Physical Therapy

Best Bets

MEDLINE (EBSCO)
This is a great tool for finding primary biomedical journal articles with links to some full-text.
CINAHL
This is a great tool for finding education, health promotion, and psychosocial health articles along with research articles.
Cochrane Library
A collection of evidence-based medicine databases.
PEDro - Physiotherapy Evidence Database
Contains abstracts of randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physical therapy. Most trials have been rated for quality.
PsycINFO
Indexes and abstracts journal articles and book chapters in the field of psychology, 1887 to present.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
A comprehensive source of full-text articles for sports & sports medicine journals that includes occupational health and therapy, providing full text for more than 520 journals indexed back to 1985.
ScienceDirect
Full text of the Elsevier journals covering many subjects including medicine, neuroscience, nursing, pschology, education, and communication.
 

Evidence Based Practice

Hooked on Evidence
APTA's database of intervention studies summarized by physical therapy experts.
TRIP Database
Clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice.
PubMed Clinical Queries
Special filters help you to find clinically based articles focused on therapy, diagnosis, etiology, prognosis, clinical prediction guidelines, systematic reviews, meta-analyses, or medical genetics.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
Public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
PEDro - Physiotherapy Evidence Database
Contains abstracts of randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physical therapy. Most trials have been rated for quality.
Guide to evidence-based physical therapy practice
A comprehensive handbook that describes the evidence based process in clinical practice.
 

Reference Materials

Stedman's orthopaedic & rehab words : includes chiropractic, occupational therapy, physical therapy, podiatric, & sports medicine.
Access to terminology related to orthopaedics, rehabilitation, chiropractic, occupational therapy, physical therapy, podiatry, and sports medicine.
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary
Standard work, frequently revised. Used to find the spelling, meaning and derivation of specific [medical] terms. Has a special chapter on fundamentals of Medical Etymology.
Quick Reference Dictionary for Physical Therapy Ref RM 696.5 .Q53 2003
This source provides quick access to words and their definitions that are encountered on a day-to-day basis in the field of physical therapy
Campbell's operative orthopaedics: An extensive four volume book with detailed illustrations on orthopaedic surgery. 
Human Body Maps
A 3-D tool of 8 different body systems.  

 


Help Guides and Online Tutorials

 Below are links to tutorials that will help you with research in physical therapy. Once the tutorial is running, simply scroll down to access the navigation bar.

Evidence-Based Medicine Tutorials