FINA-41000-Real Time Portfolio Management
- Seeking Alpha
Corporate Earnings call transcripts. These are the transcripts from quarterly and yearly earnings announcements are done by corporate officers to various finanical analysts. - Merger & Acquistion News from Yahoo
- IPO (Initial Public Offerings) News from Yahoo
- Investment Ideas from Yahoo
- Yahoo Industry Center-news about various industries. Searchable by industry
- 10-Q Detective -Investors often overlook SEC filings, and it is the job of the 10Q Detective to dig through businesses’ 8-K and 10-Q SEC filings, looking for financial statement ‘soft spots,(depreciation policies, warranty reserves, and restructuring charges, etc.) that may materially impact Quality of Earnings.
- Footnoted.org -Each day, the site takes a closer look at the things that companies try to bury in their routine SEC filings. Some posts are simply quirky little factoids while others tennd to focus on more serious issues, like aggressive accounting, excessive compensation or the type of questionable self dealing that can often be indicative of more serious problems at a company.
- Wall Street Journal MarketBeat Blog-Wall Street Journal's look at the financial markets.
- Wall Street Journal Real Time Economics Blog-Coverage throughout the day of major developments in the economy. Follows the Federal Reserve, Treasury and other government policy makers. Also covers global economics.
- SEC/IDEA -formerly SEC Edgar-searchable database of all SEC filings.
- SEC Info-reformatted SEC filings. More user friendly.
- SEC Filings announcements from Yahoo
- Business Journalism.org-combination of web & audio files on a variety of topics such as: S.E.C. filings, Financial Statements, use & interpretation of numbers and the Economy.
- Morningstar -Stock and mutual fund research resource. Gives independent analysis and recommendations. Screening capability.
- Value Line Investment Survey -covers about 2000 companies and 100 industries. Each are updated quarterly. Rankings of industries and upgrade/downgrades of companies done weekly.
- Seeking Alpha
Corporate Earnings call transcripts. These are the transcripts from quarterly and yearly earnings announcements are done by corporate officers to various finanical analysts. - Business Insights Essentials -Includes company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information. Coverage is from 1980 to the present.
- LexisNexis Academic-Full-text access to continuously updated news, law, and business information. Highlights: News: newswires, transcripts, regional, national/international news. Business: company profiles, news, analyst reports and SEC filings. Screening capability as well as listings of a company's competitors.
- Standard & Poor's Industry Survey-Coverage of major industries in the U.S.,quarterly. Statistics, suggested sources, overviews including trends, major players, regulatory issues, etc. Supplemented by Monthly Investment Review. Latest two years in REFERENCE. Older editions in stacks. REF HC106.6 S74 . Good starting point to learn what to look at for a specific industry when doing analysis.
- Outlook (Standard & Poor's) REF DESK HG4501 .O88
- Standard & Poor's Industry Survey (example from website)
- Wall Street Prep
Search 70,000 ebooks in the ebrary database:
- Open a book by clicking on the title name or book jacket.
- Jump to relevant chapters and flip through pages.
- Highlight, take notes, and create a personal bookshelf to save and organize your research.
- Copy and paste text, print pages and chapters, or download pages and chapters.
- Use Preferences in the InfoTools menu to choose a citation style. Citation information will automatically be included when you copy, paste, print, or download.
- Manage and share your research by dragging books, highlights, and notes into bookshelf folders, which can be emailed to others in your research group.
- Using SEC documents_9-08-10.ppt

- How to Find SIC or NAICS Codes

- Finding Company & Industry Information

- Sources for Finding Ratios
- How to Find Companies with Similar SIC or NAICS Codes

- How to Find the SIC or NAICS Codes for a Company

- Screening for Mutual Funds Using Morningstar (short video)
- Finding the S.I.C. Code Describing an Industry by number or text. (video)
- Finding the N.A.I.C.S. Code Describing an Industry by number or text (video)
- Using LexisNexis Academic to Find the Primary and Secondary Codes for a Company (video)
- Finding Companies with the same Primary S.I.C. code using LexisNexis Academic (video)
- How do I get company or industry ratios using StockVal?
- Insider trades by Officers and Directors.
- International banks and statistical agencies.
- My professor has asked me to find the estimated earnings per share for a list of companies. Where do I go?
- Where can I find industry financial ratio information?
- Where can I find spot market prices for commodities, securities, and currencies?
- Where can I find the annual and quarterly documents that companies need to file with the Securities and Exchange Commission?
- Where can I find various Corporate Social Responsibility or Sustainability Reports or links?
- Where can I find various Interest rates such as t-bills, prime rate, bonds, treasuries, etc.
- Where can I locate analyst reports for an individual company?