WRTG: 1960s Research
Woodstock Festival, August 1969
Table of Contents
IC Library Print & Media Resources
Selected Subject Searches
Nineteen sixty-four, A.D.
Nineteen sixty-eight, A.D
Nineteen sixty-nine, A.D.
United States -- Civilization -- 1945-
United States -- Foreign relations -- 1963-1969
United States -- History -- 1961-1969
United States -- Politics and government -- 1961-1963
United States -- Politics and government -- 1963-1969
United States -- Social conditions -- 1960-
United States -- Social conditions -- 1960-1980
United States -- Social life and customs -- 1945-1970
United States -- Social life and customs -- 20th century
Social change -- United States -- History -- 20th century
Social history -- 1960-1970
Social movements -- United States -- History -- 20th century
Social problems -- United States -- History -- 20th century
Medical policy -- United States -- History -- 20th century
Education -- United States -- History -- 20th century
Public schools -- United States -- History -- 20th century
Public welfare -- United States -- History -- 20th century
Poverty -- Government policy -- United States -- History -- 20th century
Cuba -- History -- Revolution, 1959
Cuba -- History -- Invasion, 1961
Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962
Berlin Wall, Berlin, Germany, 1961-1989
Peace Corps (U.S.) [begun 1961]
Vatican Council. (2d : 1962-1965)
Kennedy, John F. (John Fitzgerald), 1917-1963
Kennedy, John F. (John Fitzgerald), 1917-1963 -- Assassination
Johnson, Lyndon B. (Lyndon Baines), 1908-1973 ["the Great Society"]
Project Head Start (U.S.) -- History [begun 1965]
National Endowment for the Arts -- History [begun 1965]
China -- History -- Cultural Revolution, 1966-1976
Guevara, Ernesto, 1928-1967 [Che Guevara]
Israel-Arab War, 1967
Riots -- France -- Paris [1968 student uprising]
King, Martin Luther, Jr., 1929-1968 -- Assassination
Kennedy, Robert F., 1925-1968
Kennedy, Robert F., 1925-1968 -- Assassination
Olympic Games (19th : 1968 : Mexico City, Mexico)
Democratic National Convention (1968 : Chicago, Ill.)
Riots -- Illinois -- Chicago -- History -- 20th century
Chicago Seven Trial, Chicago, Ill., 1969-1970
McGovern, George S. (George Stanley), 1922-
Nixon, Richard M. (Richard Milhous), 1913-
My Lai Massacre, Vietnam, 1968
Czechoslovakia -- History -- Intervention, 1968 [Soviet invasion]
Stonewall Riots, New York, N.Y., 1969 [gay liberation]
Manson, Charles, 1934-
Space race -- United States -- History
Space flight to the moon
Project Apollo (U.S.)
Apollo 11 (Spacecraft)
Kent State University Riot (May 4, 1970)
Baby boom generation
Vietnam War, 1961-1975
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 -- United States
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 -- Atrocities
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 -- Influence
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 -- Protest movements
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 -- Psychological aspects
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 -- Social aspects
Peace movements -- United States -- History -- 20th century
United States. Selective Service System
Draft -- United States
Draft -- United States -- Draft resisters
Draft resistors -- United States
Radicalism -- United States -- History -- 20th century
New Left -- United States
Students for a Democratic Society (U.S.)
Student movements -- United States
Youth -- United States -- History -- 20th century
Baby boom generation -- United States
Counterculture -- United States—History -- 20th century
Communal living -- United States
Underground press -- United States
Underground press -- United States—History -- 20th century
Hippies -- United States
Subculture -- United States -- History -- 20th century
Leary, Timothy, 1920-1996
Marijuana -- History
Drug abuse -- United States -- History
Drug abuse -- United States -- History -- 20th century
Sex customs -- United States [covers the “sexual revolution’]
Sex customs -- United States -- History -- 20th century
Oral contraceptives [the “pill”]
Birth control -- United States—History -- 20th century
Playboy & Playboy Enterprises
Sex in popular culture -- United States
Sex in popular culture -- United States -- History -- 20th century
Sex in motion pictures
Sex in motion pictures -- History
Pornography -- Social aspects
Pornography -- Social aspects -- United States
United States -- Race relations
United States -- Race relations—History -- 20th century
Racism -- United States -- History -- 20th century
Civil rights movements -- United States -- History -- 20th century
Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (U.S.) [civil rights organization]
United States. Civil rights act of 1960
March on Washington for Jobs and Freedom, Washington, D.C., 1963 ['I have a Dream']
United States. Civil Rights Act of 1964.
Ku Klux Klan (1915- )
African Americans -- Civil rights
African Americans -- Civil rights -- History -- 20th century
African Americans -- Civil rights -- Mississippi -- History -- 20th century
African Americans -- Civil rights -- Southern States -- History -- 20th century
African Americans -- Suffrage -- History [voting rights]
Voter registration -- United States
African Americans -- History -- 1964-
African Americans -- Social conditions -- 1964-
African Americans -- Civil rights -- History -- 20th century
African Americans -- Politics and government -- 20th century
Southern Christian Leadership Conference -- History
King, Martin Luther, Jr., 1929-1968
Poor People's Campaign
Birmingham (Ala.) -- Race relations
Wallace, George C. (George Corley), 1919-
College integration -- Alabama -- History
Mississippi Freedom Project [summer 1964]
Selma to Montgomery Rights March (1965 : Selma, Ala.)
X, Malcolm (1925-1965)
Riots California Los Angeles [1965 Watts riots]
Black power -- United States
Black militant organizations -- United States
Black Panther Party
Ali, Muhammad, 1942-
Feminism -- United States
Feminism -- United States -- History -- 20th century
Women's rights -- United States -- History -- 20th century
Women in politics -- United States -- History -- 20th century
National Organization for Women
Women -- United States -- History -- 20th century
Stonewall Riots, New York, N.Y., 1969
Gay liberation movement -- United States
Gay liberation movement -- United States -- History
Gay rights -- United States -- History
Gays -- Legal status, laws, etc. -- United States
Gays -- United States -- History -- 20th century
Indians of North America [Native Americans]
Indians of North America -- Civil rights
Indians of North America -- Cultural assimilation
Indians of North America -- Government relations -- 1934-
Indians of North America -- Legal status, laws, etc.
Indians of North America -- Politics and government
American Indian Movement
Popular culture -- History -- 20th century
Motown Record Corporation
Dylan, Bob, 1941-
Folk music -- United States -- History and criticism
Protest songs -- –United States -- History and criticism
Rock music -- 1961-1970 [recordings]
Rock music -- United States -- History and criticism
Beatles. Sgt. Pepper\'s Lonely Hearts Club Band
Psychedelic rock music -- History and criticism
Doors (Musical group)
Grateful Dead (Musical group)
African Americans -- Music -- History and criticism
Monterey International Pop Festival (1967 : Monterey, Calif.)
Television broadcasting -- United States -- History
Sullivan, Ed, 1901-1974
African Americans on television
Motion pictures -- United States -- History
Experimental films -- United States -- History and criticism
Easy rider (Motion picture)
Bonnie and Clyde (Motion picture)
2001, a space odyssey (Motion picture)
Theater -- United States -- History -- 20th century
Experimental theater -- United States
Musicals -- United States -- History and criticism
Musicals -- New York (State) -- New York -- History and criticism
Musicals -- Political aspects -- United States
Pop art -- United States
Fashion -- History -- 20th century
London (England) -- History -- 1951-
IC Library Databases (Articles)
Signs of the Time
Time in a Bottle
JSTOR : covers a wide range of scholarly journals in most disciiplines, always beginning with the first issue of each one. This provides 100% full text access to articles from not only the first half of the 20th century but even the second half of the 19th. Be aware, however, that at the other end of the date range articles don't appear in JSTOR until at least 2-3 years after publication. Also be aware that for 100% full text you must change the setting from "include links to external content" to "include only content I can access."
JSTOR offers only a Keyword search of its complete full text, so retrievals are large, but the relevancy ranking does a good job of putting the strongest matches on the first few pages. This relevancy ranking does not weigh date, however, and will display a mix of articles written decades apart. So if your topic is time sensitive, be alert to publication dates.
User Advisory: The academic journals covered here feature numerous book reviews, so it's a good idea to tic the "Article" limit below the search slots so you won't be overwhelmed by book reviews on your topic.
Also note the "Date Range" limit, which you can set to 1960-1969 (although given the time delay in scholarly publication 1960-1974 might be better).
New York Times (1851-2009) gives access to the full text of the New York Times 1851-2006. Click the "Continue" button and at the home page reset the default search of "citation and document text" to "citation and abstract" (since this is a Keyword search of 100% full text, you are likely to generate too many passing mentions of your search terms if you search all the text; first try the more focused "citation and abstract" search and only broaden it to "document text" if you retrieve too few hits).
Use the "date range" limits to target the primary sources available here--contemporary/eyewitness reports. Without a date range limit you may retrieve hundreds of articles written decades after the events they discuss. For example, a search on "Martin Luther King" with a date range limit of 8/28/1963-9/5/1963 will target the Time's original coverage of the March on Washington and King's "I Have a Dream" speech.
User Advisory: when searching for materials from earlier eras, be aware that language changes over time. For example, the term "African American" was not used prior to the 1970s, so when searching for articles on race relations in America prior to 1975, the terms "Negroes or Blacks" will be needed to retrieve relevant newspaper stories.
America: History & Life
Also be sure to set the "Document Type" limit to "Article" to weed out all the many, many book reviews that will otherwise clot your search for articles.
Having set the Period and Article limits, a good way to begin with this database is to open "Indexes" above the search slots and select the "Subject Terms" index, where you can check to see if there is a good Subject Heading for your topic.
There's a good deal of full text here, but where there isn't be sure to use the "Find Full Text" links below citations to see if the full text can be supplied by another of IC's databases.
No Matter What Your Topic Is . . .
There is a Subject Heading here 1960-1969, but so few articles are assigned it that it's best avoided. If your topic has a distinctive name, use that--Woodstock, Hippies, Nixon, Richard--or if the relevant subject is more generic--Civil Rights--try adding Keywords for the decade: 1960s or 60s or sixties or "nineteen-sixties."
Note that to the right of your search results you can limit your retrieval by "Source Type" (including Magazines, Newspapers, Scholarly Journals), "Document Type," (including Cover Story, Editorial, or Interview), "Document Feature" (including Photographs, Illustrations), and "Location."
Above each set of articles you retrieve ProQuest will display related Subject searches to help either broaden or narrow your focus.
User Advisory: ProQuest is fussy about entering Subject searches in the designated search slot. If your subject is a person, enter the name--last name first--in the "Person" slot; if a named group of any kind--Microsoft, the Catholic Church, Radiohead, the New York Mets--enter it in "Co/Org"; if a place enter it in "Location."
A good initial strategy in this database is to search a likely topic in the Subject Terms and when you find it “explode” the term by double clicking it--this brings up a list of related Subject terms. You can check as many terms as you like before "adding" them to your search by AND-ing or OR-ing them together.
There is a Subject Heading here for "Nineteen Sixties," as well as for each year of the decade, and you might want to browse these. But most of these are articles about the 60s rather than about a particular issue or event, so you will be better off looking for a Subject Heading for what specifically interests you--for instance, "VIETNAM War, 1961-1975 -- Protest movements."
User Advisory: For any retrieved set of articles, there will be a box displayed on the left that will limit the articles to “Scholarly” journals—just check the box and click the “Update Results” button below.
General OneFile : is the most user-friendly of our comprehensive databases, covering almost any topic from a wide range of disciplinary angles and offering lots of full text. Use the default Subject search to find the best subject heading for your topic (and when you find a good one be sure to look at the "Related Subjects" to see if there's something even better). There is a Subject heading here--1960s (Decade)--but it retrieves mostly articles that are about the decade itself, and articles about specific issues and events that occurred during the 60s are better searched by their own Subject Headings--if available. Otherwise, open the "Advanced" search option and try a Keyword approach.
If there is a good subject heading for your topic here, open the "Subdivisions" link below it. Most General OneFile subject searchs produce very large retrievals and the "subdivisions" help you narrow your search to a particular aspect: "Economic aspects," "Ethical aspects," "Forecasts and Trends," "History," "Media Coverage," "Political aspects," "Psychological aspects," "Social aspects," and "Statistics," to name only a few.
If the best available subdivision is still too broad, open it and add your own Keywords in the "Search within these results" slot at the upper left.
User Advisory: When first viewing your retrievals in General OneFile, note that you are seeing onlythe "Magazines" (popular articles) and must click on the tabs for "Academic Journals" (scholarly articles) or "News" (newspaper articles) to see those results.
Society and the Media
Communication Source : Like SocINDEX, this is an Ebsco database with most of the features described above. Use the Thesaurus above the search slots to browse available Subject Headings. Once you find one, "explode" it by double clicking and scan all the related Headings.
And So On
Where's the Full Text for this Article??
Clicking "GETIT" checks (almost all) the IC Library's other databases to see if any offers the full text of the article--or if the Library has a print subscription to the journal in which the article appeared.
- "GETIT" will usually find the full text in another database and open it in a new window.
- If none of our databases can access the full text but we have a print subsciption to the journal, "GETIT" will retrieve the Library catalog record for the journal so that you can see if the date of the article falls within the date range we have on hand.
Sixties Headline Stories
From Gale Virtual Reference Library : Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History: see "Civil Rights Movement, U.S."
Day by day: the sixties
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War
ABC-CLIO companion to the 1960s counterculture in America
American decades (one volume covers 1960-69)
Annals of America (volumes for 1961-68, 1969-73)
Encyclopedia of the United States in the twentieth century
Political profiles (The Kennedy Years, Johnson Years, Nixon years)
Sixties in America
Rolling stone encyclopedia of rock & roll music
Selected Web Sites
- WWW-Virtual Library: History: USA: 1960-1969: A comprehensive gateway site to online resources.
- Sixties Project: Interesting site created in the late 90s, but not updated since. Click on "Scholars" and be sure to open "Resources" and then "Articles" and "Primary Documents."
- Psychedelic Sixties: Emphasis is on the literature of social change, but offers a range of online exhibits.
- American Cultural History: 1960-1969: From Kingwood College Library, this site is no longer being maintained, but a pdf snapshot of the "live" site remains. The links no longer work, but some of the facts and figures might interest you.
- The 1960s: from A&E/History Channel, an assortment of articles on major thematic strands of the decade, along with links to particular topics.
- Digital History: America in Ferment: The Tumultuous 1960s: interesting collection of brief articles.
- 1960s: This page is a hash, even by Wikipedia standards, but you can use it for brainstorming and for its links.
- The People History: 1960s: Mainly pop culture ephemera covered here, but some of the economic information may be helpful.
Web Search Engines
Under "Need More Tools?" you will find the "Search within a site or domain" slot. You may enter only one domain at a time, but it's worth targeting each of the three domains likely to supply the best information: colleges and universities (enter the "edu" tag), nonprofit organizations (enter the "org" tag), and the United States government (enter the "gov" tag).
MLA is the citation style used by most disciplines in the Humanities. MLA revised its style in 2008 in the MLA Style Manual, and these changes have been incorporated in the 7th edition of the MLA Handbook (May 2009). The guides below use the 2008/9 standards.