/General Ed Music
includes links to large music curriculum sets - Teaching Music Through Performance Series
rep guides and recordings for major school ensembles
- Musical children:engaging children in musical experiences by Lindeman.
- Music in elementary education by Flohr & Trollinger.
- Making the grade: creative standard-based lessons for the music classroom by Luppens & Foreman.
- Travel on and on: interdisciplinary lessons on the music of world cultures by Dekaney & Cunningham.
- First steps in music for preschool and beyond by Feierabend.
- Middle school general music: the best part of your day (ebook) by McAnally
- Primary music: later years (ebook) by Glover & Young