Music--History & Theory

Best Bets

  • Naxos Music Library
    comprehensive collection of online classical music available on your computer or smart phone.
  • Grove Music Online
    major music encyclopedia/dictionary. Includes content from New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed., New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd ed.
  • RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
    comprehensive, ongoing guide to publications on music from all over the world, including journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, and dissertations. 1967-present.
  • Music Index (online)
    Index to music periodicals, popular & scholarly. 1972 to the present.

Dates, Bios, & Definitions

  • Oxford Companion to Music
    Short biographical entries on musicians, as well as musical term definitions.
  • Oxford Dictionary of Music
    Need a quick definition? Look here!
  • Grove Music Online
    The major music encyclopedia: authoritative (but long) entries; good starting point for research
  • OnMusic Dictionary
    Definitions, audio pronounciation, and occasional music/video examples (OnMusic is the successor to the Virginia Tech Multimedia Music Dictionary)

Citing Your Sources with Irvine's

Help guides for Irvine's Writing about Music
Irvine's is available in the Music Reference section at the IC Library

Contact Us

Picture: Kristina Shanton
Music Librarian
(607) 274-3887

Browse the Stacks

 ML48-54 Librettos
 ML93-96 Manuscripts/Facsimiles
 ML100-102 Dictionaries/Encyclopedias
 ML128 Subject Bibliographies 
 ML159-307 Music History
 ML410--429 Biographies
 ML549-747 Keyboard Instruments
 ML750-927 String Instruments
 ML930--990 Wind Instruments
 ML1030-1040 Percussion Instruments
 ML1100-1165 Chamber Music
 ML1200-1270 Orchestral Music
 ML1300-1354 Band Music
 ML1400-2951 Vocal Music
 MT6-18 Music Theory
 MT40-68 Composition
 MT70-88 Orchestration
 MT90-165 Analytical Guides

Recommend a Purchase

Give us your recommendations
We'll even let you know when it's here!