Politics

CQ Resoruces

 For background information:

Government Information

Congressional Hearings 
A hearing is a meeting or session of a Senate, House, Joint, or Special Committee of Congress, usually open to the public, to obtain information and opinions on proposed legislation, conduct an investigation, or evaluate/oversee the activities of a government department or the implementation of a Federal law. In addition, hearings may also be purely exploratory in nature, providing testimony and data about topics of current interest. Most Congressional hearings are published two months to two years after they are held. Only hearings released to GPO from the committees are made available on GPO Access. Coverage from 1985 - present.
U.S. Code from the House of Representatives 
Searchable version of the U.S. code either by keyword, boolean or by title and section. In BETA.  See also:  GPO Access or LexisNexis Academic.
American Presidency Project 
A digital archive of the Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States from Hoover to Bush (1929 to present); see also IC Library stacks at: J80 .A283. The site also includes: inaugural addresses, radio addresses, fireside chats, debates, convention speeches, and party platforms.
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) 1861-1960 
Digital facsimile of these government documents. Covers 1861-1960 with some gaps. Also available in print and microfiche at JX233.A3rn
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) 1961-1975 
Digital facsimile of these government documents See also IC Library stacks & microfiche at: JX233 .A3 for earlier volumes
Open CRS: Congressional Research Report for the People 
Congressional Research Service (CRS) provides background reports to Congress yet they were not distributed to government document collections. Citizens had to write their Congressional representatives to obtain copies. The Open CRS site has indexed and posted copies of these valuable documents.
Oyez : U.S. Supreme Court Multimedia 
User friendly website that contains biographies of Supreme Court justices, case decisions, and some audio transcripts of select cases.
USA.gov 
The U.S. government's official web portal. This site makes it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web. (Formerly known as FirstGov)
Thomas - Legislative Information 
Database of United States legislative information including: bills, resolutions, the Congressional Record, treaties, Committee Reports, Public Laws, Roll Call Votes, etc.

Compilation of Presidential Documents Unrestricted Resource Some full text available

Online Reference Resources

 Dictionary of Political Biography (Oxford Reference Online) 
Covers more than 1000 major figures in world politics of the twentieth century with brief descriptions and assessments. 
Oxford Guide to the United States Government 
Authoritative information on the three branch of American government.
Oxford Companion to Politics of the World 
Over 600 articles and essays on historical, theoretical, and current thought and development in global politics. The second edition brings articles up-to-date through 2000.
Encyclopedia of minorities in American politics ; v. 1: African-Americans and Asian-Americans 
Data on the political activities of African-Americans and Asian-Americans
 
Encyclopedia of minorities in American politics, Vol. 2 
Data on Hispanic Americans and Native Americans in American politics.
Oxford Companion to American Military History 

World factbook 
From the CIA. Gives basic history of all countries including map, population, history, politics, economics, education, communications, transportation and military among other.
 

Contact Us

Picture: John Henderson
Social Sciences Librarian
(607) 274-1961

Finding Different Viewpoints

These guides offer guides to issues featuring pro and con viewpoints or opposing opinions.

Browse Journals