FINA-32100-Security Analysis and Portfolio Management

Best Bets

Morningstar.com
Stock and mutual fund research resource. Gives independent analysis and recommendations. Screening capability.
Wall Street Journal (1984 - present)
Full text of The Wall Street Journal from 1984-present. For issues from 1889-1993, see the  Wall Street Journal-ProQuest Historical Newspapers database.
Value Line Investment Survey
Weekly stock reports about approximately 1,700 companies and 98 industries. Each company report contains a timeliness, safety, and technical ranking, current stock performance, beta, historical data for the previous 15 years, financial and stock price forecasts, and an analyst's written commentary.  Online: current quarter only.
Business Insights: Essentials
Company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, market research reports, SWOT reports, market share information, company histories, chronologies, journal articles, and interactive charts.  Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.

News & Portal Websites

Company/Industry Event News & Ideas

SEC Documents & Analysis

Company & Industry Analysis

  • Morningstar -Stock and mutual fund research resource. Gives independent analysis and recommendations. Screening capability.
  • Value Line Investment Survey -covers about 2000 companies and 100 industries. Each are updated quarterly. Rankings of industries and upgrade/downgrades of companies done weekly.
  • Seeking Alpha
    Corporate Earnings call transcripts. These are the transcripts from quarterly and yearly earnings announcements are done by corporate officers to various finanical analysts.
  • Business Insights Essentials -Includes company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information. Coverage is from 1980 to the present.
  • Business Source Premier (Original Interface)
    Business topics: management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, etc. SWOT analysis on selected companies.
  • ABI/Inform Databases-covers a wide variety of news & industry sources including the Wall Street Journal
  • LexisNexis Academic-Full-text access to continuously updated news, law, and business information. Highlights: News: newswires, transcripts, regional, national/international news. Business: company profiles, news, analyst reports and SEC filings. Screening capability as well as listings of a company's competitors.
  • Standard & Poor's Industry Survey-Coverage of major industries in the U.S.,quarterly. Statistics, suggested sources, overviews including trends, major players, regulatory issues, etc. Supplemented by Monthly Investment Review. Latest two years in REFERENCE. Older editions in stacks.  REF HC106.6 S74 . Good starting point to learn what to look at for a specific industry when doing analysis.

Blogs

  • Wall Street Journal MarketBeat Blog-Wall Street Journal's look at the financial markets.
  • Wall Street Journal Real Time Economics Blog-Coverage throughout the day of major developments in the economy. Follows the Federal Reserve, Treasury and other government policy makers. Also covers global economics.
  • StockBlogs.com -The purpose here is to compile some of the most interesting, provocative, relevant, and useful blogs for investors into a directory. Different categories such as general market, technical analysis, fundamental analysis, options, contrarian investing, etc.

Contact Us

Picture: Jim Bondra
Business Librarian
(607) 274-1962

Tell Us What You Think