Recreation and Leisure Studies

‚Äč

Best Bets

SPORTDiscus with Full Text
A comprehensive source of full-text articles for sports & sports medicine journals that includes occupational health and therapy, providing full text for more than 520 journals indexed back to 1985.
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
A comprehensive journal index to over 4,600 biomedical journals, with links to some full-text.
CINAHL
A comprehensive journal index to the nursing and allied health literature dating back to 1982, with links to some full-text. This is a great tool for finding education, health promotion, and psychosocial health articles along with research articles.
Health & Wellness Resource Center
Provides full-text materials, abstracts, and citations to patient and consumer health information.
ERIC (Ebsco interface)
Index, with abstracts, to journal articles and ERIC documents from the Educational Resource Information Center; with links to full-text, from 1966 to present.
General OneFile
A very large periodical database. Includes newspapers, journals, magazines and more, going back 30 years.
Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary and general full-text periodicals database.

Evidence Based Practice

TRIP Database
Clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice.
PubMed Clinical Queries
Special filters help you to find clinically based articles focused on therapy, diagnosis, etiology, prognosis, clinical prediction guidelines, systematic reviews, meta-analyses, or medical genetics.
Cochrane Library
A collection of evidence-based medicine databases.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
A comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and other related documents, created by the Agency for Healtcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).
Applied Research and Evaluation Methods in Recreation
This text provides helpful insight into the practice of research and evaluation of the recreation industry.

Reference

Sustainable Resource Database
The Commission for Environmental Cooperation's database of tourism services, activites and facilites in North America.
OutdoorEd.com
A source for outdoor education news including legislation, conferences, equipment, employment, safety, and a directory of companies, programs and schools.
Dictionary of Concepts in Recreation and Leisure Studies Ref GV 11 .S57
Encyclopedia of Physical Education, Fitness, and Sports
This work represents an inclusive analysis of the areas of arts and sciences of movement-oriented activities. It identifies the scope and breadth of physical education in the united states.
A Handbook of Leisure Studies
This handbook addresses the history, organization and central debates in the field of leisure studies.

Contact Us

Picture: Laura Kuo
Health Sciences Librarian
(607) 274-1197

Videos

 Recreation Therapy Videos

A total of 23 instructional videos were produced by the Recreation Therapy department at Indiana University.  Topics range from an introduction to recreation therapy, provided by “To Serve a Purpose,” to developing such skills as engaging in therapeutic communications, making client observations, completing documentation, giving and receiving clinical supervision, and understanding models of practice. Three separate videos extensively cover the history of recreation therapy and another presents pioneers in recreation therapy.

New Book List: Health and Human Performance

Loading ...