Occupational Therapy

Best Bets

MEDLINE (EBSCO)
A comprehensive journal index to over 4,600 biomedical journals, with links to some full-text.
CINAHL
A comprehensive journal index to the nursing and allied health literature dating back to 1982, with links to some full-text. This is a great tool for finding education, health promotion, and psychosocial health articles along with research articles.
Cochrane Library
A collection of evidence-based medicine databases.
OT Seeker
Abstracts of systematic reviews and randomized controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy.
OT Search
A bibliographic databases for finding OT focused journal articles and books published by AOTA. The full-text is not located in this database, but it will provide detailed information to help you locate the full-text of the article or the print/e-book.
PsycINFO
Indexes and abstracts journal articles and book chapters in the field of psychology, 1887 to present.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
A comprehensive source of full-text articles for sports & sports medicine journals that includes occupational health and therapy, providing full text for more than 520 journals indexed back to 1985.
ERIC (Ebsco interface)
Index, with abstracts, to journal articles and ERIC documents from the Educational Resource Information Center; with links to full-text, from 1966 to present.


 

Evidence Based Practice

TRIP Database
Clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice.
PubMed Clinical Queries
Special filters help you to find clinically based articles focused on therapy, diagnosis, etiology, prognosis, clinical prediction guidelines, systematic reviews, meta-analyses, or medical genetics.

National Guideline Clearinghouse
Public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
OT Seeker
Abstracts of systematic reviews and randomized controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy.
Evidence-based practice for occupational therapists
An introductory book that uses therapy based examples to illustrate the clinical application of evidence based practice for occupational therapists.

Journal Collections

Health Sciences: a SAGE Full-Text Collection
Full text of the Sage journals covering the health sciences.
Psychology: a SAGE Full-Text Collection
Full text of the Sage journals covering psychology.
ScienceDirect
Full text of the Elsevier journals covering many subjects including medicine, neuroscience, nursing, pschology, education, and communication.
 

Reference Materials

Stedman's orthopaedic & rehab words : includes chiropractic, occupational therapy, physical therapy, podiatric, & sports medicine.
Access to terminology related to orthopaedics, rehabilitation, chiropractic, occupational therapy, physical therapy, podiatry, and sports medicine.
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary
Standard work, frequently revised. Used to find the spelling, meaning and derivation of specific [medical] terms. Has a special chapter on fundamentals of Medical Etymology.
Human Body Maps
A 3-D tool of 8 different body systems.  

 


Quick Reference Dictionary for Occupational Therapy Ref RM 735 .J345 2009
This dictionary evolved from compiling glossaries contained within some of the major textbooks used in entry-level OT courses, as well as the inclusion of terminology found in AOTA documents.
Willard and Spakeman's Occupational Therapy Ref RM 735 .O29 1998
This textbook is written primarily for OT students. The first half of this book gives an overview of Occupational Therapy, while the second half concerns the implementation of Occupational Therapy in specific areas of practice.
Occupational therapy student fieldwork manual
Fieldwork Manual
Quick Reference to Occupational Therapy Ref RM 735.3 .R42 2001
The purpose of this handbook is to provide students, practitoners, and researchers with a ready source of information about disorders or conditions seen in Occupational Therapy.