Public Health

Best Bets

MEDLINE (EBSCO)
The National Library of Medicine's (NLM) database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.

PubMed
Citations to biomedical articles from MEDLINE and additional life science journals back to the 1950s; incl. links to sites with full-text articles and other related resources. Help with searching PubMed is available here.
CINAHL
Indexes the literature in nursing and 17 allied health disciplines,  including selected titles in biomedicine, alternative/complementary therapies, and consumer health, from 1981 to the present.  Full text is available for selected nursing standards, practice acts, pamphlets, state nursing journals, research instruments, and critical paths.
 ProQuest Health Management

ProQuest Health Management™ is designed to meet the needs of researchers studying the field of health administration. This database provides information on a wide range of topics, including hospitals, insurance, law, statistics, business management, personnel management, ethics, health economics, and public health administration.


AgeLine
Bibliographic index for the field of aging. Subjects covered include: aging, gerontology, health sciences, psychology, social sciences and sociology. Topics include: theories of aging, Social Security, Medicare/Medicaid, marketing to older adults, elder care, Alzheimer's, health care costs and policy, financial and retirement planning, fitness, nutrition, housing and more.  
Grey Literature
Search the NY Academy's Grey Literature Collection.
TOXNET
Search this comprehensive database on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.

 

Evidence Based Practice

Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making. The collection includes the following databases: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (Other Reviews), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (Clinical Trials), Cochrane Methodology Register (Methods Studies), Health Technology Assessment Database (Technology Assessments), NHS Economic Evaluation Database (Economic Evaluations), and About The Cochrane Collaboration (Cochrane Groups)



PubMed Health Services Research Queries
Provides specialized PubMed search interface that focuses on healthcare quality and costs.

PubMed Clinical Queries
Special filters help you to find clinically based articles focused on therapy, diagnosis, etiology, prognosis, clinical prediction guidelines, systematic reviews, meta-analyses, or medical genetics.

Evidence-Based Guidelines for Public Health
Links to evidence-based guidelines based on a systematic review of the research literature. The guidelines provide summaries of evidence and recommendations for practice from government agencies, professional organizations, and convening expert panels.
 

Statistics/Data

Kaiser State Health Facts
A project of the Henry J Kaiser Family Foundation that provides current health information, including comparative data and state profiles. Also includes data more than 500 health topics, including, heath care economics, demographics, insurance, minority health, and women's health.

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
Links to research, statistics, data and systems compiled by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

National Center for Health Statistics
Health data at the national and state level.

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Statistics
Data on substance abuse (drug, cigarette, alcohol) by age, gender, and various demographic characteristics from the National Household Survey on Drug Abuse and Hospital admissions for drug abuse and outcomes on a national and state basis. 

Healthy People 2010 Information Access Project
Links to specialized searches of the PubMed database to find research articles related to selected Healthy People 2010 objectives.

Polling the Nations
A compilation of public opinion surveys, containing the full text of questions and responses from 14,000 surveys from 1986 to the present in the United States and more than 80 other countries. Each record includes the polling organization responsible for the poll, the sample size and the date the poll was released.

FedStats
Data on the cost, quality, access, and medical effectiveness of health care, including national estimates of health care use and expenditures; private and public health insurance coverage; and the availability, costs, and scope of private health insurance benefits among the U.S. population.

Video and Audio Files

Public Health Grand Rounds (University of Albany)
Links to streamed multimedia presentations on public health topics. Requires Realplayer.

Government Information

CQ Researcher
Comprehensive reporting and analysis on current issues in the news. Each report includes an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.

Best Practices in Public Health
Links to public health programs, interventions, and policies that through experience have been evaluated, shown to be successful, and have the potential to be adapted and transformed by others working in the same field.

Healthy People 2010
This source reflects the scientific advances that have taken place over the past 20 years in preventive medicine, disease surveillance, vaccine and therapeutic development, and information technology. The project identified the most significant and preventable threats to health and established national goals to reduce these threats.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
A division of the Department of Health and Human Services, the CDC publishes research and data online related to public health efforts to prevent and control infectious and chronic diseases, injuries, workplace hazards, disabilities, and environmental health threats.

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
The CMS Toolkit for Making Written Material Clear and Effective is a health literacy resource from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). This 11-part Toolkit provides a detailed and comprehensive set of tools to help you make written material in printed formats easier for people to read, understand, and use.

National Library for Public Health (UK)
Links to British guidelines, strategies, policies, systematic reviews, and news and events of note to the wider public health workforce. Site includes links to subject specific collections of current evidence vetted by experts in the field.

Cross Cultural Health Care Program
Resource guides about cultural competence, minority health resources, and health disparities.

Resource Guide for Public Health Preparedness
Resource guide devoted to disaster planning. Included are guidelines and protocols, reports, Web sites, fact sheets, presentations and other information resources essential in public health and disaster preparedness.

Journal Collections

 ScienceDirect
Full-text scientific, technological, medical journals; subjects covered include biology, biochemistry, business management and accounting, chemistry, computer science, economics, finance, environmental science, mathematics, medicine, neuroscience, nursing, physics, psychology, education, and communication. Includes access to selected full-text reference books. Indexing/Abstracts to additional titles.

Annual Review of Public Health
Reviews of topics in public health published as annual journals.

PLoS: Public Library of Science
Open access journals published by a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians. Biology, medicine, computational biology, genetics, pathogenes, clinical trials, and tropical diseases are covered.

HighWire Press
Free access to full-text science, technology and health science publications, excluding the most recent issues (usually themost recent six months to twelve months).  HighWire Press partners with independent scholarly publishers, societies, associations, and university presses to facilitate the digital dissemination of 1330 journals, reference works, books, and proceedings.

Free Medical Journals
Access to the journals from the current issue to two years after publication. Most titles are indexed in the Medline database.  Access to some international journals not published in English is also provided. The over-800 titles here are sorted alphabetically or by specialty.