Native American Studies

All Items by Source


Journals/Magazines

Abstracts in Anthropology Restricted Resource
Archaeology, ethnology, linguistics and physical anthropology: Citations to articles, papers and more.
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Multi-disciplinary database which includes a large collection of peer-reviewed journals in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.  Coverage varies, but begins in the 1990s for most journals.
Alternative Press Index Restricted Resource openURL
Index to articles in alternative news sources. Use to research topics that may not be well covered in the mainstream press; 1991 to current.
Ethnic Newswatch Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Ethnic Newswatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Contents include African American, Arab and Middle Eastern, Asian American, European, Jewish, and Native American publications, including the Spanish-language press.
JSTOR Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available
Complete backfiles of core scholarly journals, searchable by journal or discipline. Files do not include the latest 3-5 years. The content is delivered as page images.

SocINDEX with Full Text Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Comprehensive coverage of sociology and related areas of study: criminology & criminal justice, demography,ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions and violence.
Diversity Studies Collection Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL
Covers a diversity of diversity topics related to social science, history and liberal arts. This collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community.
LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text access to continuously updated news, law, and business information. Highlights: News: newswires, transcripts, regional, national/international news, & Gallup Polls; Legal: law review articles, federal case law, and federal/state codes; Business: company profiles, country profiles, and SEC filings; People: directories from the entertainment industry, elected officials, executives, politicians, and obituaries.  Also has a section that includes full-text of several health newsletters and abstracts of articles in major medical journals.
AnthroSource Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Anthropological journals from the American Anthropological Association.
America: History and Life Restricted Resource openURL
Citations and some abstracts for journal articles,book reviews, and dissertations on US and Canadian history, prehistory to the present. Covers historical topics and a variety of disciplines including popular culture, gender studies, anthropology, literature and folklore.
ERIC (Ebsco interface) Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Bibliographic citations, abstracts, and some full-text for journal articles, research and technical reports, conference papers and proceedings, program descriptions, teaching guides, and lesson plans covering  all areas and levels of education.
General OneFile Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Current journal and news information in humanities, education, business, science, art, politics, economics, social sciences, law, health care, computers, technology and environmental issues.
ProQuest Research Library Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library™ provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,060 titles—over 3,600 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
note: Also includes ProQuest Education, Health Management, Psychology, and Social Science journals, as well as ebrary ebooks.
Anthropological index online Restricted Resource
Citations to journal articles in all areas of anthropology from the journals received at the British Museum Department of Ethnography, regionally arranged by subject and author. 1970s-current.
First Nations Periodical Index
Index to journal articles of mainly Canadian Native content.

Web Sites

Native Web Some full text available
NativeWeb is an international, nonprofit, educational organization dedicated to using telecommunications including computer technology and the Internet to disseminate information from and about indigenous nations, peoples, and organizations around the world; to foster communication between native and non-native peoples; to conduct research involving indigenous peoples' usage of technology and the Internet; and to provide resources, mentoring, and services to facilitate indigenous peoples' use of this technology
Native American Authors Some full text available
Information on Native North American authors with bibliographies of their published works, biographical information, and links to online resources including interviews, online texts and tribal websites.
American Indian Resources
A website with links to information on Native American studies, texts, culture, education, history, representations, issues, languages, and literature.
Indians.org
Site for the American Indian Heritage Foundation. Links to current news stories, tribal directory, and native literature.
Voice of the Shuttle: Minority Studies Some full text available
A gateway to Web resources for African, Asian, Arab, Native, Hispanic, and Jewish American writers.

Almanacs & Yearbooks

Native American Almanac
Print Location: REF E77 .H59
Native American almanac outlines topics of particular interest, such as the history of Native—white relations, the location and status of Native American tribes, religious traditions and ceremonies, language and literature, and contemporary performers and artists.

Atlases

Atlas of the North American Indian
Print Location: http://ezproxy.ithaca.edu:2048/login?url=REF E77 .W195 1985 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Presents information on native North Americans in teh US, Canada, and Middle America using text as well as maps.

Audio Files

Smithsonian Global Sound Restricted Resource Resource contains audio Some full text available
World' s music and aural traditions in streaming audio. Individual tracks of music, spoken words, and natural and human-made sounds; incl. published recordings from Smithsonian Folkways Recordings and other labels and recordings from Africa and South Asia. Limited to 3 simultaneous users.
note: LIMITED TO 3 SIMULTANEOUS USERS

Bibliographies

Native Americans in the Movies
A bibiography of materials - created by the UC Berkeley Library.

American Indian Women
Print Location: http://ezproxy.ithaca.edu:2048/login?url=REF E98.W8 B36 1991 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Annotated bibliography for work by and about Native American women in the United States and Canada.

E-books

HathiTrust Digital Library Resource contains images Some full text available
A collaborative project of several research-level academic libraries across the United States, HathiTrust is a digital repository for scanned books and other digital materials similar to Google Books.  In some cases, books that are only available in snippet view through Google Books are available in full text at HathiTrust.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of American Indian History Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Covers the period from precontact through European colonization; the years of non-Native expansion (including Indian removal); and the modern era of reservations, reforms, and reclamation of semi-sovereignty. Articles on key events, places, people, issues,  and the histories of Native American nations.

Encyclopedia of the Haudenosaunee Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers the history, culture, and present-day concerns of the six nations of the League of the Haudenosaunee (Senecas, Cayugas, Onondagas, Oneidas, Mohawks, and Tuscaroras
Handbook of North American Indians
Print Location: REF E77.H25 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Volumes cover native American cultures from various regions in addition to languages and Indian-White relations.
Encyclopedia of American Indian Costume
Print Location: REF E98.C8 P37
Encyclopedia of American Indian Costume provides information to complete descriptions and cultural contexts of the dress and ornamentation of the North American Indian tribes. The volume is divided into ten cultural regions, with each chapter giving an overview of the regional clothing
Encyclopedia of minorities in American politics, Vol. 2 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Data on Hispanic Americans and Native Americans in American politics.
Encyclopedia of Native American legal tradition
Print Location: REF F8204 . E53
Integrating American Indian law and Native American political and legal traditions, this encyclopedia includes detailed descriptions of nearly two dozen Native American Nations' legal and political systems such as the Iroquois, Cherokee, Choctaw, Navajo, Cheyenne, Creek, Chickasaw, Comanche, Sioux, Pueblo, Mandan, Wyandot, Powhatan, Mikmaq, and Yakima
Encyclopedia of Native American Religions
Print Location: REF E98 .R3 H73 2000 Restricted Resource
Articles on the religious life of America's 500 Indian tribes.
Gale Encyclopedia of Native American tribes
Print Location: REF E77 .G35 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Gale encyclopedia of Native American tribes: This encyclopedia provides information on the tribes of today and yesterday. It contains basic subjects including religion, history, customs, and current tribal issues.

Government Information

Administration for Native Americans
Government program that promotes the goal of economic and social self-sufficiency for American Indians, Alaska Natives, Native Hawaiians, and other Native American Pacific Islanders.
Committee on Indian Affairs (U.S. Senate) Some full text available
Website with information on congressional hearings and legislation.

Handbooks & Guides

First Nations Histories Some full text available
Links to histories of the native tribes of the US and Canada.

Images

ARTstor Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Database of more than 1,000,000 digital images representing visual and material culture across cultures and time periods. Documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. ARTstor tools enable the ability to save groups of images online for personal and classroom use. IC's Visual Resources Collection (VRC) of over 20,000 images is now available. Look for the Ithaca College-Visual Resouces Collection link in the lower middle section of the page.

Organizations

Cultural Survival Some full text available
An organization that has partnered with Indigenous Peoples around the world to help them defend their lands, languages, and cultures. On its website is information about its programs, actions, and campaigns. For free access to articles from Cultural Survival Quarterly, use Ethnic NewsWatch.

FAMSI (Foundation for the Advancement of Mesoamerican Studies, Inc.) Some full text available
The research and resources component of this foundation's website provides images, timelines, and other information about pre-colonial Mesoamerica.

Primary Sources

Indigenous Peoples Literature Some full text available
An archive of cultural material by the indigenous peoples of the world, ranging from literature and music to prayers and history. Contains a listing of tribes, chiefs, and the complete texts of key documents such as the Iroquois and Seminole constitutions.

Notable Native Americans
Print Location: REF E89. N67 1995
Notable Native Americans provides information about notable speeches delivered by African, Asian, Hispanic, and Native Americans.
Voices of Multicultural America (1790-1995)
Print Location: REF PS663 .M55 V64 1996
Notable speeches delivered by African, Asian, Hispanic, and Native Americans, arranged by speaker, with a Keyword index.

Public Records

Native American Documents Project Resource contains images Some full text available
A collection of narrative reports of the Commissioner of Indian Affairs for 1871, 1872, 1875, and 1876, and three additional reports for 1871. A map of western reservations is also included from an 1875 report.

Contact Us

Picture: John Henderson
Social Sciences Librarian
(607) 274-1961

Online Guides and Handouts

What is ArtStor? -- a guide with online handouts from ArtStor describing how this image database can be used in several different disciplines, including Native American Studies. In ArtStor are historic photographs of ceremonial scenes, portraits of individuals and tribal delegations, and images of artifacts of material culture, such as baskets, textiles, tools, masks, and costumes.

Browse Journals