Photography
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources. Coverage includes the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Also includes transcripts and audio from all National Public Radio programs. Available in both PDF and HTML full-text; updated daily. Coverage is from 1980-present.
Multi-disciplinary database which includes a large collection of peer-reviewed journals in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Coverage varies, but begins in the 1990s for most journals.
Indexes and offers full text for journals in the fields of art history, architecture, craft, design, landscape architecture, museology, photography and video. Covers both western and non-western art. Three hundred seventy-seven publications are indexed back to 1984, with full text provided to one hundred eleven journals back to 1997. Its companion database, Art Index Retrospective, indexes back to 1929.
Similar to Google Scholar with a focus on arts & humanities. Try a string of keywords such as 'Sally Mann' or 'digital photography' for results.
Citations for articles, reviews and art reproductions in key international arts periodicals covering all aspects of art and art history including related disciplines of architecture, archaeology, design, film, museology and photography. Covers 1929- 1984. For 1984 to the present, search the Bibliography of the History of Art and Art Full Text.
Full-text scholarly journals in the Humanities, Arts, Social Sciences and Mathematics; Coverage varies by journal but generally only 2-3 current years.
Covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present. It indexes and abstracts books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals. 1973 - present
*Please note that BHA has moved from the CSA platform to the Getty Research Institute.
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library™ provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,060 titles—over 3,600 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
note: Also includes ProQuest Education, Health Management, Psychology, and Social Science journals, as well as ebrary ebooks.
A gateway to selected, annotated resources in the Humanities, including English and American literature, art, and photography.
Website provides information and methods for exploring image history, processes, content, and meaning. Includes a VIsual Literacy exercise and information on dating photographs based on clothing and portraiture styles.
Contemporary photos from around the world from photo journalist, commercial and artistic photographers.
About 3,000 photographs (in color and black and white) and posters from governmental sources such as the Library of Congress, the FBI, National Archives and Department of Defense. Includes portraits of politicians, celebrities, protests, demonstrations, and news shots from around the world. No known copyright exists for the photos included within the collection
An historical collection of images reflecting the life in the United States
Provides links to a variety of photographic collections held at the George Eastman House
Duke Law site devoted to promoting global understanding of public domain issues. Includes the graphic novel Bound by Law that explores a filmmaker's exploration of copyright for a documentary film.
Timeline includes examples of images created using a variety of photographic processes.
Visual arts and images from prehistoric times to the present. Search by styles and cultures, time period, and geographic region. Some links to color images and supplemented by searchable color images from the Bridgeman Art Library. Includes Grove Art Online.
This database provides up-to-the-minute biographies of leaders and achievers from around the world in the areas of business, law, science, medicine, the arts, government, entertainment, and more. The database covers Who's Who print titles since 1985, plus historical biographies from the Who Was Who in America volumes from 1607-1985.
Biographical information on people worldwide throughout history across all disciplines.
Print Location: Acquisitions
The 1998 (3rd ed.) is available via Biography Resources Center. Provides brief background information on contemporary photographers. Short bibliographies about photographers are provided at the end of each entry.
note: See Biography Resource Center online for current information.
Companion blog to the PBS series. Art21 was founded in 1997 with the mission to increase knowledge of contemporary art, ignite discussion, and inspire creative thinking by using diverse media to present contemporary artists at work and in their own words.
Reports on galleries of fine art photography from around the world (focusing on New York City)
Find current articles on both technology and art and the intersections between them.
Covers every aspect of the visual arts from prehistoric times to the present. Search by styles and cultures, time period, and geographic region. Includes access to the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. Also provides access to 5,000 images through partnerships with organizations such as the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, Art Resource, and international galleries and individual artists. Search for images and biographies - images are also accessible through links embedded within articles, or by clicking a tab at the top of articles entitled Images.
note: LIMITED TO 3 SIMULTANEOUS USERS
Visual arts and images from prehistoric times to the present. Search by styles and cultures, time period, and geographic region. Some links to color images and supplemented by searchable color images from the Bridgeman Art Library. Includes Grove Art Online.
Print Location: REF TR9 .M39 1999
Basic definitions and biographical information about photography
Print Location: REF TR12 .P5
Directory of business and organizations related to photography.
Over 70,000 full-text ebooks on business & economics, education, technology, humanities, life & physical sciences, law & politics, medicine, social & behavioral sciences, language & literature, and career guidance. Approximately 300 ebooks are single-user access titles; all other ebooks support multiple-user simultaneous use.
Presents articles on photography as a social and artistic practice, in addition to biographical entries, both on photographers and on others who have influenced photographic culture from the 19th century to the present.
From the Library of Congress American Memory project - a collection of daguerreotypes taken from 1838-1864 - includes portraits and architectural views.
Art Museum Image Gallery draws on the collections of museums around the world. The images cover a broad range of time and place, with entries from 3000 B.C. to the present day, and art from the cultures of Africa, Asia, Europe, and the Americas, including Native American and Meso-American peoples.
An archive and research center located on the University of Arizona campus. It retains the archives of Ansel Adams, Edward Weston, Garry Winogrand, Harry Callahan, and other great twentieth-century photographers.
Online catalog of early photographs - covers a wide range of subjects, places, techniques and forms. The collections include portraits, city views and landscapes from the Netherlands, France, England, Germany and the United States. Techniques represented range from daguerreotypes to salted paper prints, glass negatives, paper negatives and photolithographs.
Search LIFE Magazine images by keyword, browse by decade, or explore featured events, people, or places, from the 1860s - 1900s. Names of photographers and the dates that photos were taken are identified.
This collection contains images of primary source materials held by New York's State Archives, State Library, and State Museum. Through the collection, you can access photographs, textual materials, artifacts, government documents, manuscripts, and other materials. Includes digital images of paintings, photographs and documents from the:
- Conservation Department Records
- Environmental History Collection
- Factory Investigating Committee
- Fairchild Aerial Surveys
- Harlem Hellfighters
- Native American Collection
- New York Chamber of Commerce Portraits
- New York Lantern Slides Collection
The Image Gallery includes over 266,300 electronic images from several archival repositories and museums at the Smithsonian.
Online Resource for the Visual Arts. The Visual Arts Data Service holds over free 100,000 images for educational use.
About 3,000 photographs (in color and black and white) and posters from governmental sources such as the Library of Congress, the FBI, National Archives and Department of Defense. Includes portraits of politicians, celebrities, protests, demonstrations, and news shots from around the world. No known copyright exists for the photos included within the collection
A database of over 160 years of history as witnessed by The Associated Press. Photos: more than 3.6 million photographs from 1825 to today, with about 3,000 new photos added every day. Graphics: more than one hundred thousand graphics, including maps, timelines, logos and graphs. Audio: over 4,500 hours of audio clips from the 1920s forward. Links to hourly newscasts on the home page under the audio tab.
Note: This database may be used for educational purposes only. Images may not be posted on the Web or otherwise made available electronically to anyone outside the Ithaca College community. These images may not be republished or distributed in newspapers, newsletters, magazines, brochures, catalogs, yearbooks, calendars, posters, or similar materials.
Artistic creators can assign works a CC license that explicitly grants degrees of permission for usage of personal works. The site includes images, audio, video, text and even lesson plans.
Contains paintings and photographs of flora and fauna, natural phenomena, government posters, and scenes from American life. This collection spans 18th to 20th centuries.
Digital collection documenting the African American and African Diaspora experience. Includes 19th century photographs, material on Afro-Cuban culture, and the African American Women Writers of the 19th Century
Database of more than 1,000,000 digital images representing visual and material culture across cultures and time periods. Documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. ARTstor tools enable the ability to save groups of images online for personal and classroom use. IC's Visual Resources Collection (VRC) of over 20,000 images is now available. Look for the Ithaca College-Visual Resouces Collection link in the lower middle section of the page.
Links to over 100,000 images and sounds selected from the British Library collections. Resources included: maps, books, topographical drawings, stamps, photographs,newspapers, music and sound clips which illustrate regional accents and dialects, as well as wildlife recordings. Includes the Penny Illustrated Paper (1861-1913).
by Thomas Weynants, independent scholar. A Pictorial Media Archeology covering pre-cinema, photography, early film, and television.
Cultural exchange of images, debates and documents. Includes images from the collections of the Science Museum, National Railway Museum, and the National Museum of Photography, Film & Television (UK)
Offers pictorial material on various phases of American life and history. Images are intended for educational use, but their inclusion within this collection does not imply that they are public domain.
Provides representative visual examples from United States history. This searchable image database contains art, architecture, artifacts, crafts, drawing, photography and sculpture.
Images (photos, drawings, illustrations, etc.) collected from outdated instructional books and manuals. Useful for historic look at graphics, or pop culture kitsch.
This searchable database permits flexible, noncommercial use of their photos. For details, please read the restrictions at: http://www.si.edu/copyright/ The database has "13 million images in some seven hundred collections throughout our museums and research centers. The collections are organized by museum and discipline. "
Over 40,000 high quality images in both color & black and white covering "2000 years of human culture". Images on this site are freely available for download for personal, academic teaching or study use, under one of two Creative Commons licences.
Duke Law site devoted to promoting global understanding of public domain issues. Includes the graphic novel Bound by Law that explores a filmmaker's exploration of copyright for a documentary film.
Timeline includes examples of images created using a variety of photographic processes.
- TR640-TR688 Photography, Artistic
- TR820 Photojournalism
- TR845-TR899 Cinematography.
- TR265-TR267 Photography--Digital techniques.
- TR510 -TR545 Color photography.
Photography Acquisitions 2010-2011
Photography Acquisitions 2011-2012
Photojournalism
Video Installations
Visual Communication Research Guide
What does "+" mean? A call number followed by a plus sign means the book is large and shelved in the Oversize section on the 5th floor.