PFMJ Bassoon Performance

Use the library catalog to search for music scores, recordings, books
Try our suggestions for finding Online Scores & Digital Audio
DVDs @ IC Library
Improve your bassoon reed (Weait)
DVD 2407
Bassoon reed-making (Giacobassi)
DVD 6937
In rehearsal (Mehta & Israel Phil)
Strauss's "Till Eulenspiegel" discussed with various orchestra members; rehearsal & performance included
DVD 366
Online Clips (from London Symphony Orchestra's YouTube masterclass series)
Improve your bassoon reed (Weait)
DVD 2407
Bassoon reed-making (Giacobassi)
DVD 6937
In rehearsal (Mehta & Israel Phil)
Strauss's "Till Eulenspiegel" discussed with various orchestra members; rehearsal & performance included
DVD 366
Online Clips (from London Symphony Orchestra's YouTube masterclass series)
| Joost Bosdijk (LSO) Audition tips |
Dominic Morgan (LSO) Contrabassoon audition tips |
|
Orchestral Parts on CD-ROM
entire parts, not just excerpts! PDF images you can pull up on any computer.
entire parts, not just excerpts! PDF images you can pull up on any computer.
Come on over and see what we've got!
| M75-M79 | Solo bassoon music |
| M253-M254 | Bassoon & piano |
| M1026 | Bassoon w/orch (full score) |
| M1027 | Bassoon w/orch (pno. red.) |
| M1126 | Bsn w/string orch (full score) |
| M1127 | Bsn w/string orch (pno. red.) |
| ML950-ML954 | Bassoon history |
| MT400-MT408 | Methods & excerpts |
Dictionaries
- Oxford Dictionary of Music
Dictionary for musical subjects of all kinds. Part of Oxford Music Online. - Oxford Companion to Music
Short, detailed articles on all aspects of music, with a focus on the Western classical tradition. Also part of Oxford Music Online.
- Grove Music Online
Major music encyclopedia; includes content of New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians, 2nd ed., New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd ed. Part of Oxford Music Online. - Baker's biographical dictionary of musicians MUSREF ML105 .B16 2001
Find dates and biographical information for over 15,000 musicians, past and present. Includes performers, composers, historians, critics, etc.
Bassoon Fingering Charts
for earliest bassoons through present
Baroque Woodwind Instruments (IC Book)
"guide to history, repertoire, & basic technique"
Inside Early Music (IC Book)
Conversations with performers
for earliest bassoons through present
Baroque Woodwind Instruments (IC Book)
"guide to history, repertoire, & basic technique"
Inside Early Music (IC Book)
Conversations with performers