Biology: Plants

Plants

Marsilea

Anatomy

Swingle Plant Anatomy Reference Collection
Digital collection of anatomical images of more than 250 plant species. Also features animations that represent a series of sections through a specimen. From the University of Miami.

Floras

Flora of North America North of Mexico
This treatment of North American vascular plants and bryophytes is a work in progress, so not all plant groups have been covered.  The website lists the families covered and indicates what volume of the print set that family is in.  Printed volumes are in the reference collection at QK 110 .F55.
JSTOR Plant Science
Database of plants, not restricted to any particular region.  Search results include descriptions from standard floras as well as drawings, paintings, photographs, images of herbarium specimens, scientific articles, and even correspondence from the archives at The Royal Botanical Gardens, Kew.
Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center
Includes a database of native plants with images, descriptions, and distribution information.
Manual of Vascular Plants of Northeastern United States and Adjacent Canada
QK117 .G49
Generally referred to as "Gleason & Cronquist," this is a standard flora for the area treated.  See also the Illustrated Guide.

PLANTS
USDA website providing information about vascular plants, bryophytes, and lichens of the US and its territories.  Especially useful for distribution information and its ability to generate plant lists for a given state or territory.  Also includes many plant images.
Weeds Gone Wild
Provides detailed fact sheets on US invasive plant species.

Horticulture

Encyclopedia of Plants and Flowers
Ref SB403.2 .A438 2002
Lavishly illustrated encyclopedia from the American Horticultural Society.

Hortus Third
Ref SB45 .B22 1976
Dictionary of plants cultivated in the US and Canada.  Entries for families and genera, with the former illustrated by line drawings.

Taxonomy

Hunt Institute for Botanical Documentation
Includes a number of databases, mostly relating to botanical nomenclature and art.
Index Nominum Genericorum
Searchable index of generic names of plants.
International Plant Names Index
Database of the names and bibliographic details of seed plants, ferns, and fern allies.
Plant List, The
"A working list of all known plant species," compiled by the Royal Botanic Gardens at Kew and the Missouri Botanical Garden.  Note that, unlike IPNI, this list includes bryophytes.

American Journal of Botany

Loading ...