PFMJ Piano Performance

Audio Databases @ IC

Search Tips: Finding Scores & Recordings

QUICK TIP: use a keyword search:
  1. If the piece is a form of music (etude, concerto, sonata, etc.), include the stem of the word with a ? in it (concert?, etud?, sonat?)
  2. If the title is descriptive (Twilight Music, etc.), put in as many of the words that you are sure of
  3. Include known instruments, key, opus nos., and the composer's name (see example for finding a piano concerto -- note: search is not case sensitive)
  4. Filter your results with the options of scores or audio

se the Author/Composer (Search by title) option
  1. This will give you an alphabetical list of all works by that composer we have
  2. More instruction here: Finding Scores and Recordings in the Catalog


Come to the Music Center desk. 
Or, look outside the library catalog with our suggestions for Online Scores & Digital Audio

Piano Performance DVDs

Performance Practices Series (by Maurice Hinson)
Baroque through early 20th century

Andras Schiff Masterclasses
Bach, Beethoven & Schubert

Assorted Masterclasses 
Emanuel Ax, Boris Berman, Stephen Hough, Stephen Kovacevich, & Joanna MacGregor

Dates, Bios, & Definitions

  • Oxford Music Online
    Major music resource with 3 different resources to search:
    • search The Oxford Companion to Music
      short biographical entries on musicians, as well as musical term definitions
    • search The Oxford Dictionary of Music
      Need a quick definition? Look here!
    • search Grove Music Online
      The major music encyclopedia: authoritative (but long) entries; good starting point for research
  • OnMusic Dictionary
    Definitions, audio pronounciation, and occasional music/video examples (OnMusic is the successor to the Virginia Tech Multimedia Music Dictionary)

Using Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

  1. Create an Interlibrary Loan Account 
  2. Books/Scores/CDs: Search WorldCat via FirstSearch
  3. Articles: Search article databases. No text online? Click the Get It Arrow   
  4. Remember the ILL time frame:
    • Books, scores, cds, & dvds: 7-10 business days
    • Articles: 2-3 business days
  5. Stop by the Music Center for help with any of this!

Contact Us

picture of Kristina Shanton

Kristina Shanton

Music Librarian
(607) 274-3887

Browse the Stacks

Come on over and see what we've got!
​[Stack nos. in square brackets]


[M4 East]
Collections of
keyboard music
[M4 East]
Collections of piano music --1 composer
[M4 East]
Piano sonatas
[M5 West]
[M5 West]
Pieces (walzes, dances, marches, etc.)
[M5 West]
Piano duets
(piano 4 hands)
[M5 West]
Music for 2 pianos
[M5 East]
Piano concertos,
full score
[M5 East]
Piano concertos, solo w/piano red.
[M10 West]
Books about the piano
[M10 West]
Books about piano and keyboard music
​[M12 West]
Etudes, teaching pieces, treatises

Recommend a Purchase

Give us your recommendations
We'll even let you know when it's here!