Table of Contents
Academic Search Premier
Multi-disciplinary database which includes a large collection of peer-reviewed journals in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Coverage varies, but begins in the 1990s for most journals.
An e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology. Many of the papers are scheduled to be published in professional journals. Because papers are submitted and posted without peer review, the arXiv represents extremely up-to-date research. Materials are added on a daily basis. All fulltext from 1991 to the present.
A search engine that searches the Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. Supports cited reference searching. Includes recent or unpublished work that hasn't yet been indexed in other databases. Each Google search citation will include a link to the full-text resource provided by the IC Library, when available.
Full text repository of technical documents from the Department of Energy Office of Scientific and Technical Information (DOE-OSTI).
Access to Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications from 1940 - present.
ProQuest Research Library
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library™ provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,060 titles—over 3,600 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. Indexes the IEEE publications.
SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System
Digital library portal for astronomy and physics from the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory.
Research portal that allows searching across 38 scientific databases from the US government.
Scitation (American Institute of Physics)
Indexes documents from scholarly journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and other special publications from prestigious scientific societies and technical publishers. IC Library does not have a membership to this database, so you may be unable to access full-text articles.
Scitopia.org searches more than three million documents, including peer-reviewed journal content and technical conference papers, spanning 150 years of science and technology. RSS feeds that provide table-of-contents info for the various publications/organizations involved with the project.
SPIRES High-Energy Physics Literature Database
Bibliographic database on high-energy physics from the Stanford Linear Accelerator (SLAC).
An online global gateway to science information from 28 national databases.
Access to the weekly journal Nature from 1869 to the present. Nature contains original research, science news, review articles, job postings, and book reviews. Links to several other journals from Nature Publishing Group.
Science Magazine Online, aka Science Online, the official journal of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Access back to 1997 is available through this site; see JSTOR for older issues.
Physical Review Special Topics - Physics Education Research
An open access journal devoted to physics education.
Full-text scientific, technological, medical journals; subjects covered include biology, biochemistry, business management and accounting, chemistry, computer science, economics, finance, environmental science, mathematics, medicine, neuroscience, nursing, physics, psychology, education, and communication. Includes access to selected full-text reference books. Indexing/Abstracts to additional titles.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Ref QD65 .H3
Immense compendium of chemical and physical data.
Encyclopedia of the Solar System
Ref QB501 .E53 1999
Detailed entries on astronomical subjects, often with bibliographies.
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Physics
Ref QC5 .M15 1996
Four volume encyclopedia of physics. Signed entries include bibliographies.
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology
Ref Q121 .M3 2007
Illustrated encyclopedia of all the sciences.
Physical Reference Data
Physical data sources from the National Institute of Standards and Technology.
Oxford Astronomy Encyclopedia
Ref QB14 .A875 2002
Concise entries on major topics in physics. Good for quick reference on an unfamiliar topic.
Molecular Workbench Museum of Models
Animated, interactive models demonstrating principles of physics, chemistry, and biology.
National Science Digital Library (NSDL)
National Science Foundation's online library of resources for science, technology, and mathematics education at all levels.
PhET Interactive Simulations
Fun, interactive, research-based simulations of physical phenomena from the PhET project at the University of Colorado.
Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science
Ref Q141 .B5285 2000
Two-volume biographical dictionary. Articles are brief, but often include lists of sources.
Biography in Context
Biographical information on people worldwide throughout history across all disciplines.
Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Ref Q141 .D5
Eighteen-volume encyclopedia containing detailed biographical essays on scientists and mathematicians. Articles are signed and generally include extensive bibliographies.
National Academy of Sciences Biographical Memoirs
Biographical treatments of notable scientists.
Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists
Ref Q141 .N73 1995
Four volume biographical encyclopedia of 20th century scientists. Articles include lists of works by and about the subjects.
Art of Scientific Writing (2nd ed.) by H.F. Ebel, C. Bliefert, & W.E. Russey
QD9.15 .E23 2004
Covers reports, dissertations, journal articles, and books. Aimed specifically at chemists, but applicable to any scientific writing.
Enjoy Writing Your Science Thesis or Dissertation! by Daniel Holtom & Elizabeth Fisher
T11 .H582 1999
"A step by step guide to planning and writing dissertations and theses for undergraduate and graduate science students."
Scientific Papers and Presentations by Martha Davis
T11 .D324 1997
Especially valuable for its discussion of presentations for scientific meetings and job interviews.
Scientists Must Write by Robert Barrass
T11 .B37 2002
"a guide to better writing for scientists, engineers and students"
Writing for Science by Robert Goldbort (e-book)
Includes a chapter on "undergraduate reports in the sciences."
Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students (Penn State)
Discusses not only formal papers such as lab reports and theses, but also scientific correspondence and resumes.
Writing in the Sciences (UNC Chapel Hill Writing Center)
Focuses on grammar and usage.